Starting some scripting, looking for some commands

Discussions about Coding and Scripting
Marscaleb
Average

Starting some scripting, looking for some commands

Post by Marscaleb »

I've written scripts before, and I've even written in UnrealScript before. But I've never done any scripts in UT99 before, so I don't really know how this game handles a lot of its, well, everything.

So I'm looking for some help getting started.
I already know the basics of writing code, but I don't know what existing functions I can call, nor what existing methods I have to conform to.
When looking through the documentation and tutorials I have found through this site, I have been unable to find anything that gets into the real meat of scripting for Unreal; just basic beginner stuff of writing code in general and compiling. Nothing that can explain to me how to do anything specific. I'm hoping someone here can fill in the gaps, or at least show me how to find out these things on my own.

Right now what I'm looking to do is to modify a mutator someone made to add in some features that I am looking for. Conceptually, this isn't hard, but I have no clue what functions I need to call.

The first thing I need to do is cause the mutator to spawn some bots (under certain conditions) and then remove those bots (under certain conditions). I know this is possible because I can see other mutators that do it, but I can't see the code they used.

The next thing I need to do is display some text on the HUD. Not the message that goes to the log, but text displayed prominently in the center of the screen, like when you make a double-kill.