Bot Bug in firing

Discussions about Coding and Scripting

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:47 pm

Code ?
It's BOT itself and Map. Moron should hunt you but EPIC forgot paths to sniper. If you don't want new Bots and neither XCGE then there is not that much to do. These are UScript. I'm not coding C++, but XCGE has opened some gates for UT... There are a lot of months, almost years since I have quit using default Bot, and default games. Even this Deck map which I'm using is another one...
Last edited by sektor2111 on Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:51 pm

Where i can download MBots and other new profi bots? I would like to see their code.
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm

See link from my avatar - some stuff is been done there... custom games, custom Bots but I repeat, Deck16][ has no deal there without last XCGE.
Last MBot_D is optimized for XCGE in thread "Short Bot Note".
You can check also FerBotz by Higor - use search for getting threads.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:00 pm

FerBotz by Higor can not shoot in the player on a huge distance. He also can not find the player faster than original bot , if the player hid....
Last edited by Gadavre on Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:04 pm

MBot_D is a hunter but it need paths...
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:07 pm

sektor2111 wrote:MBot_D is a hunter but it need paths...
I don't see this bot on your website. where is this download?
are you developer of this mutator?
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Barbie » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:25 pm

sektor2111 wrote:There are 2 problems anyway - I'm guessing LOGIC problems.
I noticed this behaviour also of ScriptedPawns in MonsterHunt: If the centre of players' collision cylinder is not visible for Pawns, they do not shoot at player. So I guess that engine's detection if something is in line of sight ignores Actors' mesh as well as its collision cylinder and reduces it to a trace between the pivot points of both Actors.

Excellent visual representation attached :ironic: : Human players will see parts of the mesh and therefore know that something is there; for other Pawns the line of sight is interrupted by that obstacle and therefore they won't detect anything.
Attachments
LineOfSight.jpg
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:30 pm

Barbie
You are right!!! :tu: THAT'S ALL IT IS LINE OF SIGHT! The bot always shoots at the player If he sees all the body of the player

How to fix this problem?
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby papercoffee » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:13 pm

Gadavre wrote:
How to fix this problem?

Engine problem ... you can't fix it ... use other bots ... not default bots.
Or use XCGE.

Was this simple enough?
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby OjitroC » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:42 pm

With respect, if it is all down to line of sight, why in the video does the bot make as though to fire (twice) and then 'decide' not to? The hesitant action suggests that the bot does 'see' the player and, as I have experienced, MBot_C will fire before it reaches the steps and before it must have a clear view of all of the player. Bots don't need a clear view of all of the body of the player in order to fire.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:06 am

Gadavre wrote:I don't see this bot on your website. where is this download?

sektor2111 wrote:Last MBot_D is optimized for XCGE in thread "Short Bot Note".

OjitroC wrote:as I have experienced, MBot_C will fire before it reaches the steps and before it must have a clear view of all of the player. Bots don't need a clear view of all of the body of the player in order to fire.

I don't know how do you want to be Bot, but for sure I'm getting tired looking at Bot retarded firing innocent doors. MBot is not firing if "FireOffset" doesn't have a direct trace with Enemy.Location and so does NsMonster, also SeePlayer at these "creatures" will not react through Movers - not even ON-LINE. As long as you bug CanFireAtEnemy using different spots, MBot will not shoot, unless something is wrong traced by Engine or a timer reacts with delay or presumed future target location is available as a direct firespot for non hit-scan weaponry.
You guys can trace 15 or 150 lines lagging your servers with super duper pawns, I'm not gonna do such trashes. MBot_D can hunt so I only need maps pathed well, the rest are a no go. MBot_D works with default UT as well but is limited in features without XCGE. You might hit a try into some arena mod and see what I mean compared with default Bot. Often playing MH, I was really annoyed looking at idiots killing themselves at doors (both Bots and Monsters), that's why MBot_C and similars are using a main checker against obstructions - will prevent probably that Engine.Pawn.Adjustaim crash as well...
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby OjitroC » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:56 am

@Sektor2111 - I'm sorry but you've lost me there. I use MBots extensively and, having read all you have written about them, understand your reasons for producing them; and appreciate the improvements you have made in bot performance. I was merely reporting what I saw when running 'tests' of bot behaviour in sniper arena on Deck16][.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:19 am

It's not about appreciating a work or not, it's about understanding how poor is coded this game and it was done for year 1999 being good as it is and... over modded and played.
Suddenly a bot cannot fire because he can see only my ear and nothing else. All right, what's the deal ? This is default Engine behavior A.I. related.
If car has a damaged engine you'll not fix it by washing car or painting it, so fix the damn engine or... change car.

There are 2 PathNodes shown linked in Editor from sniper arena. The reality is Path exist heading from sniper area to down area but not back-way. Higor added new ReachSpecs there, so Bot interested about camper on sniper area will find it - I personally tested those paths. Also in default Deck16][ Epic looks like were really busy to ruin path for Redeemer, Higor linked Teleporter with the nearest InventorySpot (Yes... InventorySpot can substitute a PathNode very well regarding to what are thinking others). And then map has now a different A.I. behavior so to speak is more BALANCED. These fixes are coming in run-time by only using XCGE.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:36 am

Barbie wrote:Excellent visual representation attached :ironic: : Human players will see parts of the mesh and therefore know that something is there; for other Pawns the line of sight is interrupted by that obstacle and therefore they won't detect anything.
It may be possible to change the values, coordinate system (X, Y, Z) of the variable line of Sight and to direct the line of sight directly to the head of the player? Then the bot can see the player whenever the player sees a bot.

By the way, I was told that in a game UT2004 bots shoot at the player even if they see one head! it is really possible to fix it!
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby papercoffee » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:37 pm

Gadavre wrote:
Barbie wrote:Excellent visual representation attached :ironic: : Human players will see parts of the mesh and therefore know that something is there; for other Pawns the line of sight is interrupted by that obstacle and therefore they won't detect anything.
It may be possible to change the values, coordinate system (X, Y, Z) of the variable line of Sight and to direct the line of sight directly to the head of the player? Then the bot can see the player whenever the player sees a bot.

By the way, I was told that in a game UT2004 bots shoot at the player even if they see one head! it is really possible to fix it!

Not in UT1 ...You have to understand, that all those "changes" are only possible if you code an entirely new bot.
Many people did this already ...M-Bot, FerBotz (wasn't there a third one?)

No simple mutator or patch will fix the default bot line of sight because it's hard-coded.
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

PreviousNext

Return to Coding, Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest