fix broken playerface D3D crash patch

Search, find and discuss about Mutators!
UT99.org

fix broken playerface D3D crash patch

Post by UT99.org »

billybill wrote:OK guys so the bug crashes anyone with the old direct3d renderer with the error of insufficient midmaps.

Before this there are 2 fixes:

1. something that stops them using the crash skin by changing them to something when they enter, then something else that prevents them changing skin mid-game I don't know what that is, probably pure

2. running a timer to check all peoples skins on a regular interval, lagging the server

So insuffient midmaps means there are midmaps missing, can we add a bunch of fake ones or what? I am kinda new to skinning

Instructions: Replace texture file on server

Link: https://anonfiles.com/file/f4f021e70f98 ... 0ce53b4b88

Testing: Add
Object=(Name=SoldierSkins.Gard4Ivan,Class=Texture,Description="Ivan")
to Soldierskins.int (not sure if it has to be under metal guard) and say something in the server
Last edited by UT99.org on Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:31 am, edited 3 times in total.
UT99.org

Re: trying to fix crash skin

Post by UT99.org »

UT99.org

Post by UT99.org »

billybill wrote:Yes thats right that is the number 2 I mentioned. Running any repetitive timer like that checking anything is really not a good idea, events are one thing but timers they really impact gameplay. Sure a timer that runs 1 time with a drawn out interval isn't going to have a huge impact but we're looking for a way around this. thanks anyway, at least you didn't post the one that bans them! my god that is rife for abuse. considering that sending a player to another server with the skin of your choice doesn't even require a downloaded file