The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Porch Viking
Average
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:05 am

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by Porch Viking » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:48 am

Finished my entry! DM-AMC-2040

Note: Hotfixed this morning!

User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by FraGnBraG » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:52 pm

still a few maps missing ... the "under" map and floating doom... c'mon guys get 'em in ;)

SzGergo
Skilled
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by SzGergo » Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:10 am

well, crap, i didn't make it in time.
Sounds are still to be added,
and botpathing is jstill ust crudely done and not tested out too much... :nonono:

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9406
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by papercoffee » Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:20 am

SzGergo wrote:well, crap, i didn't make it in time.
Sounds are still to be added,
and botpathing is jstill ust crudely done and not tested out too much... :nonono:
40 minutes left ...go go go!

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9406
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by papercoffee » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:04 am

THE CONTEST IS OVER... Thank you for participating!!

________________________________________________________
On 12th of December are the voting threads open.

Yes I made a double post... bite me.

________________________________________________________
Every Participant with a finished map has to download the other maps and play-test them please.

SzGergo
Skilled
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by SzGergo » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:38 pm

welp.
So if you don't mind, i would submit my map hopefully within a few hours. Out of this contest, of course.
However, i would be more than happy if you downloaded it and gave some feedback regardless (i've put quite some work in it).

There is one thing you could help me (i know, this might be not the very thread... still):
How t f do i get this editor to draw path across trapdoors? There are two big trapdoor in my map that can be opened to make bots fall (purpose is like in DM Fractal).
Paths are not generated across the trapdoors. Game acts as the movers were net even there to support paths... what am i to do?

And these are quite importan features, for two powerful item is only accessible if one is willing to traverse these traps (risking someone activating them). And my bots wont go for these items, as there is no path leading to them currently...

User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by FraGnBraG » Tue Dec 11, 2018 6:25 pm

SzGergo wrote:welp. ... How t f do i get this editor to draw path across trapdoors? ...


LE + LC + LE

You can even chain several together... bait the trap with a pickup ... :)

SzGergo
Skilled
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by SzGergo » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:28 pm

FraGnBraG wrote:
SzGergo wrote:welp. ... How t f do i get this editor to draw path across trapdoors? ...


LE + LC + LE

You can even chain several together... bait the trap with a pickup ... :)

Yeah, that was my secound thought, but bots still acting autistic :(
layout is area -> trap -> room with goodies. It works so-so in this direction, but bots eventually loos interest going back.
I checked Fractal, and if i rebuild it, those lines on the trap diesappear too.

What came in my mind is to make everything 100%, and as a last resort, build a solid, place them apples, rebuild, delete solid, rebuild geometry and lighting only, so the paths above the now-gone solids will remain...

Terraniux
Masterful
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by Terraniux » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:45 pm

I'd like to make a request if that is ok with the staff /rules.

Since I am not able to "update / fix" my map, due computer problems at the moment. And can not determine what is causing the (possible?) instability of my map......
Is somebody willing to have a look in the map and diagnostic it? Some say it is the bbshare actor. Feel free make any change in the map, as long it is stable for the map pack.

If this not complies with competitions rules, I understand. The disk has shown a bit of life again, but it is a matter of recovering files and replacing the disk. Total reinstall OS + programs.

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9406
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by papercoffee » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:40 pm

Terraniux wrote:I'd like to make a request if that is ok with the staff /rules.
It's ok ...your map runs under bonus content now. :wink:
I hope this map will be playable. I want to play it.

SzGergo
Skilled
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by SzGergo » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:48 pm

Oh please help me...
Everything is fine now, except one thing.
There is a shitton of deco in my skybox, and none of them is existant on client side.
I guess the game thinks they are not relevant (cuz the skybox is sealed box outside evertyhing obviously...)
What am i to do?
How do i force it to replicate those things too?

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by OjitroC » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:51 pm

I've played the map three times today and the player freeze happens after different periods of time in the map, though the result is always the same as reported in this extract of the log
Spoiler
Show
Critical: DrawDecalsCritical: URender::DrawFrame
Log: URender::DrawWorld anomaly
Critical: UObject::StaticFindObject
Critical: UObject::StaticAllocateObject
Critical: (B_JumperWaveEffect B_JumperWaveEffect19269)
Critical: UObject::StaticConstructObject
Critical: ULevel::SpawnActor
Critical: (B_JumperWaveEffect)
Critical: UObject::ProcessEvent
Critical: (B_JumperPoint MH-AMC-Mesospheric.B_JumperPoint1, Function BBoyShars.B_JumperPoint.Timer)
Critical: AActor::Tick
Critical: TickAllActors
Critical: ULevel::Tick
Critical: (NetMode=0)
Critical: TickLevel
Critical: UGameEngine::Tick
Critical: UXC_GameEngine::Tick
Critical: UpdateWorld
Critical: XC_MainLoop
Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Exit: Executing UWindowsClient::ShutdownAfterError
Exit: UGalaxyAudioSubsystem::ShutdownAfterError
Log: DirectDraw End Mode
Exit: UOpenGLRenderDevice::ShutdownAfterError
Exit: Double fault in object ShutdownAfterError
Last edited by OjitroC on Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9406
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by papercoffee » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:01 am

SzGergo wrote:Oh please help me...
Everything is fine now, except one thing.
There is a shitton of deco in my skybox, and none of them is existant on client side.
I guess the game thinks they are not relevant (cuz the skybox is sealed box outside evertyhing obviously...)
What am i to do?
How do i force it to replicate those things too?
Did you try it with the knife mesh trick?
Add the knife mesh (in decorations) and change the mesh itself to the one you like.
But I don't know if this really works...

User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by FraGnBraG » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:36 am

papercoffee wrote:
SzGergo wrote: ... There is a shitton of deco in my skybox, and none of them is existant on client side ...
EDIT - I just looked at fractal, rebuilt (as a different mapname) and I have blue pathlines to the SB, no probs...!?

Regarding using deco meshes in Skybox -
There's some flags you set depending on the mesh/effect...
Don't know if you did this already, but this works in maps
I've made (an others...)

Common examples:

1. Flying fighter jet attached to a mover (for flypast in the skybox, etc.):
bGameRelevant=True
bMovable=True
bNoDelete=True
bStasis=True

2. RocketTrails:
bDirectional=True
bGameRelevant=True
bMovable=True
bNetTemporary=True
bNoDelete=True

3.UTFlare:
bMovable=True
bStasis=True
bStatic=True

I think for deco that doesn't move ignore bMovable, for anything that is just static (like a tree) use the #3 settings.

Hope this helps...
Last edited by FraGnBraG on Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

SzGergo
Skilled
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: The AWESOME Mapping Contest

Post by SzGergo » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:47 am

papercoffee wrote:
SzGergo wrote:Oh please help me...
Everything is fine now, except one thing.
There is a shitton of deco in my skybox, and none of them is existant on client side.
I guess the game thinks they are not relevant (cuz the skybox is sealed box outside evertyhing obviously...)
What am i to do?
How do i force it to replicate those things too?
Did you try it with the knife mesh trick?
Add the knife mesh (in decorations) and change the mesh itself to the one you like.
But I don't know if this really works...
hmm, never heard of it... Is there anything special with the knife mesh.?
Meanwhile, i had some partial, mild success with shit: fiddling with relevance partially helped, as these decos won't get deleted at client now.
problem is: all these crap suuposed to move in the skybox along with the attach mover they are attached. Now it seems to me if everthing is always relevant, then the gme tries to update them in every moment, so their movement became jerky.
Okay, I set them to bNetTemporary, now the jerky movement is gone, however they seem to move way faster on client side...

... btw, some other sadness: there are two gradual movers, both works the same way, basically they are supposed to be looping, for they restart themsleves thru a dispatcher... The one in the arena works fine, the one in the skybox won't restart on client side...
That is a nightmare for me...

Post Reply