Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Discussions about Coding and Scripting
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9383
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by papercoffee » Thu Feb 19, 2015 8:02 pm

I stumbled upon a post I made in another Thread...
papercoffee wrote:
Hellkeeper wrote:Can't agree more with Torax. Loque is the bane of my existence everytime I think "Ah, a nice UT99 botmatch to relax before going to bed".
it's never nice nor relaxing when he spawns in the botlist.
If you play team based matches ...and he spawns in your team... then it's pretty much relaxing.

btw. why isn't it possible to copy his stats to another bot ...I have one custom bot which should have his stats (copypasted them in the ini.) but compared to Loque is my bot no match for me. The bot is good but not that good. Why is that so?
Maybe the Coder guys know the answer ...Is this Bot hard coded in the engine?
What about the stats of Xan in the SP ladder.
Or is it in reality a psychological issue? And we just experience a mass autosuggestion.

Higor
Godlike
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by Higor » Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:03 pm

If I remember well, on the highest difficulty Xan has a skill level above godlike but contrary to popular belief his accuracy setting is standard (summon a rifle and watch him miss miserably).
Another thing about that Xan is how HyperBlast is pathed, Xan blocks a pathnode between you and him and he takes an alternate route, almost always catching you from a side or behind if you're trying to run away from him.
It's mostly psychological and winning is easy if you don't let him camp the shield belt.

The actual bane of my existence during that tournament was Riker on AS-Overlord, mofo would camp the cannon high and snipe my entire team down as we approached from the tunner.
My team... was a custom Botz formed ladder team with Aegor in it and we got wiped in every single attack.

PD:
I'll release XC_Force skin and a custom Botz team for tournament ladders for next FerBotz lol.
ImageImage
Image unreal://23.111.157.138:7777
Image unreal://46.228.199.205:7788

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by Chamberly » Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:06 pm

I'm not sure if it's really hard coded in or not but I do remember nurfing Loque's ability in the .ini and it works. Copying, I think it didn't go well because I guess I didn't copy everything to make it outstanding.

But hey, Aegor is more outstanding than Loque! (Ferbotz suggestion, huehuehue)
& everytime I play with Ferbotz and then Loque sometime later, I thought Loque is slacking or I really had a lot of fun playing with Ferbotz cuz Loque isn't a deadly bot to me anymore.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6381
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by EvilGrins » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:37 pm

Not exactly. When you first get UT Loque and the rest of the 32 bots everybody's familiar with are all set as defaults; except Xan. That's why if you change the bots but click the "return to defaults" you get them all back the way they were when they first showed up on your system.

Not so much with me.

Their setups are in the DefUser.ini but back in the day when I made my own custom bots it bothered me when someone else used my system and set UT back to factory defaults...

...so I changed the DefUser.ini to my own bot list and controls.

Basically, I performed a lil' exorcism on my UT and now Loque is just gone.

Xan on the other hand, being the default for the BossSkins model is a summonable player. I forget what the specific is, but if you summon the boss-model into the game, even though he shows up as "Player" in the score list, that's Xan as he was intended to be.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9383
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by papercoffee » Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:02 pm

Chamberly wrote: But hey, Aegor is more outstanding than Loque!
Hm... I don't have Aegor anymore ...I think there is the PS2 Skaarj boss now. With slightly different stats.
What number has Aegor in the list?

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6381
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by EvilGrins » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:09 pm

papercoffee wrote:
Chamberly wrote:But hey, Aegor is more outstanding than Loque!
What number has Aegor in the list?
I don't see a bot of that name on the list · http://www.jonlinney.co.uk/info/utbots.htm
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:

noccer
Adept
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:15 pm
Personal rank: Proud Terrorist
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by noccer » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:35 pm

Aegor is a Ferbot.

On that list, it seems that Loque is just the guy with highest Accuracy, but Style is normal.. Yeah, his accuracy roxx, 100% hit with the Minigun all over Deck 16 :D
Image

>>You can't steal any ip (v4)adresses, there are exactly 4294967296 of them, and they will still exist when you wrote down all of them, or are stored in a (master)servers database ;)<<

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6381
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by EvilGrins » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:06 pm

noccer wrote:Aegor is a Ferbot.
I swear, anytime anyone mentions Ferbots, I picture this:
Image
Bots covered in fur.

Seeing as Loque has come up an insane amount of the time the last few months, for a bot that's been so long gone and mostly forgotten, I went digging around for his setup · http://tinyurl.com/mh9xcqw

After that I set him up with my own bots, to estimate how good he actually is. Set him up just as that said...

...minus I gave him Daffy Duck for a voicepack.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:

noccer
Adept
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:15 pm
Personal rank: Proud Terrorist
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by noccer » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:27 pm

EvilGrins wrote: Seeing as Loque has come up an insane amount of the time the last few months, for a bot that's been so long gone and mostly forgotten, I went digging around for his setup · http://tinyurl.com/mh9xcqw

After that I set him up with my own bots, to estimate how good he actually is. Set him up just as that said...

...minus I gave him Daffy Duck for a voicepack.
Does he still eat you? I set up other bots like Loque, they didn`t work like him.Maybe it is just a psychological thing....
Image

>>You can't steal any ip (v4)adresses, there are exactly 4294967296 of them, and they will still exist when you wrote down all of them, or are stored in a (master)servers database ;)<<

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by Chamberly » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:46 pm

Aegor isn't a bot from UT bots. It's from Ferbotz. :P

I never did looked at Ferbotz that way b/c they aren't furbotz lol. But I do have an idea why Ferbotz are named. lol.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6381
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by EvilGrins » Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:37 am

Chamberly wrote:I never did looked at Ferbotz that way b/c they aren't furbotz lol. But I do have an idea why Ferbotz are named. lol.
Well, yes... they're not furry-bots, it's just how it sounds when you say it.
noccer wrote:Does he still eat you?
I can honestly say he has never eaten me. He only looks like a zombie.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9383
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by papercoffee » Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:44 am

noccer wrote:Aegor is a Ferbot.
Chamberly wrote:Aegor isn't a bot from UT bots. It's from Ferbotz. :P
Ah, sorry didn't know this ...
EvilGrins wrote:
papercoffee wrote:
Chamberly wrote:But hey, Aegor is more outstanding than Loque!
What number has Aegor in the list?
I don't see a bot of that name on the list · http://www.jonlinney.co.uk/info/utbots.htm
Now I see ...I exchanged Arachne with the Skaarj boss and renamed it Arachneus.

Sooo ...I assume, all the fear Loque has spread in the community was merely because his accuracy.
There is nothing special on his set up.
Or am I wrong?

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6381
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by EvilGrins » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:42 am

papercoffee wrote:Sooo ...I assume, all the fear Loque has spread in the community was merely because his accuracy.
There is nothing special on his set up.
Or am I wrong?
Well, his aim is jacked up and he's set never to camp... which indicates he's always hunting for prey and he can kill you without you knowing where he was at the time. Although his base skill level is set to average so he's deadly but not super-deadly. His spidey-sense is pretty high and he can kill on the run with better than average strafing, but he's not at all jumpy so not that unpredictable.

You're not entirely wrong.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:

rsbloom44
Experienced
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:46 am

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by rsbloom44 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:48 am

Wasn't Loque a big part of why there was so many aimbots? I forgot where I heard that.

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Are Loque and Xan hard coded in the engine?

Post by Chamberly » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:34 am

Somewhat but other bots have some kind of autoaim as well so the main thing is, we all can blame it on epic because they created it..... LOL.
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply