Page 1 of 1

[UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:35 pm
by jakoozie
Hello,
There is a mod for UT99 that I really like, but I want to change a value in the parameters of a class. So I go to the Actor Class Browser and I click (right button) and I go to properties of the parameter class and I change the value, I close and I save the package, but I think it does not work, because if I restart UnrealEd and go to the Class parameter it have the original value, it don't save.
Thank you, Sorry for my English!

Re: [UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:44 pm
by Radi
Hi :) never ever modify packages and save after that , this can lead to mismatch files and you may not be able to play online (for example if you add texture to package and then save it. Then package is modified and servers do not allow this.):) just place actor that you want to use, put in somewhere in the map, highlight this actor and right click on it. Open actor properties window and try there :) . Hope I described it good :p

Re: [UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:00 pm
by Dr.Flay
Welcome to the forums jakoozie
As Radi said, you must not edit an existing resource, you must always work on your own new version, or the original will not work online anymore, because nobody else has the same as you.

This is also not how to update classes. They do not behave like textures.
If you edit a class, you must "compile" it into a whole new "***.u" file.

Also as Radi said, when you place an actor in a map, you can change it's properties there without remaking a new 1.

Hint:
Perhaps if you tell us what mod you are actually trying to use, we could give you useful information, instead of guessing :noidea
"a mod I like" does not help much :wink:

Re: [UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:25 pm
by papercoffee
Dr.Flay wrote: As Radi said, you must not edit an existing resource, you must always work on your own new version, or the original will not work online anymore, because nobody else has the same as you.
This reminds me on my first attempt to make textures for UT ... I didn't know how this package system worked and screwed up my UT install. :mrgreen:

Re: [UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:55 pm
by Chamberly
papercoffee wrote:
Dr.Flay wrote: As Radi said, you must not edit an existing resource, you must always work on your own new version, or the original will not work online anymore, because nobody else has the same as you.
This reminds me on my first attempt to make textures for UT ... I didn't know how this package system worked and screwed up my UT install. :mrgreen:
Lol, I hope I don't do the same! Since I'm planning to do some research on my own to learn to insert custom texture (googling from whatever) to add on to the map, hopefully to mylevel and it's own package would do the trick... or making my own textures. Not sure about the size so far but I think I got the idea now.

As a general UT equities, don't make file mismatches!
You can look those up on Unreal Wiki which explain a lot. http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/
A little bit as it say about file mismatch: http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/Legacy:Tex ... And_Export
You can edit old texture packs but it is best to only do this with packages that have not yet been publically released (to avoid missing textures and version mismatch errors for your users caused by multiple versions of the package in circulation) and you should never modify the original Epic texture packages bundled with Unreal Tournament!

Re: [UT99] Problem in UnrealED

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:55 am
by TheDane
jakoozie wrote:Hello,
There is a mod for UT99 that I really like, but I want to change a value in the parameters of a class. So I go to the Actor Class Browser and I click (right button) and I go to properties of the parameter class and I change the value, I close and I save the package, but I think it does not work, because if I restart UnrealEd and go to the Class parameter it have the original value, it don't save.
Thank you, Sorry for my English!
As already mention editing existing mods and save them using the same name is a no-go. Even though you won't hand them over to others you will still risk to get caught cheating if you go online.

But in order to change the variables of a mod you need not to do a full rebuild of it, you can simply just create your own little mutator to make the changes you want. Just look at this Little code snippet:

Code: Select all

class SomeClassName extends Mutator;

function bool AlwaysKeep(Actor Other) 
{
	if (Other.IsA('ClassNameToChangeVariablesIn'))
        {
		ClassNameToChangeVariablesIn(Other).VariableName = SomeNewValue;
		return true;
		}
	return false;
}
I hope this helps :tu: