No Brushes in the Editor?

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!

No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby Loose Cannon » Sat Mar 10, 2018 11:57 pm

Hi all:
This has happened a couple times. After opening a map (someone else's) in the editor, no brushes show up in the 3 windows. I can see everything else: pathnodes, actors, player starts, movers, etc, but no brushes are visible. Probably just need to click a button somewhere, but not sure what to do. I even tried clicking on the "binoculars" and no brushes are present there. What am I missing?
Loose Cannon
Experienced
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:17 am

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby papercoffee » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:04 am

That's brush stripping. Those mapper deleted the brushes in their final map after rebuilding everything.
Some mapper doesn't like their brushes be used/taken (or modified). It's some kind of obfuscating, like some programmer do it with their code.
There exist a method to get the brush information back ...but I don't remember how.
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 8923
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby OjitroC » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:12 am

papercoffee wrote: There exist a method to get the brush information back ...but I don't remember how.

I'm fairly certain this has been discussed before on this forum, so a search here may reveal the answer.
User avatar
OjitroC
Inhuman
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby Loose Cannon » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:24 am

Thanks for the info paper....and I'll search next time Ojitro.
Loose Cannon
Experienced
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:17 am

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby OjitroC » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:31 am

Have a look at this thread f=5&t=4051&start=0&hilit=stripped which doesn't so much reveal the method (which is hex editing) as indicate why people were reluctant to describe the method in detail. A quick search didn't throw up any other useful thread so what I said earlier is probably misleading.
User avatar
OjitroC
Inhuman
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby Hook » Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:49 am

I have definitely seen the solution, or at least ONE solution, to bring back the brushes in maps where they have been deleted.
I will look for it when time permits, and also keep an eye out for where it was I saw it. :?
I know it was a member of my old forum that posted about it, but I cannot remember for sure where he posted it.

As papercoffee said, I too do not remember exactly how to do it, as I have never had to do it myself.
I have successfully edited maps (other aspects of the map that do not involve the structure) where the brushes have been deleted - just do not rebuild the brushes.

Anyway, I will see what I can do with this :wink:
=Hook=(Member# 626)
Forums - http://hooksutplace.freeforums.net
UT99 Game Server -> CROSSBONES Lucifurs Missile Madness {CMM}

* Newest Versions of: PRO-Redeemers | PRO-SNIPER-Redeemers | PRO-SEEKER-Redeemers <-(the Original)
and Now with FOOD FIGHT and Frying Pan arena !!!
IP: 68.232.181.236:7777
User avatar
Hook
Masterful
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:21 pm
Location: Minnesota USA
Personal rank: UT99 Promoter/Admin

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby papercoffee » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:15 pm

OjitroC wrote:Have a look at this thread f=5&t=4051&start=0&hilit=stripped which doesn't so much reveal the method (which is hex editing) as indicate why people were reluctant to describe the method in detail. A quick search didn't throw up any other useful thread so what I said earlier is probably misleading.

Ah... Then I didn't "not" remember it... I didn't know it. :lol2: Hahaha ... :|
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 8923
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby Red_Fist » Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:12 pm

If you want to see the whole thing, you can surround the whole thing with the builder brush and intersect (deintersect ?) and it will show up with one large complex brush.

The flat brushes or zone brushes screw things up to make a one brush map. But if you wanted to see the thing it works ok.
Binary Space Partitioning
Red_Fist
Godlike
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am

Re: No Brushes in the Editor?

Postby Barbie » Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:27 pm

Loose Cannon wrote:After opening a map (someone else's) in the editor, no brushes show up in the 3 windows.
Beside that the brushes were deleted I have seen that brushes were hidden by assigning them to a group and hiding that group. Look at menu item View > Group Browser.

Also possible: the mapper has set bColored to TRUE and the BrushColor to black for all brushes. Look at Edit > Search for Actors if you see any Brushes there.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests