Map movement speed

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Post Reply
User avatar
XaNKoNII
Skilled
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:29 pm
Personal rank: Phenix
Location: Portugal

Map movement speed

Post by XaNKoNII »

Hello guys, i´m currently making a DM map and was wondering if it was possible to alter the movement speed. Like in a way everyone runs faster, not messing with the time (slomo) ? or is this something hard to make?

Thanks
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Map movement speed

Post by Barbie »

I recommend using Pickups to give faster movement to players for a limited time. Using Pickups enables the chance for admins to adjust your map.
There is a package for UT99 named "Adrenaline.u" that contains such a pickup.
U4Injector.png
U4Injector.png (1.62 KiB) Viewed 891 times
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
XaNKoNII
Skilled
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:29 pm
Personal rank: Phenix
Location: Portugal

Re: Map movement speed

Post by XaNKoNII »

Well i was aiming at using only what comes with unreal....
Do you think this package is something that will affect this map going online in servers?
Red_Fist
Godlike
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am

Re: Map movement speed

Post by Red_Fist »

I think the reason is that speed is delegated to the game rules side. so even if you build it into a map the sever will still revert it back. I think.

So rather than being forced to make a new gametype, -code, it would be better to use an actor.
Possibly if you can edit that actor to be right at the player starts and make it so the speed time never runs out , might work.
But you would probably have to make a new actor for that actor so the speed time stays for faster play. Probably an easy edit

If you made a new actor it could be put in MyLevel, so there isn't any new file for a server to have or use, it just loads that map.
Binary Space Partitioning
User avatar
XaNKoNII
Skilled
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:29 pm
Personal rank: Phenix
Location: Portugal

Re: Map movement speed

Post by XaNKoNII »

Well it certainly is an idea. But i feel its too much trouble for something that all i wanted was to restrain the movement speed, It´s just better to make the map adaptable to diferent speeds then.
Thank you for your replies guys :)
User avatar
ExpEM
Adept
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:48 am

Re: Map movement speed

Post by ExpEM »

This could be done with an embedded mutator.
I've already mentioned how to force mutators at run time in this post: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12152
All you would need in the mutator is something like...

Code: Select all

function bool CheckReplacement(Actor Other, out byte bSuperRelevant)
{
	if ( Other.bIsPawn && Pawn(Other).bIsPlayer )
	{
		Pawn(Other).GroundSpeed = NewSpeed;
		Pawn(Other).WaterSpeed = NewSpeed;
		Pawn(Other).AirSpeed = NewSpeed;
		Pawn(Other).AccelRate = NewSpeed;
	}

	bSuperRelevant = 0;
	return true;
}
Hope this helps.
Signature goes here.
User avatar
XaNKoNII
Skilled
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:29 pm
Personal rank: Phenix
Location: Portugal

Re: Map movement speed

Post by XaNKoNII »

Thank you so much for your help.
I Have checked the link you provided, but at somepoint you mention this :"EDIT:
Class 3 May require some Authority NetCode to use online, that however is beyond my ability to code.
" So my understanding is that what I want is completely possible to make BUT in return it might create some conflict with servers or be completely ignored?
If that's the case it is not worth the time or the trouble, but this is definitely something I will use in my singleplayer campaign project for sure :)
Post Reply