Epic games releases...spyware?

Discussions about UT99
JackGriffin
Godlike
Personal rank: -Retired-

Epic games releases...spyware?

Post by JackGriffin »

Have you guys been following this?

I wish I was a bit more tech literate about what they are discussing but it certainly doesn't look good.

*-credit to Xaleros for posting about this in UM discord
So long, and thanks for all the fish
Shrimp
Adept

Re: Epic games releases...spyware?

Post by Shrimp »

I think a lot of it is misinterpretation of data, like the certificate stuff, which is more than likely every time it phones home via the tracking stuff, it opens a connection to an HTTPS service, which the underliying OS is going to need to lookup CAs for and stuff.

Here's a post by Dan Vogel which provides some plausible explinations. However certainly poking around in your steam directory when you haven't actually enabled any integration is unwelcome - I suspect they have bugs. I think there's also a hell of a lot of unwarranted FUD being spread about Tencent's involvement in the whole thing.

That being said though, I strongly disagree with Epic's recent bahaviour, and will absolutely not support their store in any way, shape or form :thudown:
ShrimpWorks
Unreal Archive - preserving over 25 years of user-created content for the Unreal series!
TheDane
Masterful
Personal rank: Happy fool :-)

Post by TheDane »

I believe it's the anticheat engine? Cheaters will place their DLL's where they least expect the AC will look. I'm not Saying, nyt I suspect ACE to do the exact same thing? There is no other way to find what you're looking for, please mute a developer claiming "algorithms " to do that job.

Or .... Epic just do like all social medias and sells your underwear... ehm, I mean your data to the highest bidder.
Retired.
JackGriffin
Godlike

Post by JackGriffin »

(Data = money) in today's economic model. That's what will drive development.