Frame drops on decent system.

Discussions about UT99
RollinRocker
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:14 pm

Frame drops on decent system.

Post by RollinRocker » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:27 pm

Hi there, after around 10 years i decided to come back for some UT.
I installed the enhanced open gl dll becasue othwise the game run to fast.
However now i got the issue that i got some annoying frame drops from time to time and i think this shouldn't happen on a core i5 2500k + HD7950 (vsync disabled). Most of time the drops happen when i shoot rockets or when im in a fight. The frames hardly drop under 100fps but it just feels like "stuttering". Anyone got a clue ? I mean a 7950 should be overkill.

Torax
Adept
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:38 pm
Personal rank: Master of Coop
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Torax » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:35 pm

You see, UT engine forces video information to be calculated not in GPU but in CPU.
So in different situations theres no matter how fast and powerfull your PC - you will have lags)
Thats also the basic cause why on multicore processors there are game speed glitches
Unreal. Alter your reality..forever...

RollinRocker
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by RollinRocker » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:40 pm

Torax wrote:You see, UT engine forces video information to be calculated not in GPU but in CPU.
So in different situations theres no matter how fast and powerfull your PC - you will have lags)
Thats also the basic cause why on multicore processors there are game speed glitches
That's sad. So you don't think there is no way to fix this? But that explains why even adding Supersampling doesn't make things worse.

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Chamberly » Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:57 pm

Have you tried the dual/multicore fix yet?

Dual core: http://www.ut-files.com/index.php?dir=U ... UT_Fix.zip
Multi core: http://www.ut-files.com/index.php?dir=P ... oreFix.zip

Feel free to take a look for more stuff:
http://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=373
Image
Image
Image

RollinRocker
Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by RollinRocker » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:01 am

No, but i gonna give it a try. Thank you in advance. Somehow i think it's the gpu drivers.. I just hope im wrong otherwise i'll hate AMD :D

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Chamberly » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:29 am

I have AMD cpu, with nVidia and it works with d3d9. Then I installed Radeon... not much difference but I found out all the crazy lag is coming from missing a cpu fix lol for trying to figure out something.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Carbon
Inhuman
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Carbon » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:09 pm

I found FlipTIB to be useful for older games.

http://darkfate.org/?show=files/misc_st ... B_v1.0.zip

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Chamberly » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:05 pm

Carbon wrote:I found FlipTIB to be useful for older games.

http://darkfate.org/?show=files/misc_st ... B_v1.0.zip
First time I've ever heard of this. I might try it out.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Carbon
Inhuman
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Carbon » Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:48 pm

It works really well. It has shell integration so you just right click the .exe and choose how many cores. I have been on a retro-gaming trip lately and the program has really simplified the process.

User avatar
Radi
Adept
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:41 pm
Location: DeGie - PL

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Radi » Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:21 pm

Thanks for that ^.^ really handy.
Thanks

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Dr.Flay » Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:03 am

nVidia is the only chipset that can use OpenGL properly.
ATI chips ignore the GFX RAM on the card.
You must use the DX9 renderer. See this thread for the newest http://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=4569&start=0

There are 2 problems with UT on modern CPUs.
During install UT records the current CPU speed for use later. On modern PCs if you are not doing much then the CPU will be slow.
The UT installer does not need much CPU so probably recorded a speed of 800MHz.
When you run the game it tries to compensate for any difference. If the difference is big UT goes a bit wonky.
Try editing your launch icon to read something like this
D:\UnrealTournament\System\UnrealTournament.exe -CPUSPEED=2500

The other is that, because it is an old 32bit program it can only use 1 core at a time, but Windows will move tasks from core to core, depending on use.
UT does not like hopping about like that, as it interrupts it causing lag.

As an ATI sufferer I looked for alternatives to the bloated Catalyst Control Centre, and one of the tools I found is "RadeonPro".
This allows you to set many useful things and just forget you are running it. Limiting the CPU cores is one of those handy things.
http://www.radeonpro.info
Image

User avatar
Carbon
Inhuman
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Carbon » Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:35 am

Dr.Flay wrote:nVidia is the only chipset that can use OpenGL properly.
ATI chips ignore the GFX RAM on the card.
Can you provide a link to this item being discussed at length? I recall some tests a while back - maybe it was you doing them?

Now, if what you say is true then Doom 3, the Quake series, RAGE, Half Life, DOTA 2 the Riddick games and the Wolfenstein series (including New Order) as well as a host of other titles must also not be able to make use of GPU RAM with AMD.

This frankly sounds like a very antiquated ATI (when it was still ATI) driver issue.

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Dr.Flay » Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:52 am

Yeah it was me that finally found why people get different experiences with the renderers.
I did post the graph I captured somewhere (possibly here). I will try and find it (possibly somewhere in Raynors thread)
Worth noting for laptop owners is that as most of them use shared RAM the speed is the same, so both renderers "should" perform similarly.
If your MoBo RAM is faster than your old GFX RAM, you can in fact see a boost in speed.
:noidea

Found it in ... a thread called "OpenGL vs Direct3D" :highfive:
http://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=12& ... =15#p57295

User avatar
sn260591
Average
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:38 am
Location: Russia

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by sn260591 » Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:22 am

ATI chips ignore the GFX RAM on the card.
I tested on ATI HD4870, OGL used VRAM.
Sorry for my bad English

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: Frame drops on decent system.

Post by Dr.Flay » Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:30 am

Interesting.
Can you show the your comparison with DX9 and GL
I'll repost mine here for clarity
GLvsD3D9.png
GLvsD3D9
Also if you can say which version of the renderers you are using, that would be useful.
If we can trace this to an incompatible switch, or something that simple, it would be awesome.

Post Reply