Page 1 of 1

Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am
by Buggie
Exists any way for find all zones, even without actors?

For example few brushes make closed empty space and create zone, where no actors.
How can I find this zone?

Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.

If in zone exists any actor you can export map in t3d and look at ZoneNumber in output.
But if not...

I think about make a lot random dumb actors in space and dump all for t3d, for see ZoneNumber, but it need smart algorithm for place this actors.

Brutforce can not work.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:34 pm
by Chamberly
Have you searched for the zone using the search function?

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:44 pm
by Buggie
This zones do not have own ZoneInfo actor. Either any other actor in it. Usually it produced by bad intersection solid brushes or by semi-solid brush when built visibility zones.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm
by TexasGtar
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:44 pm
This zones do not have own ZoneInfo actor. Either any other actor in it. Usually it produced by bad intersection solid brushes or by semi-solid brush when built visibility zones.
This is probably not what you are asking, but...
there is button in editor that will color zones different colors. You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:06 pm
by sektor2111
Stats report ?
StatsReporting.PNG
StatsReporting.PNG (8.88 KiB) Viewed 151 times

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
by Buggie
TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm
You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.
As I say:
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am
Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.
-------
sektor2111 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:06 pm
Stats report ?
Only count here. But where its located?

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:25 pm
by TexasGtar
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm
You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.
As I say:
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am
Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.
-------

I didn't understand. Sorry, I understand now. I figured you knew that but was trying to help.
Are you trying to find the center point of a zone?
I think this topic is way above my expertise.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:40 pm
by Buggie
TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:25 pm
the center point of a zone
What is that? Is any zone has center which listed somewhere?

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:49 pm
by sektor2111
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
Only count here. But where its located?
In Build Options button, nearby Play Map ! button.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:55 pm
by Barbie
sektor2111 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:49 pm
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
Only count here. But where its located?
In Build Options button, nearby Play Map ! button.
He wants to know where the zones are, not the display location for the number of zones. ;o)

Some time ago I encountered a similar problem in map MH-Thra_Fortress. Some pillars created too many additional zones (see also thread MH-Thra_Fortress).

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:22 pm
by Buggie
Yep. Barbie right. I want know where is that additional zones on map.

Sometimes it is look like:
1. Build map without BSP checkbox (no optimization). Get 5 zones.
2. Build again with BSP checkbox. Get 8 zones. Whaaaat?
3. Export entire map to t3d, grep it - nothing. Only 5 zones used. Whaaaat?
4. Fly few hours in zone view with different angles...
5. If you lucky - notice/find additional zones. But if no...

-----

And best things is:
You have few parts of map. For example 3. not connected with each other.
You built each part separately and get zones count. With or without BSP checkbox does not matter because numbers is same.

Now You think, "I have 10 and 15 and 20 zones. So entire map will be 10 + 15 + 20 = 45 zones." Right?
You run build and get, for example, 53 zones. Whaaaat? :noidea

------

"Best" things happens when you have summ of zones is near 63 limit. For example, sum count zones is 59.
Build entire map and real count is 63, Which means overlapping. I run map and waterzone connected with usual zones.
I try grep zone numbers from t3d - all fine except some zone number not listed any actor and located in nowhere, so cause overflow of 63 zone and overlapping it.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 4:17 am
by Red_Fist
The answer is no, you have to fly through in zone view and punch holes with subtract brushes to make them one zone.

The other way is build maps that are not all overkill polys. Other zones can be one unit thick.

Also separate all brush polys and work on it like that first, then when you merge polys you will have gotten rid of more zones.

Then you can find other ones that are bigger to find than just slivers .

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 5:33 am
by Buggie
This answer not suit me.
Map not mine. So review all 7000+ brushes with 30000 Polys... :lol2: Not a option at all.