Problem with ammobox

Discussions about Coding and Scripting
User avatar
Hitman
Skilled
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Sweden

Problem with ammobox

Post by Hitman » Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:51 pm

Hello
We are trying remake the freestyle we use but for some weird reason when we try to compress(UCC-COMP-V2 and U-MAKE) all files the ammobox refuse to use the texture in the pack and get the same with PCX and BMP ?

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Chamberly » Sat Dec 05, 2020 1:02 am

Did it include any error message?
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

Zipps
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Zipps » Sat Dec 05, 2020 4:57 pm


User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9830
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by papercoffee » Sun Dec 06, 2020 12:53 am

looks like the server doesn't have this texture and therefore the client as well.

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Chamberly » Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:20 am

That probably using the default texture so the texture wasn't defined to the ammobox per code?

Just a thought if papercoffee's post didn't pass up.
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by sektor2111 » Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:45 am

Sometimes these skins must be in MultiSkins - see HealthVial by example...
Just my two cents.

You should drop that in a cube and try to figure what is changed and how through multiple tries in Editor first.

Zipps
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Zipps » Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:29 am

the only thing I did whas changing one img for the rifle dint do any thing for ammo box
in the cript its looks ok
its so weard

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by sektor2111 » Sun Dec 06, 2020 1:32 pm

Hitman wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:51 pm
the ammobox refuse to use the texture in the pack and get the same with PCX and BMP ?
My bad then... I did not understand what was about...

User avatar
Hitman
Skilled
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Hitman » Mon Dec 07, 2020 7:52 pm

Well we tried it in so many ways for weeks now with no luck so if someone will have a go at it its greatly appreciated, and if so tell what the hell was wrong?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by OjitroC » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:40 pm

I'm not sure I really understand it all but ... you've got 2 ammo classes - the UMSniperRifleV5 class has AmmoName=Class'UMClanBullets'.

In the UMClanBullets.uc you have "#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=BulletBoxT FILE=Textures\BulletBoxT.bmp GROUP=Rifle" - then in the default properties you have "Skin=Texture'Botpack.Skins.BulletBoxT'" which appears to be the default bullet box skin. Don't you want to import WolfBullets0.bmp/pcx?

Or is that the problem? UT won't import WolfBullets0.bmp/pcx? I tried that in UEd 2.2 in 469 and the pcx imports OK - it looks to have the same properties as the default bullet box, except that the LODset in the WolfBullets0.pcx is LODset_World, when it should be LODSet_Skin, so the pcx is OK.

Zipps
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Zipps » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:56 pm

ammo is a test only forgot to remov

Zipps
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Zipps » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:57 pm

it dont import textures

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by OjitroC » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:19 am

Zipps wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:57 pm
it dont import textures
Should it look like this?
BBox.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Zipps
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by Zipps » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:38 am

jepp

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with ammobox

Post by OjitroC » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:58 am

So I just made a simple subclass of TournamentAmmo and imported WolfBullets0.pcx into it - I think this demonstrates that the texture is OK and can be imported without problems.

I think that these lines from UMClanBullets.uc should read :-

#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=BulletBoxT FILE=Textures\BulletBoxT.bmp GROUP=Rifle
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=WolfBullets0 FILE=Textures\WolfBullets0.bmp GROUP=Rifle

Skin=Texture'Botpack.Skins.BulletBoxT'
Skin=Texture'UMSniperRiflev5.WolfBullets0'

Or perhaps you have tried that and it didn't work?