Do Warlords have to fly?

Discussions about UT99
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 8007
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by EvilGrins » Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:02 pm

Is there a way to disable their ability to fly??

Image
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by OjitroC » Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:13 pm

Yes, UnrealI Warlords have to fly. The only way to disable that (I think) would be subclassing and altering the code (though I imagine it would need a lot of rewriting to deal with the animations and physics).

Check out the XeopsLord - that comes with the SP map UB01-Xeops (I've mentioned that in a relatively recent post) - it's subclassed from the EXUWarLord that has a bool property bFlightEnabled.

Buggie
Masterful
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by Buggie » Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:57 pm

Try use Skaarj with changed mesh. Of course you need subclass it anyway + some tune. But in general it can be less work.

--- EDIT ---

Possible Skaarj is too fast for WarPenguins :lol2:
Maybe better use Krall as base. Its really slow.

User avatar
TexasGtar
Adept
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:52 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by TexasGtar » Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:17 pm

Just put them in a room with a low ceiling.

Buggie
Masterful
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by Buggie » Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:47 pm

Or cover entire map with MonsterBlock on desired height.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5340
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by sektor2111 » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:03 pm

Which are disabled in advanced MH2 mods... I recommend a static decoration with Warlord mesh. I'll bet on 10$ that it won't fly...

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by OjitroC » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:51 pm

Simple ... remove their wings :P

XeopsWL.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 8007
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by EvilGrins » Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:21 pm

OjitroC wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:51 pm
Simple ... remove their wings :P
Oh my!
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by OjitroC » Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:06 pm

EvilGrins wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:21 pm
OjitroC wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:51 pm
Simple ... remove their wings :P
Oh my!
That's the XeopsLord (mentioned above).

Get hold of and play the map then you'll see plenty of them in action.

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 8007
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by EvilGrins » Tue Apr 27, 2021 12:13 am

OjitroC wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:06 pm
Get hold of and play the map then you'll see plenty of them in action.
Not really. Turns out the map is from the more advanced version of oldskool, the one I don't use.

I can't access it, the Sktroopers I have on a lot of my bots are dependent on the original version of oldskool that Usaarj put out WAY back when.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758

TankBeef
Experienced
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:56 am

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by TankBeef » Tue Apr 27, 2021 12:36 am

Sure. Just tell the guys at the airport to confiscate their passports. 😏

Oh wait...you meant...oh nevermind :?

ExpEM
Skilled
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:48 am

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by ExpEM » Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:19 am

The first function it the warlords code is PreSetMovement().
If you copy that function and make a subclass of warlord. Paste the function into the subclass.
Change bCanFly = true to false and compile.
All done!

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by OjitroC » Tue Apr 27, 2021 10:13 am

EvilGrins wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 12:13 am
OjitroC wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:06 pm
Get hold of and play the map then you'll see plenty of them in action.
Not really. Turns out the map is from the more advanced version of oldskool, the one I don't use.

I can't access it, the Sktroopers I have on a lot of my bots are dependent on the original version of oldskool that Usaarj put out WAY back when.
You can't summom the Xeops.XeopsLord or put it in a map?
ExpEM wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:19 am
The first function it the warlords code is PreSetMovement().
If you copy that function and make a subclass of warlord. Paste the function into the subclass.
Change bCanFly = true to false and compile.
All done!
Unfortunately it doesn't appear to be that simple. Doing that has no effect on the WarLord's ability to fly - presumably because other functions set the physics to Flying and call 'flying' animations?

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 8007
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by EvilGrins » Tue Apr 27, 2021 4:23 pm

OjitroC wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 10:13 am
You can't summom the Xeops.XeopsLord or put it in a map?
I opened it in UnrealEd and couldn't find any creatures in it.

I'll try that UTPe thingy on it.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Do Warlords have to fly?

Post by OjitroC » Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:27 pm

EvilGrins wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 4:23 pm
OjitroC wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 10:13 am
You can't summom the Xeops.XeopsLord or put it in a map?
I opened it in UnrealEd and couldn't find any creatures in it.

I'll try that UTPe thingy on it.
They're under ScriptedPawn > EXUScriptedPawn - you need to expand the various EXU classes to find the Xeops pawns. However it is better to use UTPT as you get a better idea of what is in Xeops.u.