Problem with XBots

Need some nice Mods? Here, you are right!

Problem with XBots

Postby UTNerd24 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:43 am

Its nice to have a bit of variety when it comes to crushing the opposition, but as of late, there's been a bug thats been getting on my nerves.
Whenever I add the mod to my list and select a difficulty, It only starts a match on one difficulty, as if locked to it, even with Auto adjust on.
So what have I done wrong this time?
Damn that was fun.
User avatar
UTNerd24
Adept
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 am
Personal rank: Amateur

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby EvilGrins » Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:00 am

Depends which version you have. There's a version that doesn't do auto-adjusts, which is the one I have (6 lists of bots) thankfully. I setup my bots very specifically, don't want something else to adjust them from the settings I give them.

You probably need one of the later versions.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
 
Posts: 6146
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Personal rank: God of Fudge

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby UTNerd24 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:08 am

According to the Readme, I have version 055.
So whats the most recent one?

EDIT: I hear there is a 056, however there doesn't seem to be any downloads anywhere and the only one on ModDB is 055
Damn that was fun.
User avatar
UTNerd24
Adept
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 am
Personal rank: Amateur

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby OjitroC » Sun Aug 21, 2016 11:09 am

I think you will find a later version on MrLoathsome's site (http://ecoop.tk/load/) - check it out anyway.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby UTNerd24 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 11:48 am

OjitroC wrote:I think you will find a later version on MrLoathsome's site (http://ecoop.tk/load/) - check it out anyway.


Thanks for the link, but it still seems to be stuck at "Average" even after tinkering around with Ajustobot...
I don't wanna sound lazy, but I prefer to be able to keep a set difficulty with the bots rather than individual ones and it being locked as a result.

:omfg: ...Trust me, the explanation made more sense in my head.
Damn that was fun.
User avatar
UTNerd24
Adept
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 am
Personal rank: Amateur

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby OjitroC » Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:32 pm

I think that, if using the auto-adjust version of XBots, in the Start Practice Session -> Bots tab you need to leave the Auto Adjust Skill box unchecked. I'm using XBots9b and that's what I do - the skill level of each game will vary but eventually tend towards the level set in AdjustToBots - when playing a previously unplayed map the skill level will take a while to adjust.

I'm not altogether clear what exactly you are after - it does sound as though you want the version used by EG that does not auto-adjust?

For more clarification on how XBots works and how to get what you want you could contact MrLoathsome.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby UTNerd24 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:36 pm

OjitroC wrote:
I'm not altogether clear what exactly you are after - it does sound as though you want the version used by EG that does not auto-adjust?


Yeah, thats what im after. I didint know he had his own version.
Damn that was fun.
User avatar
UTNerd24
Adept
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 am
Personal rank: Amateur

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby OjitroC » Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:00 pm

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby EvilGrins » Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:19 am

UTNerd24 wrote:
OjitroC wrote:I'm not altogether clear what exactly you are after - it does sound as though you want the version used by EG that does not auto-adjust?

Yeah, thats what im after. I didint know he had his own version.

Dunno the number mine is offhand, but it only has 6 different lists of 32 bots each · http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/108072.html

If I can't find a download for it, I can put the once I've got into a .zip when I get home tonight... if I don't pass out first and forget about it.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
 
Posts: 6146
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Personal rank: God of Fudge

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby MrLoathsome » Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:27 am

The AutoAdjust skill functions should be optional with XBots9b or the AdjustoBots mutator.

Note this section of the readme.txt file:
Code: Select all
Configuration Notes:

AdjustoBots/XBots:

When first run it will create the following section in your UnrealTournament.ini
file:

[AdjustoBots.AdjustoBotsConfig]
MaxBotSkill=4.000000
DifficultyX=2
MinPlayersX=10
bAdjustoBots=True
bAdjustSkillX=True
bStdAdjust=True
bSilentMode=False

*If using XBots9b you will find the variables in the [XBots9b.AdjustoBotsConfig]
section of the XBotsRandom.ini file created first time you run XBots9b.
You may edit that section.  Rest of that file is created each time XBots9b
runs.

Note the MaxBotSkill is a real number.  Menu slider will adjust by 10ths.
Edit ini file if you need more precision.

*Edit. My readme.txt file for that is sort of lacking.... :roll:
Set those last 4 options ALL to False. Also uncheck the regular UT autoadjust skill option.
Bots should stay at whatever skill you have set in the configuration/ini files.
Last edited by MrLoathsome on Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
blarg
MrLoathsome
Inhuman
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:02 pm
Location: MrLoathsome fell out of the world!
Personal rank: I am quite rank.

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby Dr.Flay » Mon Aug 22, 2016 8:12 pm

If your only requirement for Xbots is a bigger bot list, then try "Marginally Enhanced UT"
Image
https://www.pseudorandom.co.uk/2002/par ... /marginal/
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Site Staff
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Location: Kernow, UK
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby EvilGrins » Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:26 am

Dr.Flay wrote:If your only requirement for Xbots is a bigger bot list, then try "Marginally Enhanced UT"

I have that, but it doesn't really give you more bots... just slightly better customization options.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
 
Posts: 6146
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Personal rank: God of Fudge

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby UTNerd24 » Wed Oct 19, 2016 1:34 am

I don't want this to seem like a necrobump, but I was wondering if its possible for there to be a standalone version of Xbots9? I've kinda adapted to the Skill Auto Adjust using the INI, but Adjustobots seems a bit vague and complex to me. And the fact that it is hard-coded into the mod doesn't help either. I guess you could say I really like variety in my bots.
Damn that was fun.
User avatar
UTNerd24
Adept
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:06 am
Personal rank: Amateur

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby EvilGrins » Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:32 am

I keep trying to remove the more enhanced options from that version of Xbots.

The enhancements re-configure the bots settings, but I've got mine configured the way I want them fine. Xbots9 does automatic re-configurations, only reason I got it was for the extra lists... but I can't use it if it's gonna overwrite my guys.

Selective deletions of the core files hasn't worked so well.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
 
Posts: 6146
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Personal rank: God of Fudge

Re: Problem with XBots

Postby sektor2111 » Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:43 am

UTNerd24 wrote: I guess you could say I really like variety in my bots.
I guess you don't read threads related to mods released. Purpose of XBots was to BALANCE GAME if I well recall, because LoathSome was not glad to play with freaky wick Bots against those "older" in game and having an insane skill due to internal code which doesn't return to normal. Such an evidence I got in one of my CTF games when I was against 2 Xans pretty superior + Loque and another freak. Imagine winners if you can. Actually one of those Xan type was defending enemy Base, each time when they were taking flag my team died with 1 kill/second (pretty open area - now days insanity for cheaters) because that guy was covering carrier perfectly.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3820
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Next

Return to Modifications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest