Multiple skyboxes

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
User avatar
Xpress
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Unreal
Location: Cologne

Multiple skyboxes

Post by Xpress »

Hi, need someone to help me understand how to make 2 skyboxes work at the same time
Image
Image
marked with red skybox, I need only one of areas to be connected to another skybox
thank you
Higor
Godlike
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Higor »

In this case, impossible.
SkyBoxes are assigned by your current zone, not by polygon you're looking at.

You could assign that zone a different skybox where it has the different lower part (but same stars above) using special code...
Things get a little complicated if the default skybox is rotating.
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10443
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by papercoffee »

Build one skybox with a scenery for the above part and a scenery for the beneath part ...put the skyzone-info between those two sceneries.
Rotation can be faked with moving textures and meshes connected to timed mover
User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Chamberly »

I always thought it's possible. Multiple mh maps has shown it to me that it was possible so I gotta see on that.

Edit: Found this one!

http://www.angelmapper.com/gamedev/tuto ... eskies.htm
Last edited by Chamberly on Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?
Red_Fist
Godlike
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Red_Fist »

The only thing I gathered is the hi res, low res, by inserting two skybox zones.

Otherwise no other thing will work, but I like the upper lower scenery idea.
Binary Space Partitioning
JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3774
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by JackGriffin »

Wasn't there a multiple skybox mod floating around a couple of years back? If so I can conceive of a way to flag individual faces to render from the chosen skybox. That would make a really cool 3-D effect. Imagine playing a level in what appears to be a MASSIVE asteroid floating in a Saturn-like ring of thousands of them. You could render the small map to visually appear to be part of a much larger rock (skybox 1) then all the "sky" above it would be skybox 2 with a large revolving planet dominating the view (skybox 3). Match the blacks and you could get a seamless visual transformation.

Well, that's if multiple skyboxes are indeed possible.
So long, and thanks for all the fish
User avatar
FraGnBraG
Inhuman
Posts: 930
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:13 pm
Personal rank: Good news everyone!
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by FraGnBraG »

seriously guys? this is simple to do... i've done this many times :)

and there's no special code needed, just slick willy's multi-skyzone actor ...
fnb-multi-skys-Image3.jpg
fnb-multi-skys-Image2.jpg
Cheers
-=FraGnBraG Level Design=- ***UPDATED! even works on your phone!***
Higor
Godlike
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Higor »

Whops!
My case (skybox assigned to player zone) should only apply if the surface has the 'Force View Zone' flag, otherwise they indeed render the skybox corresponding to the zone the face belongs to.
Anyone wants to try if Fake Backdrop + Force View Zone indeed achieves said funky effect?
Loose Cannon
Skilled
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:17 am

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Loose Cannon »

Bumping an old thread to figure out how to do this. Anybody know about the actor that fragnbrag is talking about or how to get it?
User avatar
editor Dave
Inhuman
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:40 pm
Personal rank: Passionate SP Mapper
Location: Germany/Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by editor Dave »

Create a new ZoneInfo class and paste this in here:

Code: Select all

//=============================================================================
// MultiSkyZoneInfo.
// by Steve Nabors
//
// www.planetunreal.com/slick
// slickWilly@planetunreal.com
//
// To use just create your skyboxes and give them each their own
// SkyZoneInfo.  When you place your SkyZoneInfo,  give it a tag name.
//
// Now place this zoneinfo in place of the normal ZoneInfo actor in
// the parts of the map where you have Fake BackDrops.
// You can use this ZoneInfo in place of any normal zone or any of the
// Liquid zones like Water and Lava.  It can't be used in place
// of any scripted zones like the NitrogenZone, VacuumZone, PressureZone,
// etc.  Liquid zones have no special code other than the default
// zoneinfo settings have been changed for you.  You can in reality
// take a normal zoneinfo and change it into a water, Lava, Tar zone
// just by adjusting the settings.
//
// Once you place this ZoneInfo in your level you will give it the
// the name of the skybox tag in it's event tag.  In the 2d view you
// will then see a link line to your skyzoneinfo.  Once linked up
// all fakebackdrop textures in the zone with this actor will point
// to the proper skybox info.  
//
//=============================================================================

class MultiSkyZoneInfo expands ZoneInfo;

simulated function LinkToSkybox()
{
	local skyzoneinfo Sky;

	Super.LinkToSkybox();

	foreach AllActors( class 'SkyZoneInfo', Sky, Event )
	{
		SkyZone = Sky;
	}
}
All explanations are written within already!
Image
10-Year Anniversary on Jun 08, 2019.
User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Chamberly »

Loose Cannon wrote:Bumping an old thread to figure out how to do this. Anybody know about the actor that fragnbrag is talking about or how to get it?
Have you seen the link I posted?
Image
Image
Image Edit: Why does my sig not work anymore?
Loose Cannon
Skilled
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:17 am

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Loose Cannon »

Chamberly,

Yes I did see it. Couldn't seem to get it to work. Downloaded the sample map, but couldn't open it as it was .ut2 file.
SC]-[WARTZ_{HoF}
Adept
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by SC]-[WARTZ_{HoF} »

It's because the sample map was designed for UT2004.
Image
Image
Image
Loose Cannon
Skilled
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:17 am

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by Loose Cannon »

If it's designed for UT 2004 will that info work for UT99?

Editor Dave, I'm working on your info. Tried it and got a huge BSP issue. I'll try to play around with it more over the weekend when I have more time. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks!
User avatar
editor Dave
Inhuman
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:40 pm
Personal rank: Passionate SP Mapper
Location: Germany/Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Post by editor Dave »

Hm, I've never had a BSP issue because of the actor itself, I mean it can't affect the BSP in any way. :lol2: Make sure that all of your zones are really seperated and have different colors in the Zone/Portal view. And maybe place the skyboxes far away from your main geometry so they can't interfere or be interfered with anything. Or maybe you forgot to compile the new actor? That is important, too.
Image
10-Year Anniversary on Jun 08, 2019.
Post Reply