Missing Country Flags

Discussions about UT99
Forum|User
Experienced
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:07 pm

Missing Country Flags

Post by Forum|User » Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:46 pm

I can't see the country flags, why? It's working well, when once my county flags hide.
I have CountryFlags1.utx and CountryFlags2.utx, so I don't understand where is the problem. Any idea?

Image

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10087
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by papercoffee » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:10 am

More information please.
Which mod do you use?
What did you change?

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Chamberly » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:22 am

I think there is a hiccup in the ip2county database, so there is nothing that we (client side) can do I think unless someone updated their database and post.

So in order for it to show some flag, the server admin may need to update their URL to a database which currently take care of all that. The database is maintained by a few person per link so beyond that, I have no idea.

We would have to wait for a few days, and it might be resolved.

Paper, you could use some more server side training how to use this mod. jk... <3
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10087
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by papercoffee » Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:17 am

Chamberly wrote: Paper, you could use some more server side training how to use this mod. jk... <3
Nah... I don't really care for this kind of server stuff ...and I didn't know how this mod works.
It's nice to see the country flag mod but it's not urgently needed to play.

But a simple "why isn't it working?" is for me somewhat too vague.
A little bit more information won't hurt and will help getting faster answers.
And it spares us to tear nearly every answer out of the OP. :wink:

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Chamberly » Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:51 am

Well I did mention a few thing why it's not working... but it was a guess because I really don't know how the ip2county database work. But yeah, this mod is mostly used for server side to view other player's flag. I guess it wouldn't do much for client side, other than you viewing your own flag.

Some peoples like to see where other peoples are from. And psycho peeps probably imagine someone they don't wanna interact with came in the server, and that person is from the same county they don't wanna interact with (person-wise) they'd leave without having to deal with complication. lol. Just an idea..
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3330
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Dr.Flay » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:08 pm

You can use XServerQuery and Xbrowser instead.

Forum|User
Experienced
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Forum|User » Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:35 am

It's server side mod, and I changed nothing in my UT. So I just play and once it's don't show for me the flags.
XBrowser is already installed. Like I said only some flag I can see, don't get it why.
I tried my old User and UnrealTournament.ini but still nothing.

User avatar
Sp0ngeb0b
Adept
Posts: 374
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Sp0ngeb0b » Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:52 pm

That stuff is all processed server side and you can not change a thing on it from your side, except you are the server admin. If you are, you need to update your IpToCountry data-server so it can locate all IPs to their respective country.
Website, Forum & UTStats

Image
******************************************************************************
Nexgen Server Controller || My plugins & mods on GitHub
******************************************************************************

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Chamberly » Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:09 pm

Update? Do you mind telling me more please?
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

User avatar
Sp0ngeb0b
Adept
Posts: 374
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Sp0ngeb0b » Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:11 pm

Either use a different, more up to date one, or if you are running one for yourself, update the table with the latest IP information. Not sure if there is a script around to extract GeoIP files easily though.
Website, Forum & UTStats

Image
******************************************************************************
Nexgen Server Controller || My plugins & mods on GitHub
******************************************************************************

ShaiHulud
Adept
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by ShaiHulud » Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:08 am

Download from here: http://geolite.maxmind.com/download/geo ... oIP.dat.gz

...extract the GeoIP.dat file, and upload to your IPToCountry web host would do the trick, hopefully.

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Chamberly » Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:23 am

Can you explain more what to do with these? I'd like to know more how it is set up? lol... if you don't mind. If it really make this go off topic, I can rather accept a PM instead. Sorry for going off topic. :P
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

ShaiHulud
Adept
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by ShaiHulud » Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:53 am

I'll point back to a previous thread on UnrealAdmin, but if there's anything there that's ambiguous or missing detail, then I expect it can be expanded upon: http://www.unrealadmin.org/forums/showp ... ostcount=5

Edit------------------- by papercoffee

I was thinking about this earlier. It's inconceivable that the address blocks for so many ISPs from so many different countries would suddenly have been reassigned - and at the same time - such that they could no longer be matched against entries in an outdated copy of the database. Since some country flags are still showing (one or two during each game), isn't it more likely that the web server is being overwhelmed with requests and dropping a good number (but not all) connections during the lookup process?

Please avoid double posts.

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by Barbie » Tue Feb 15, 2022 3:36 pm

An old thread but current problem: the last months the country flags are not all visible anymore in network play (see pic).
CounrtyFlags-in-Nexgen.jpg
In client's log I have found that:
UnrealTournament.log wrote:
DevNet: PendingLevel received: USES GUID=1BD00C3C4F0EB673F753A692BC833837 PKG=CountryFlags2 FLAGS=1 SIZE=241128 GEN=1 FNAME=CountryFlags2.utx

Warning: Failed to load "Texture CountryFlags2.::": Object not found: Texture CountryFlags2.::.
Warning: Failed to load "Texture CountryFlags2.::": Object not found: Texture CountryFlags2.::.
Any ideas? :noidea
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

User avatar
esnesi
Inhuman
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 12:58 pm
Personal rank: Dialed in.

Re: Missing Country Flags

Post by esnesi » Tue Feb 15, 2022 4:07 pm

Do you also miss countryflags in your scoreboard?
Or do you only experience this issue in the Nexgen window?

Otherwise the issue is in the nexgen ini.
If you are also missing the flags in the scoreboards, the issue would be in the iptocountry ini file i would say.