UnrealEd not saving settings

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
TheRoel-R
Novice

UnrealEd not saving settings

Post by TheRoel-R »

Hello everyone!

For some time already, UnrealEd is not saving any changes to the settings I make. It never really bothered me too much as I have been using the same settings for many years already, the only annoying thing is that it never remembers the last folder I used for, for example, importing textures, and the list of most recently used files is never updated.

But recently I have been changing around some more settings, such as changing the Texture browser from displaying fixed sizes to variable sizes, and I have been playing around with the sizes of the view ports a bit. But re-opening the editor resets all these changes.

It seems that for some reason UnrealEd.ini is not updated whenever I make any changes. I know I can manually edit the ini, but it is a bit cumbersome. Also, there are a few changes for which I do not know which value to change in the ini.

It used to work properly in the past though. It started ever since I upgraded from Win7 to Win8.1 and later Win10. I have already tried running UnrealEd as admin, and tried different compatibility modes, but no success. I also couldn't detect any strange things in the permissions in the UnrealEd.ini file or the UT/System folder, and the file is not set to read only. Deleting UnrealEd.ini doesn't create a fresh file either.

Does anyone have these issues as well, and does anyone know a solution for it?
Barbie
Godlike

Re: UnrealEd not saving settings

Post by Barbie »

Have you installed UT in one of the directories %ProgramFiles%, %ProgramData% or %SystemRoot% that are monitored by the Windows' VirtualStore? In that case the simplest solution would be installing UT in another directory, e.g. "C:\UT" or even on another drive.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett