new modem

Discussions about everything else

new modem

Postby rjmno1 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:02 pm

Today i did a call with mine isp, my modem is to old and there where new types of modems availeble for mine new hardware.
The old modem is like more then 6 years old and now il getting a new one from mine isp.
The download speed was tested on http://www.fast.com, and mine old modem was a very fast downlooad speed at 6 megabit\second.
Wich is very slow.
When i install the new hardware i will let you know what the download speed is from mine new modem.
Where are your modem dou you use it for home or work wich isp do you have and how fast is your up and download connection?
Website testing download speed.:

https://fast.com/nl/


Hope this new one is faster then i have already.
what is your download speed, and wich connection do you have?adsl,kabel , t1,glassfiber discussion. :rock:
greetz:rjmno1
User avatar
rjmno1
Adept
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull

Re: new modem

Postby sektor2111 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 10:07 pm

Factors which I take in account:
- if that speed is happily announced by ISP I would do some test for figuring if is for real - sometimes are lies depending on ISP and featured Network capabilities;
- given previous probably useless speed advertising, I prefer a STABLE connection rather than a high speed with spikes.

We have here some options but somewhere in announcement colored paper, with small small letters is being written at bottom "speed is not guaranteed all time". A sort of mask for a lousy dumbness. IF you Cannot DO what You have promised, YOU, THAT ISP are a scammer and an ass full of farts greed for earning money and not servicing properly customers.

These "awesome" adverts sometimes might be very disappointing.

Also Speed testing is not that much relevant, it depends on user tester and server where are both of them located - speed is influenced by Ping because of time spent for packets negotiation - see some docs related to TCPIPOptimizer tool - everything has a logic explanation there, more factors are involved, no worries, without tweaks a server far away will not pump you with full speed as the customer placed very nearby, regarding to your great ISP.
Signature location.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 2318
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: Into personal private location.
Personal rank: 0.11

Re: new modem

Postby Carbon » Fri Mar 17, 2017 10:57 pm

32 Mb/s which is slow for my connection but the test is hosted by Netflix in NL, so yeah.

Vladivostok (Russia): Image

Shenyang (China): Image

Tokyo: Image

LA (US): Image

Too many variables, as sektor said.
User avatar
Carbon
Masterful
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: new modem

Postby rjmno1 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:03 pm

Well thats a very fast connection they did gave me the wrong modem also becouse there is a newer version on the market,and i,m not statifeit with it.
I have now by fast a 4,9 mb download and a 1,8 upload.It even slower then the former modem. :roll:
They gave me a version 9 modem when version 10 is just out.
I,m gonna call mine isp and want the new modem.
Just did install it and slower damn they are wrong whi dont they gave me mine newer version.
Last edited by rjmno1 on Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
rjmno1
Adept
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull

Re: new modem

Postby Dr.Flay » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:02 pm

You have not said what speed you are paying for.
How fast is the account supposed to be ? If what you are getting is a lot lower then you need to tell the ISP to fix that problem, or reduce the amount you are paying to match their ability to deliver.

Are you using Wifi or a cable ? (always test using a cable)
Normally if you want a faster connection, you pay for a different account with a higher speed.

A newer "Router" (it is not a modem) will not necessarily give you faster speeds, unless the router is rated for higher speeds and your ISP give you more.
What you probably have is a safer router, but no faster, and the 1 revision higher model may just be a newer ROM which you can update to anyway.

You may need to wait for a few hours and compare speeds. Network conditions vary at different times of day.

I have recommended the replacement network driver "cFos Speed" many times to help create a more stable connection which is often faster.
Stability as already pointed out, is far more desirable.

1) Look for a Flash update option.
2) See how it behaves over the next day
3) If it is no better, try cFos Speed (1 month trial), and if it improves things enough buy it (I think it is about 15 €)

For anyone else wondering "Should I get a new router?" I advise that you use the "RouterCheck" mobile app (Android only), and see if it helps to encourage you that safety is more important than speed.
http://www.routercheck.com
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Site Staff
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Location: Kernow, UK
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist

Re: new modem

Postby rjmno1 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:43 pm

I have the lowest speed package and did indeed called the isp and he did say that they are using diferent cables rounded cables and i,m using a flat cable.
I,m using wifi ,and he said that the modem must be installed short as possible near mine Phone connection because of the lost of the cables...
Maby the cable is the sulution.but the Phone connection is in the hall maby new cables are the solution for mine problem.

some pictures of mine new modem:
front
Image


back

Image

left goes the Phone cable marked dsl and other cables are for the tv set top box and the computer, market 1 ,2,3 and 4. :tu:
User avatar
rjmno1
Adept
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull

Re: new modem

Postby Dr.Flay » Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:49 am

Speed tests over wifi are not valid to see your internet speed.
You are testing your wifi connection.

Try to borrow a cable or temporarily move the PC close to the router to test the internet speed.
You may need to change the channel your wifi is on if it is clashing with other routers nearby.

Find the hot and cold Wifi spots, and where you overlap with the neighbours.
Android
http://a.farproc.com/wifi-analyzer
Windows
https://www.ekahau.com/products/heatmapper/overview/
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Site Staff
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Location: Kernow, UK
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist

Re: new modem

Postby sektor2111 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:17 am

Ops, I forgot another factor - yeah, that one looks important.

When I was testing the smoother connection I used... 3 machines. Amazingly, tests are not identical from a machine to another, It depends of stuff running and OS type install. A common Win Install using "whore style" Next - Next - Next - will never help. OS is installing all sort of useless services. Even if you intend to have temporary sharing files hosting, some net services added are pointless. To tell you something as a matter of fact, an old machine using IDE drives loads OS faster than a "newer" using SATA drives, yeah read again. My PIV systems are booting slower than a stupid Athlon from Ice Age because they need new stuff (drivers in cause) to load and initialize which is time consuming, not to mention their featured 1000 Mbit Netcard which always returned a bigger ping than a 100 MBit Intel Netcard. Yes, at processing they are moving well, but not in all instances. Speaking about a client User with less load and rights which usually loads stuff faster than Admin account.

To summarize, without using more hardware for figuring some results, a single machine (with problems maybe) is irrelevant. Post a ScreenShot with TaskManager with all processes loaded.
Signature location.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 2318
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: Into personal private location.
Personal rank: 0.11

Re: new modem

Postby Carbon » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:54 pm

Gotta love local speed tests... :P

Image
User avatar
Carbon
Masterful
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: new modem

Postby papercoffee » Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:03 pm

Carbon wrote:Gotta love local speed tests... :P

You can take your speed test and stick it where the sun never shines. :mrgreen:

I'm so envious! :sad2: Here in Germany do they still try to market UMTS. :wth:
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
 
Posts: 7680
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: new modem

Postby rjmno1 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:55 pm

well i have to first tryout the rounded cables.
I can not install the modem in the hallway because then i have to make the computer connections treu the wall and damage the wall alot.
I just dont have the connection in the livingroom {thats the whole problem of the modem connection}.
I,m stock with a 5 or 6 meter cable till computer because the uplink is in the hallway or the Phone connection hardware.
User avatar
rjmno1
Adept
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull

Re: new modem

Postby Carbon » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:07 pm

papercoffee wrote:
Carbon wrote:Gotta love local speed tests... :P

You can take your speed test and stick it where the sun never shines. :mrgreen:


It's local mate, so it doesn't mean much....heck, the server is probably around the corner! :lol:
User avatar
Carbon
Masterful
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm
Personal rank: Hoarder.

Re: new modem

Postby rjmno1 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:18 pm

Dr.Flay wrote:Speed tests over wifi are not valid to see your internet speed.
You are testing your wifi connection.

Try to borrow a cable or temporarily move the PC close to the router to test the internet speed.
You may need to change the channel your wifi is on if it is clashing with other routers nearby.

Find the hot and cold Wifi spots, and where you overlap with the neighbours.
Android
http://a.farproc.com/wifi-analyzer
Windows
https://www.ekahau.com/products/heatmapper/overview/


Yes i have only wifi connection and no ethernet.
I think the cable is broken and need a new recplacement for that.
Tomorow i will go to the hardware store and buy a new one.
I need a round telephone cable for 4,5 meter long.
I wil, post you guys up to date with mine new hardware settings. :agree1:
User avatar
rjmno1
Adept
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull

Re: new modem

Postby Red_Fist » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:18 pm

I only ever go for hard wired things for computers, or any electronics.

See if you can use Ethernet cable and not wireless
Binary Space Partitioning
Red_Fist
Inhuman
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am


Return to Misc | Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests