Got a Map?

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!

Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:24 am

I play on an old computer (I can't be the only one) and it crashes often when some events occur (i.e. too much gore, NW3 nuclear blasts).

Anyway, I have a map, DM-Magmafall, and my computer seems to enjoy it. The game runs much better and it might because the map "keeps itself clean". Under most circumstances when an enemy explodes, their beautifully splattered parts hit the magma and disintigrate upon impact. And I would like more maps that have simliar layouts (lots of acid/lava and platforms to jump between) if you know of any, be sure to let me know.

Thanks!
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby OjitroC » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:52 pm

Someone put together a mappack of lava maps - Lavamaps.zip - you could try these out - I have it but can't remember if I have played them all (or, indeed, any of them) so I can't comment on their quality, playability, etc, etc.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Got a Map?

Postby esnesi » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:34 pm

I am interested in what kind of errors you get, and if you can reproduce them at certain moments.
Crashes usually occur due to old renderers or overriding settings in drivers. (NvidiaControlPanel/CatalystControlCenter)

Every computer is able to run UT99.
Even with a 5400rpm disk Pentium 1-core / celeron, and 1gb ram! (Windows needs more though)
I assume even a 3dfx Voodoo is able to perfectly run a MH session with NW3weapons and gore, at 60 fps atleast.
Image
User avatar
esnesi
Adept
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:50 pm

iSenSe wrote:I am interested in what kind of errors you get, and if you can reproduce them at certain moments.
Crashes usually occur due to old renderers or overriding settings in drivers. (NvidiaControlPanel/CatalystControlCenter)

Every computer is able to run UT99.
Even with a 5400rpm disk Pentium 1-core / celeron, and 1gb ram! (Windows needs more though)
I assume even a 3dfx Voodoo is able to perfectly run a MH session with NW3weapons and gore, at 60 fps atleast.


viewtopic.php?f=34&t=13277
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:58 pm

OjitroC wrote:Someone put together a mappack of lava maps - Lavamaps.zip - you could try these out - I have it but can't remember if I have played them all (or, indeed, any of them) so I can't comment on their quality, playability, etc, etc.


Sorry, but I'd prefer Deathmatch. Thanks for the suggestion though!
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby sektor2111 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:22 pm

BadCorps wrote:I play on an old computer (I can't be the only one) and it crashes often when some events occur (i.e. too much gore, NW3 nuclear blasts).
Agree here, the fact is that I got crashes with these over-gore things and I suspect that surfaces targeted by decals are bad, map has errors or such, because game is not crashing all time in such cases with the same decals...
OjitroC wrote:Someone put together a mappack of lava maps - Lavamaps.zip - you could try these out
Thank you :D !
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Got a Map?

Postby esnesi » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:19 pm

BadCorps wrote:https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=13277

So, can you post some more specifics now then?
Like, does it happen only with the nuclearmissile level-a, or multiple, and at which certain moment?
Are you using default nw3weapons configs, or modified?

Narrow it down, if you can reproduce the issue in multiple maps, then you know it's something which cannot be fixed like Ferali said.

It's never a bad thing to set your gameprofile for UT99 within your driver on ''max performance'' instead of ''High quality textures''.
In case of Nvidia:
Image
Image
User avatar
esnesi
Adept
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:50 am

iSenSe wrote:
BadCorps wrote:https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=13277

So, can you post some more specifics now then?
Like, does it happen only with the nuclearmissile level-a, or multiple, and at which certain moment?
Are you using default nw3weapons configs, or modified?

Narrow it down, if you can reproduce the issue in multiple maps, then you know it's something which cannot be fixed like Ferali said.


Happens on every map, every missle level, and the moment it detonates the game goes kaputt
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby esnesi » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:05 am

It's weird i can't seem to reproduce this issue on our server with NW3.
i've chosen quite some big/extensive maps, and spawned max monsters.
Image
User avatar
esnesi
Adept
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:33 pm

iSenSe wrote:It's weird i can't seem to reproduce this issue on our server with NW3.
i've chosen quite some big/extensive maps, and spawned max monsters.


The best I can do with my old PC is just hope that none of the bots use the big boom
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby papercoffee » Sun Jul 21, 2019 9:47 pm

BadCorps wrote:
iSenSe wrote:It's weird i can't seem to reproduce this issue on our server with NW3.
i've chosen quite some big/extensive maps, and spawned max monsters.


The best I can do with my old PC is just hope that none of the bots use the big boom

What about disabling the big boom?
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
 
Posts: 9220
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: Got a Map?

Postby KillRoy1972 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:39 am

YOu can also turn of 'show decal' in the preference menu if that is the source of the problem..
User avatar
KillRoy1972
Average
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:37 pm

Re: Got a Map?

Postby Ubir4 » Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:49 pm

yes.
Ubir4
Novice
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 6:15 am
Location: Brazil
Personal rank: C12H16N2

Re: Got a Map?

Postby BadCorps » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:57 am

papercoffee wrote:
BadCorps wrote:
iSenSe wrote:It's weird i can't seem to reproduce this issue on our server with NW3.
i've chosen quite some big/extensive maps, and spawned max monsters.


The best I can do with my old PC is just hope that none of the bots use the big boom

What about disabling the big boom?


But where's the fun in that?
User avatar
BadCorps
Novice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Personal rank: Unholy

Re: Got a Map?

Postby Metalfist » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:13 am

Have you tried a fresh install and various renderers?
Image
User avatar
Metalfist
Masterful
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:54 pm
Personal rank: ^,..,^ rawr

Next

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests