WIP - SLV Map

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
[did]Madis
Adept
Personal rank: カニはとても美味しい

WIP - SLV Map

Post by [did]Madis »

Creavion wrote:
Feralidragon wrote:
Creavion wrote:You're a great mapper to me, but please, just look at every gametype best maps, and you will see that even plain maps are great.
I am really sorry to say but even if I would make a funmap or instagib.. or a Monsterhunt map.. the visual aspects are very important to me. A minimum of graphics and details is a prerequisite.
I dont want to make compromise, it should be possible to juggle gameplay and graphics anywise.

I started to map for UT99 exclusively for the SLV mod. I've been into SLV for more than 5 years now, and I started practicing UED a little longer than a year ago. Sure, SLV, like RX I presume, requires quite low-detail maps because SLV is a mod that tends to lag a lot on even high end machines when the visible node count goes over 500-1000. At first that meant that I didn't have to put too much stress on the visual quality of my maps, but as I got more experience in UED I started to feel bad because the gametype I prefer limits the detail I can put into the game. I'd map for normal weapons or other mods, but since there isn't a site like NaliCity around anywhere where I'd really get some constructive criticism and look at others' maps, etc., I just have to make due without it.

However, I always do my best to make all my SLV maps as visually pleasing as possible. I know I'm an amateur and the gametype I prefer requires relatively simple, open-spaced and largely detail-less maps, but I still do whatever's possible to make my work look as pleasing to the eye as possible.

work-in-progress rom the ut-slv.com strangelove community mappack, but I believe that for the low amount of detail as possible I still managed to make it look decent. Or what do you think?
Support Nuclear Races by visiting our ModDB profile
Creavion
Godlike