multiple skyboxes

Discussions about UT99
hee
Experienced
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:11 am

multiple skyboxes

Post by hee »

Quick question for the sages of unreal.

Smeerkat mentioned that it was possible to do multiple skyboxes, but did not explain how. Does anyone here know?
User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada

Re: multiple skyboxes

Post by FraGnBraG »

MultiskyZone actor - can be tricky depending on what you want to acheive - but I've used it many times:

Simple example:
CTF-FNB-AllGoodThings-BETA1

Example of several uses in one map:
DOM-FNB-IslandX-BETA

Example of multiple perspectives illusion in one map:
DOM-FNB-Assimilated-Repack

Cheers
hee
Experienced
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:11 am

Re: multiple skyboxes

Post by hee »

Strange. I do not seem to have that player in Editor 2.0.
User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 928
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada

Re: multiple skyboxes

Post by FraGnBraG »

The way to put it in your map is to first open one of the maps mentioned, then open your map without closing the editor.
Then, open the actor class browser and choose Actor -> Info -> ZoneInfo -> MultiSkyZoneInfo.
Place the actor in your map and then save your map.
Close the editor.
Now you can open the editor, open your map and the MultiSkyZoneInfo actor is in your map.
The maps I provided should teach you all you need to know about setting up multiple skies...

Cheers
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6133
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: multiple skyboxes

Post by sektor2111 »

hee wrote: Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:50 am Strange. I do not seem to have that player in Editor 2.0.
No one said that is a stock "player" - you mean Actor - it's a community add-on, Epic never bothered to do such thing as the rest of doable things never done. That has to be used from another map having it or... compiling one if you have resources for said ZoneInfo Actor right in map.
I used such a zone and it works like a charm.
hee
Experienced
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:11 am

Re: multiple skyboxes

Post by hee »

Ohhhhh. I thought it was a standard.

Thanks much.