Fix UMake for two monitor usage

External tools, software and sites for creating or editing UT99 resources.
dot
Average
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:41 am

Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by dot » Mon Nov 05, 2018 5:29 am

I use two monitors then I have two screens. UMake open on Desktop center, not Screen center. It is mean half window on one monitor, half on second. Very annoying,
I fix it. Now UMake opened on Screen center.
All other stay same.

Info about this tool and original version, can be found here: http://mb.link-m.de/umake/

Umake v1.1 fixed:
UMake-1-1.zip
(263.03 KiB) Downloaded 53 times

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:29 am

I'll be damned....

A few days ago I had a pretty lengthy discussion on the Discord about UMake doing this very thing but I didn't realize it was multi-monitor causing it until this morning. One of my monitors went out and as soon as I disconnected it UMake worked right again. Your updated build no longer has this bug? If so then that's great news.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

User avatar
~{kRiD}~
Average
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:26 pm

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by ~{kRiD}~ » Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:02 am

never had this issue but i LOVE UMake so i'm going to snatch this up just in case because i run 3 monitors so it's probably bound to happen at some time!
Image

dot
Average
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:41 am

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by dot » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:28 am

JackGriffin wrote:Your updated build no longer has this bug?
Yep.
~{kRiD}~ wrote:because i run 3 monitors
Then previously UMake must open only in center 2 monitor. Fixed version must open in center of the current screen.

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:55 pm

Confirmed fixed. I bought a new monitor last night, problem returned. Overwrote with dot's new exe and it worked perfectly.

Now, I can't figure out why porn pages keep popping up and my antivirus keeps coming on. I'll just turn it off... <-THIS IS CLEARLY A JOKE :mrgreen:
Last edited by JackGriffin on Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 1769
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by Barbie » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:17 pm

JackGriffin wrote:Now, I can't figure out why porn pages keep popping up and my antivirus keeps coming on.
If that is a joke, please make it clear. VirusTotal does not tell so. From VirusTotal's details section only the resource part (.rsrc) has been changed in comparison to the original UMake.exe (CRC32: DA99BF2B), but not the code section.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:02 pm

I can't tell if you are trolling me back or not. Well done.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

User avatar
~{kRiD}~
Average
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:26 pm

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by ~{kRiD}~ » Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:12 pm

actually no, i have it in far left desktop window, never had a issue with it?Image
Image

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:43 pm

It may be that it tries to center on the middle of the two monitor setup and so it renders at the very edge of the screen (the middle of the two monitors). Three may not have this problem because the center is in the middle of the middle screen anyway. Regardless the update fixed the dual monitor issue and I'm quite happy about that. It's very aggravating to have to drag that window on every compile.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

dot
Average
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:41 am

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by dot » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:00 pm

~{kRiD}~ wrote:actually no, i have it in far left desktop window, never had a issue with it?
Because your desktop not have same height for all screens. Look like for this case Delphi calculate Desktop center as Screen center in your first screen.
I have dual screens with same height and original UMake have issue.

User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5164
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by Feralidragon » Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:52 pm

@JackGriffin: I just want to mention that:
JackGriffin wrote:Now, I can't figure out why porn pages keep popping up and my antivirus keeps coming on.
was actually ambiguous as a joke, hence:
Barbie wrote:If that is a joke, please make it clear. VirusTotal does not tell so. From VirusTotal's details section only the resource part (.rsrc) has been changed in comparison to the original UMake.exe (CRC32: DA99BF2B), but not the code section.
I would suggest the usage of the proper emotes or the proper abbreviations, such as "/jk" to mean a "joke", or just a text, even if a small one with "(just kidding)". :)
Otherwise depending on the person, some will see it as a joke, others will not and mistrust this user for no reason.

And in my opinion there are some jokes which are better off not making, because of the consequences if it's not clearly understood as such.

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:51 pm

Fixed. I forget sometimes that we are all high-functioning autistics that add "literally" to the end of everything. I'm not giving up on humor though, I'm just not very good at it.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 9520
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by papercoffee » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:39 am

JackGriffin wrote:I'm not giving up on humor though, I'm just not very good at it.
Welcome to the club. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5164
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by Feralidragon » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:08 am

JackGriffin wrote:Fixed. I forget sometimes that we are all high-functioning autistics that add "literally" to the end of everything. I'm not giving up on humor though, I'm just not very good at it.
The main issue is that you cannot convey tone over a written message, generally speaking, that's why things like notes, remarks and emotes exist.
I knew you were joking because I know you, but otherwise it would be ambiguous to me as well and wouldn't really be able to tell if you were joking.

Just convey the right tone using the existing emotes, expressions and such, and you won't have problems with people not getting your humor. :thuup:

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Fix UMake for two monitor usage

Post by JackGriffin » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:39 am

Yeah, that mistake is totally on me. I told you I have a problem with humor. Things I find really funny no one else gets. My personality is 10% Asperger's :noidea

Better make that 15.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

Post Reply