Panning mesh textures

Discussions about Coding and Scripting
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5477
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Panning mesh textures

Post by Feralidragon »

Yeap, this is my next doubt and issue, so here's the big one:
- Is there any way to pan textures on a mesh? (like doing it by a scripted texture and some functions or so, or any other way for panning it) :???:

I really need them to pan on a certain mesh... :sad2:

Oh... and when i say pan, it's not "edit pan", is "ingame auto pan".
User avatar
Shadow
Masterful
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:00 am
Personal rank: Mad Carpenter
Location: Germany

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Shadow »

no there's no way for UE1, for UE2/UE3 you have texture panners using simple shading techniques to pan a texture in realtime, rather than just panning on BSP only
there's also no way panning a texture with scriptedtextures
Image
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5477
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Feralidragon »

Thanks Shadow :tu:

I have to find another way then... :wth: :sad2:
Myth
Inhuman
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Personal rank: Low Poly Freak

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Myth »

There might be 1 way. Ice textures. But it uses more memory and should only be used if it's worth the trouble.
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5477
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Feralidragon »

Myth wrote:There might be 1 way. Ice textures. But it uses more memory and should only be used if it's worth the trouble.
Really? It is for one only effect that I am about to do, and I needed panning textures so the effect become cooler, but don't worry, it will be used once on a single mesh, not more in the entire game, believe me :tu:
Myth
Inhuman
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Personal rank: Low Poly Freak

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Myth »

No, don't get this wrong. It only takes more memory cause it's processed realtime, not because it's used by 99 meshes. So it doesn't matter how many meshes/surfaces. That's done the same way as normal texturing.
What matters is the number of pixels your computer is processing every frame.
And no it doesn't take away THAT much performance. It's still faster than using 100 256x256 textures that animate seamlessly.
User avatar
Shadow
Masterful
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:00 am
Personal rank: Mad Carpenter
Location: Germany

Re: Panning mesh textures

Post by Shadow »

well as long as it is on a single mesh it be might be ok, but heard of problems experienced by mac/linux user with Epic's FireTexture Engine (DX6 Combiners, kinda pre-pixelshaders).
Image