Creating message mutator

Lessons and tutorials about mods and maps
piazon79
Novice

Creating message mutator

Post by piazon79 »

Hello,

I am trying to create a simple mutator that takes a wav file and plays the sound byte when a user types a certain word in the chat. For example when a player types "hello" in chat it plays a sound byte.

I'm importing my wav file like this:
#exec AUDIO IMPORT FILE="Sounds\hi_0.wav" NAME="hi_0" GROUP="Taunts"

But i can't figure out how to actually get it to play when the user types "hi" or "hello". I'm new to unreal script and I have searched all over the internet for assistance but nothing that I can find that relates to this. I know this is possible, I have the MOZMessages mutator but I'm trying to create my own sounds.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!
JackGriffin
Godlike
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Creating message mutator

Post by JackGriffin »

Post over at House of Fool's forum: https://hofgamingclan.com/forums/
The head guy there is a voice pack fanatic and they use 'zounds' type sound mods on their servers. I wouldn't be surprised if they weren't written by him.
So long, and thanks for all the fish
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike

Post by PrinceOfFunky »

piazon79 wrote:Hello,

I am trying to create a simple mutator that takes a wav file and plays the sound byte when a user types a certain word in the chat. For example when a player types "hello" in chat it plays a sound byte.

I'm importing my wav file like this:
#exec AUDIO IMPORT FILE="Sounds\hi_0.wav" NAME="hi_0" GROUP="Taunts"

But i can't figure out how to actually get it to play when the user types "hi" or "hello". I'm new to unreal script and I have searched all over the internet for assistance but nothing that I can find that relates to this. I know this is possible, I have the MOZMessages mutator but I'm trying to create my own sounds.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!