Page 1 of 1

Why are my spawns broken

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:36 am
by rtg
Hello,
Can someone tell me why my spawns are broken? I spawn in random locations, even tho I have set the correct value for the spawns to their respective teams.

Thank you.

--edit by UnrealGGecko--

Could it be aliens?

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:01 am
by Red_Fist
I messed up something for my UT windows dll trying to eliminate a problem, but you should change the map name in the level properties to "CTF-" might be it.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:15 am
by UT Sniper (SJA94)
If you haven't checked the log while the map is running:

Image

I just pressed the build all button and it fixes it, I suggest you do the same, if it doesn't work I'll just send you a build from my ued.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:12 am
by rtg
I actually sent the map to someone to rebuild it for me and he sent it over to me working fine. Weird shit, gotta love ued.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:00 pm
by sektor2111
Actually Bots might even crash the game here because you have deleted/moved a navigationpoint without to rebuild paths = breaking navigationpoints list. When Navigation list is broken TDM game uses iterator sorting a playerstart without team consideration and then you might spawn in other base. As a note, here is a small fragment from log (these logs are broken in my environment mainly post XCGE v21....)

Code: Select all

Critical: APawn::breadthPathFrom
Critical: APawn::findPathToward
To summarize: this is mapping goofing not Editor goofing. By using my custom CTF game I was trying to find enemy flag - NO chance, which is demonstrating that navigation is broken.

Next points
- nice Level for a CTF ground. After removing useless nodes I think this is good for a server... :gj: .
- for a coding exercise for self person I think I will want to write a mutator for rewrapping navigationpoint list but I believe default Engine will still crash when network is corrupted. Probably a try won't hurt anything.