Cache Cleaner 3 problems?

External tools, software and sites for creating or editing UT99 resources.
[OMA]Bite_Me
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:46 am

Cache Cleaner 3 problems?

Post by [OMA]Bite_Me » Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:13 am

Hi all,
Ever since the last 6 months or so, cache cleaner is not working properly. When i open it I get a box that says I need to point it to the UT root folder. Previously this was never needed, or at least I did it once and it remembered. Now that won't stick and happens every time I open CC3. I also need to point it to the cache folder once I set the root.

Any info would be appreciated

thanks

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2393
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Cache Cleaner 3 problems?

Post by Barbie » Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:56 am

That program is at the level of the last century: it writes its configuration data to HKLM key in the registry:
UTCacheCleaner3-RegEntries.jpeg
Usually normal users don't have write access there.

Solutions:
1) Run that program once as Administrator and set the path.
2) Add the registry key manually (as Administrator).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3332
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK

Re: Cache Cleaner 3 problems?

Post by Dr.Flay » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:08 am

Xbrowser has a built-in cache cleaner so you can actually do it in UT.
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=3284

[OMA]Bite_Me
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:46 am

Re: Cache Cleaner 3 problems?

Post by [OMA]Bite_Me » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:28 am

Thanks for that Barbie and Dr. Flay!

Barbie, can you tell me what registry to add?

I assume it's the cache directory one in your pic and i put in the correct path to my cache folder?