Page 4 of 10

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:14 pm
by sektor2111
Translated to bad english...
Trojan Horse:
I'm a modder doing pawns, I'm gonna copy the worst codes from bad classes doing "news" in purpose to crash games - will refresh servers so to speak. Mapper will get files adding them in his/her Level and doing an useless work which won't be used as expected but stuff for firsts moments is good to break the fun of MH hunters. Nothing else too special, the same garbage morphed into new pawn types.

Do you really need these ? All right, get ready for a new mismatch file version.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:22 pm
by SC]-[WARTZ_{HoF}
:loool:

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:05 pm
by sektor2111
Yes it's a kind of :loool: awesome support:
ScriptedPawn wrote: function Killed(pawn Killer, pawn Other, name damageType)
....
while ( aPawn != None )
{
if ( (aPawn.IsA('PlayerPawn') || aPawn.IsA('ScriptedPawn'))
&& (VSize(Location - aPawn.Location) < 500)
&& CanSee(aPawn) )
{
if ( SetEnemy(aPawn) )
{
GotoState('Attacking');
return;
}
}
aPawn = aPawn.nextPawn;
}
Target = Other;
GotoState('VictoryDance');
}
else
GotoState('Attacking');
....
State Attacking
....
if ((Enemy == None) || (Enemy.Health <= 0))
{
if (Orders == 'Attacking')
Orders = '';
WhatToDoNext('',''); //I'm interested about this
return;
}
....
function WhatToDoNext(name LikelyState, name LikelyLabel) //rewritten in child classes
{
local Pawn aPawn;

aPawn = Level.PawnList;
while ( aPawn != None )
{
if ( (aPawn.IsA('PlayerPawn') || aPawn.IsA('ScriptedPawn'))
&& (VSize(Location - aPawn.Location) < 500)
&& CanSee(aPawn) )
{
if ( SetEnemy(aPawn) )
{
GotoState('Attacking');
return;
}
}
aPawn = aPawn.nextPawn;
}

Super.WhatToDoNext(LikelyState, LikelyLabel);

...
state VictoryDance
...
function PickDestination()
{
local Actor path;
local vector destpoint;

if (Target == None)
{
WhatToDoNext('Waiting', 'TurnFromWall'); //Suure - it's just rewritten in subclass
return;
}

}
What a "coincidence" aka dumbness !? Something has been murdered and pawn do try to look for next threat. No threat ? Ok, see WhatToDoNext. And What I am supposed to do Next ? Look for Next Threat - again like a moron. If these states are skating or by chance they intend to be operated twice then we have 4 Sequences doing sucks. This utterly shit happens when dumb people are copying codes without to know this stuff - ITERATIONS LIMIT. Actually these iterations are useless. When our pawn at first attempt failed to see an enemy then why we need to retry a second time and blabbering PawnList like that in many classes from this package ? Oh Well... I don't have an answer for this case... just enjoy... :ironic:
I'm not a candidate for making a separate mutator in purpose to fix the trash which others are doing and WHICH are NOT STOCK.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:28 pm
by Barbie
Hierarchy of that Pawns:

Code: Select all

class QuakePawn extends ScriptedPawn;
class qDemon expands QuakePawn;
Both QuakePawn and qDemon (and probably all other derived classes - I didn't check that) have identical duplicated code for function WhatToDoNext - the keyword Super was not known to the coder obviously.
QuakeMPAK2 WhatToDoNext

Code: Select all

function WhatToDoNext(name LikelyState, name LikelyLabel)
{
	local Pawn aPawn;

	aPawn = Level.PawnList;
	while ( aPawn != None )
	{
		if ( (aPawn.IsA('PlayerPawn') || aPawn.IsA('ScriptedPawn'))
			&& (VSize(Location - aPawn.Location) < 500)
			&& CanSee(aPawn) )
		{
			if ( SetEnemy(aPawn) )
			{
				GotoState('Attacking');
				return;
			}
		}
		aPawn = aPawn.nextPawn;
	}
	
	Super.WhatToDoNext(LikelyState, LikelyLabel);
}
I don't see any error here but iterating the PawnList may be a problem: what happens if the list changes while iterating? I've sometimes seen code like this in iterating lists:

Code: Select all

i++;
if ( i > 100 )
	break; // can occasionally get temporary loops in netplay
sektor2111 wrote:Actually these iterations are useless.
Yes, but it is not responsible for that endless loop AFAIS.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:40 pm
by sektor2111
Barbie, this list is called multiple times > Killed VictoryDance Attacking WhatToDoNext - all are doing PawnList because NOBODY was rewriting that crap. When Level is nasty loaded things goes in trash. Berserker is not a surprise for me but looks like is a surprise for that guy who did this copy-paste coding - actually is not coding... Is a harmful code for many pawns in Level - I know what I'm saying.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:15 pm
by Barbie
My first trace has lead me to Pawn.LineOfSightTo(APawn) returns FALSE and Pawn.CanSee(APawn) returns TRUE - but as far as I had read this can never happen because CanSee is a kind of "subset"?

Code: Select all

LinkedList.Next == LinkedList
Can this ever happen for lists handled by the engine? It would easily explain some runaway loops.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:23 pm
by sektor2111
If you are interested about visual things you might do some check in a simply cube doing a custom actor as a Lamp or such and Broadcasting in several conditions inside a tick or a fast timer.
If PlayerPawn
- CanSee(Self)
- LineOfSightTo(Self)
- Player.VisibleCollidingActors - if self is through list
- PlayerCanseeMe() - native - enjoy here...
- whatever custom trace based
- FastTrace
Go drew conclusions...

Hint there is a map posted somewhere in forum I guess in XC stuff when Higor was fixing something... Pretty cute for testing...

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 2:29 pm
by Barbie
EvilGrins wrote:[qDaemon runaway loop] What happened?!?
Can you reproduce this error?

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:08 pm
by EvilGrins
Barbie wrote:
EvilGrins wrote:[qDaemon runaway loop] What happened?!?
Can you reproduce this error?
Not on purpose. Last 2 weeks I've been playing the same map over and over, making slight changes to monster selections & weapons and textures.

That's what caused this, as I'm using some unusual (and old) monsterpacks.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 11:15 am
by papercoffee
Ok ...I got this error and can't figure out what happened. Can someone elaborate please... I played this map many times and now this?!

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 6:07 pm
by Barbie
papercoffee wrote:Ok ...I got this error and can't figure out what happened.
I did a forum search for you :lol: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5969&start=18
papercoffee wrote:I played this map many times and now this?!
Has it ever worked on your "new" PC? You might have a different graphic setup now.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 6:54 pm
by papercoffee
Thanks ...it was something with the D3D driver ...I downloaded the OMPatch from old-unreal before the laptop went kaput.
I used OpenGL.

Now on the "new" machine, UT keeps crashing the whole system after +/- 15minutes (black screen and a sound-loop) with OpenGL. I tried D3D and suddenly on this map it didn't worked and crashed (this time only UT). I don't want to play in software render mode. :|

I have to use the onboard video card for now :cry: as it seems.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 7:41 pm
by Barbie
papercoffee wrote:UT keeps crashing the whole system after +/- 15minutes
I can imagine two reasons:
1) the power supply is over loaded
2) the graphic card and/or CPU over heats.
I'd try other programs stressing the graphic card to see if system freezing is related to it; also testing it with "FurMark" might be an option.

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:16 am
by Chamberly
I have had similar issue on my laptop, it was in fact, viruses, causing too much work in the background awhile you're playing. Overheating issue related to crashes to happen or something... but idr what was the errors were. But it was shutting down so might be barely related. xD

Re: Error Messages

Posted: Thu May 26, 2016 2:18 am
by papercoffee
It's a new set up machine with separated user (restricted) and admin (PW-protected) accounts ...so a virus shouldn't be the cause for that.

@Barbie
How long should FurMark run? I reached 100°C after 3 minutes. I have no clue how hot a video card can get before it's unhealthy. :noidea
Software Render uses only the CPU?