Recommended VDS?

Discussions about Servers
Chamberly
Godlike
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora

Recommended VDS?

Post by Chamberly »

Do anyone have a recommended Virtual Dedicated Server?
Not a virtual private server... I think it's strange? or whatever to prove what is better between the two?

I'm looking for one to manage and host my server on. I have no experience of using a VDS so I'm guessing thing might turn the screw left and right in the process if I don't do it right and don't want to end up paying $200 an hour for a technician to fix that lol. (That $200 an hour for a technician to fix is a reference from NFO dedicated server, so maybe NO. lol)

Got pretty fed up with the server host I'm dealing with as they are not doing what they are suppose to do, so I'm looking forward to just use a VDS if I find any reasonable one. I'm pretty strict with who I'm giving access too so this is my thing.

Here is what I'm looking for to use in a VDS:
Hosting UT99 servers. Probably 2.
Dual (or 2) core is a nice option, will be using both on a server instead of just 1 core. XC_GE will manage this.
Own redirect.
I don't mind using the Windows OS. Linux will let me have a big hot mess, I'm not too experienced with it so it may be pretty bad lol. None in Mac.
Anything else that I should mention?
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?
noccer
Adept
Personal rank: Proud Terrorist

Re: Recommended VDS?

Post by noccer »

Virtual private server and virtual dedicated server are just 2 different names for the same thing.

While a Dedicated server (also called root server) is 1 machine that you "own".
You have complete access to this machine (you just cant touch the hardware).

A Virtual private server/Virtual dedicated server/Virtual server/Vserver/Virtual root server (and so on)
is just a one in a number of virtual operating systems on one machine, you share all hardware with ..... up to dozens of people.