Help fixing skins from ut3...

Discussions about UT99

Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby Nephew9999 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:36 am

well i already convert some models from ut3 but theres a "black" part of the skin that shows in the next screen...
Image
the same happens with akasha and bishop... but not with extra liandri models.. :roll:
Spoiler: show
Image

ill send the resources mp msg :help:
User avatar
Nephew9999
Adept
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:20 am

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby JackGriffin » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:52 am

Ping me, I'll take a look at them. I think I know the problem.
"You damn kids, back in my time we made the items, maps and games ourselves with an unwieldy engine using counter-intuitive crash-prone tools and we liked it so much we built communities around this which nowadays look like cults because they're quasi-parallel societies based on the same old games." -Hellkeeper
User avatar
JackGriffin
Godlike
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: Hack coder

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby Nephew9999 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:04 pm

JackGriffin wrote:Ping me, I'll take a look at them. I think I know the problem.

well i cant send you mp so here is the model
mm i already try a lot of options (LOD BIAS) (TEXTURE PALETTE INDEX) (RESIZE OF TEXTURE) hope you can see something that i didnt :oops:
Spoiler: show
http://www.mediafire.com/file/3asva8jhfs4gzhd/Documents.rar
User avatar
Nephew9999
Adept
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:20 am

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby EvilGrins » Sat Feb 25, 2017 7:54 pm

The black areas are from your textures. All your textures have a black background so clearly the issue lies in that what you want in those spots isn't lining up correctly.

I'm somewhat familiar with this UT3 model's setup, from its ut2004 version:
Image
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
 
Posts: 6183
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Personal rank: God of Fudge

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby Nephew9999 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:55 pm

EvilGrins wrote:The black areas are from your textures. All your textures have a black background so clearly the issue lies in that what you want in those spots isn't lining up correctly.

its the 2k4 version converted to ut99.. so i take the same skins from 2k4 model :noidea
User avatar
Nephew9999
Adept
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:20 am

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby JackGriffin » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:11 am

Nah, it's not from the texture being misaligned EG. The model doesn't have proper texture assignments on some parts of it.

I am currently in the process of reinstalling everything on a new computer (motherboard failure on my old rig). I'm probably not going to bother installing Blender or most of the UT specific stuff so you'll need to suss out the proper assignments for the missing faces if this is a project you really want to pursue. Just out of curiosity did you export this using the latest UModel version? I had talked with Gildor about this very issue:
http://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php/top ... l#msg19982
and he revised UModel to fix it. This might be part of your problem (or the whole thing if you're lucky). You might make sure you are using the latest version and try it again.
"You damn kids, back in my time we made the items, maps and games ourselves with an unwieldy engine using counter-intuitive crash-prone tools and we liked it so much we built communities around this which nowadays look like cults because they're quasi-parallel societies based on the same old games." -Hellkeeper
User avatar
JackGriffin
Godlike
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: Hack coder

Re: Help fixing skins from ut3...

Postby Nephew9999 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:46 pm

JackGriffin wrote:Nah, it's not from the texture being misaligned EG. The model doesn't have proper texture assignments on some parts of it.
I am currently in the process of reinstalling everything on a new computer (motherboard failure on my old rig). I'm probably not going to bother installing Blender or most of the UT specific stuff so you'll need to suss out the proper assignments for the missing faces if this is a project you really want to pursue. Just out of curiosity did you export this using the latest UModel version? I had talked with Gildor about this very issue:
http://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php/top ... l#msg19982
and he revised UModel to fix it. This might be part of your problem (or the whole thing if you're lucky). You might make sure you are using the latest version and try it again.

uhmm thats a new idea.. may be umodel is outdated.. ill download the latest thanks!
:idea2:
User avatar
Nephew9999
Adept
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:20 am


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest