New mapper in need of help.

Discussions about UT99
Mr Stranger
Novice

New mapper in need of help.

Post by Mr Stranger »

Hi, I'm kinda new to mapping and I need some help on a number of issues. Firstly...

I want to make a series of singleplayer levels for Unreal Tournament in the vein of Operation: Na Pali and the like. I just finished working on the first level, saved it and then I tried to re-open the file in UnrealEd. When it loaded the map, all I got was an empty void with no brushes, actors or anything, even though it said the level was loaded (I'll add a screenshot if needed) and asked me if I wanted to save any changes before quitting.

This is the second time in a row this happened and it "corrupts" all previous files for the same map, even if they didn't have the same name.

If it's any help, the last bit of info I have on this issue is that the map's name automatically changed when I pressed the save button (the same button I had been using during the level's entire development). It went from DM-PreemptiveLZ to DM-P. Sometimes when this happens, the file type changes from ".unr" to "file" and may or may not contain the level when I change it back to an ".unr" file. (Side-note: I used the "DM-" prefix so I can test it without the editor being open.)

The less important second issue I have is that I'd like to have human allies in some of these levels, but the only ones available are bots (no problem with that) who are always hostile to the player. I lack coding / scripting experience (but am willing to improve if I have to), and I can't find any help on this anywhere.

Can anybody help me with this? I'd love to start making impressive maps for single and multiplayer, but I'm not willing to spend days on a map only for it to delete itself. Thank you in advance!
OjitroC
Godlike

Re: New mapper in need of help.

Post by OjitroC »

Hi, welcome to the forum - enjoy your stay.