Ruler/measurements

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Post Reply
User avatar
Vankuss
Experienced
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:35 pm

Ruler/measurements

Post by Vankuss » Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:42 pm

I heard that by clicking your middle-mouse, you can use the ruler in UnrealEd.
Well, that doesn't happen with me. Tried also with SHIFT, but nothing.

Let's say I want to measure the height of a cube in a side view, is there another way?

User avatar
Renegade
Adept
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 3:01 am
Personal rank: Vigilante
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Renegade » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:12 pm

Why would you need to do this? You created the cube didn't you?
Unless you're building off the grid, you should be able to tell a brushes height just by looking at it. If not, remember every square is 16 units, just do the math.
The grid is partitioned by thicker lines every 128 units. If you need to create a cube the same height as another, select the brush you want to copy and either right click and duplicate it, or select polygons --> to brush.

User avatar
Vankuss
Experienced
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:35 pm

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Vankuss » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:28 pm

I already knew of these methods.
But what about curved lines? What about diagonal lines?
A ruler would be very handy.

User avatar
Renegade
Adept
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 3:01 am
Personal rank: Vigilante
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Renegade » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:40 pm

Vankuss wrote:I already knew of these methods.
But what about curved lines? What about diagonal lines?
A ruler would be very handy.
You don't need to know their length. Use vertex editing.

User avatar
Vankuss
Experienced
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:35 pm

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Vankuss » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:45 pm

Renegade wrote: You don't need to know their length..
: l

Not to be a stupid, but what if I need? I have to count all the squares?

User avatar
Renegade
Adept
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 3:01 am
Personal rank: Vigilante
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Renegade » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:21 pm

If you can give me a specific situation in which you would need to know their length, I'll help you find a shortcut.
Do you need to duplicate a brush or add decoration? You can use vertex editing to get everything in place.

Also, when entering the size for a brush, you can place math operations in the height/breadth/width fields.
For example, if I need a cube to be 32 units shorter than another brush that is 256 units high, you can enter =256-32 in the height field.

Really, you'll find that after awhile of doing this, you can look at a brush in-game and tell how big it is. Kind of sad, really. :)

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9470
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by papercoffee » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:24 am

Renegade wrote: Also, when entering the size for a brush, you can place math operations in the height/breadth/width fields.
For example, if I need a cube to be 32 units shorter than another brush that is 256 units high, you can enter =256-32 in the height field.
What ...really? ...didn't know this.
I used every time the desktop calculator from wind'ohs ... :ironic2:

User avatar
Renegade
Adept
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 3:01 am
Personal rank: Vigilante
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Re: Ruler/measurements

Post by Renegade » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:32 pm

papercoffee wrote:
Renegade wrote: Also, when entering the size for a brush, you can place math operations in the height/breadth/width fields.
For example, if I need a cube to be 32 units shorter than another brush that is 256 units high, you can enter =256-32 in the height field.
What ...really? ...didn't know this.
I used every time the desktop calculator from wind'ohs ... :ironic2:
I did the same. UnrealSP has a UED tips thread that I lifted this tip from.
Really useful. Just remember to put an "=" sign in front of the operation.

Post Reply