Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Discussions about UT99
User avatar
Que
Masterful
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:49 am
Personal rank: ...

Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Que » Sat Sep 24, 2022 8:29 am

was reading this post here: https://unrealadmin.org/forums/showthread.php?t=32018
and realized that perhaps our databases need updating.

The GeoIP site is long since gone , where else would we go to get updated info?
*Join our Discord Here.*
Our most popular mods - MVX , SSB , SmartWFL , UTCmds
Show
~Our Servers~

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2480
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Barbie » Sat Sep 24, 2022 8:43 am

Of course offering the service IPToCountry is not enough; the underlying database should be updated from time to time. If I would provide such, I'd updated it all few months or so.
I didn't find a possibility to get the version or creation date of a database; I'm afraid there is no such information inside the database itself. Does anyone know an IP addresse which country assignment has changed recently? That could be a possibility to find out if a provider uses an outdated database.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

Eternity
Experienced
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:56 pm

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Eternity » Sat Sep 24, 2022 9:09 am

"Maxmind" could be considered as one of the alternatives, it provides GeoIP databases (commercial and free versions). But IPToCountry code has to be modified to support their database format.
Probably, it is not the best choice to the moment. Long ago in past it was quite good GeoIP database provider.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6039
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Sep 24, 2022 1:25 pm

As far as I know MaxMind has stopped working on those databases - IpToCountry needed some database provided there. As result: YES, updates are needed but I'm afraid that nobody will provide this stuff unless you find alternate methods or other type of detection.

I have to admit that last time IpToCountry was working better for some reasons but... without an up-to-date database, query results are borked.

Eternity
Experienced
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:56 pm

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Eternity » Sat Oct 01, 2022 5:06 am

sektor2111 wrote:
Sat Sep 24, 2022 1:25 pm
IpToCountry needed some database provided there.
Now i see... And this explains why that database is not being updated anymore.
sektor2111 wrote:
Sat Sep 24, 2022 1:25 pm
As far as I know MaxMind has stopped working on those databases
Yes. IIRC, their last GeoIPCountryWhois database release was in March 2018.
Now there are specific limitations and requirements, and a database has another format...

It still could be used, but need time to write new script for that current database format, or to wait until authors of that original PHP script update it.
5+ years outdated database should motivate somebody to fix it, sooner or later...

User avatar
Que
Masterful
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:49 am
Personal rank: ...

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Que » Sat Oct 01, 2022 5:37 am

Eternity wrote:
Sat Oct 01, 2022 5:06 am
It still could be used, but need time to write new script for that current database format, or to wait until authors of that original PHP script update it.
5+ years outdated database should motivate somebody to fix it, sooner or later...
the Guys who made the script have long gone.. is upto the remaining coders (very few) to come up with something.
currently we are working on something in SSB which allows us to manually set user's CountryFlags/CountryName based on the first 2 octets of their IP Addresses
this is a somewhat workaround for outdated players Country's/Flags.
*Join our Discord Here.*
Our most popular mods - MVX , SSB , SmartWFL , UTCmds
Show
~Our Servers~

Eternity
Experienced
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:56 pm

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Eternity » Sat Oct 01, 2022 7:22 am

There are also 3-rd party services that provide similar API, such as hostip.info or ipapi.co, it just requires a minor change in a currently used IpToCoutnry UC script, so could be used as a quick/temporal solution. But in this case another kind of obstacles may appear...

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6039
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Oct 01, 2022 8:09 am

Eternity wrote:
Sat Oct 01, 2022 7:22 am
But in this case another kind of obstacles may appear...
Already got them... I went to setup a server for IpToCountry support - in the same machine set as VDS. And then ? And them because all Web related access to the host is HTTPS and not just HTTP, IpToCountry did not work.

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2480
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Barbie » Sat Oct 01, 2022 10:49 am

sektor2111 wrote:
Sat Oct 01, 2022 8:09 am
all Web related access to the host is HTTPS and not just HTTP, IpToCountry did not work.
If you have root access, you can configure the web server accordingly.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6039
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by sektor2111 » Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:53 am

Nope I don't have, and then... if database is outdated, all next connected moves are useless.

User avatar
Hitman
Skilled
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Hitman » Sun Dec 04, 2022 9:37 pm

Follows, since this need an update if someone can figure it out..