Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!

Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby PrinceOfFunky » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:55 am

Light.png


And that's what you see while mapping:
Dark.png


It probably means he didn't aplly those textures manually.
User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Inhuman
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby nogardilaref » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:02 am

The more complex a map is, and the tighter the schedule, the easier it is to miss spots like those.
Although it doesn't seem to be even noticeable until you brighten things up that is, so that one was particularly easy to miss.
nogardilaref
Masterful
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:00 pm
Personal rank: ⚋⚊⚌☰⚞⌖⚟☰⚌⚊⚋

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby sektor2111 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:01 pm

Nothing new.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: vect(1,1,1)

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby ojrask » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:40 am

Also that plank of wood with 90deg misaligned texture next to it.

These are a real pain, you first release a map and after a week you start finding these all over the place. :D
ojrask
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby JackGriffin » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:46 am

Part of the blame needs to go on the clunkiness of the editor interface. No easy way to filter, It can be hard as hell to scope down to a particular brush and see what you need to see.
Image
User avatar
JackGriffin
Godlike
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: Hack coder

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby sektor2111 » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:51 pm

When I do basics at some geometry from a random map, I always select some texture first for getting rid of that ugly jelly. When brush is being born I set textures before adding next brush. In this way you will never have empty borks. But default mapping style was different - let's rush this and release a crap which will stay rammed 30 years from now on and it will be an usual useless forum debate - no one from factory will fix this. And as you can see I'm not lying.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: vect(1,1,1)

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Postby PrinceOfFunky » Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:01 am

Dave left the default texture on the back of this billboard too:
Attachments
Texture.png
User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Inhuman
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests