Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely black]

Discussions about everything else

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby UT Sniper (SJA94) » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:14 pm

If it's too bright change this line's value.

Try 0.30000, for example.

[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
RefreshRate=75
DetailTextures=False
UseTrilinear=False
UseS3TC=True
UseTNT=False
LODBias=0.000000
UseMultiTexture=True
UsePalette=False
UseAlphaPalette=False
Translucency=0
VolumetricLighting=False
ShinySurfaces=False
Coronas=False
HighDetailActors=False
MaxAnisotropy=0
Alwaysmap=0
UsePrecache=False
SupportsLazyTextures=0
SwapInterval=0
GammaOffset=1.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
TruFormMinVertices=0
TruFormTessellation=3
UseTruForm=False
ZRangeHack=False
AAFilterHint=0
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
MaskedTextureHack=False
FrameRateLimit=0
UseVertexProgram=False
UseCVA=False
UseMultiDrawArrays=False
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
CacheStaticMaps=False
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE=True
BufferTileQuads=False
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=False
SinglePassFog=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=True
DetailMax=0
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
NoMaskedS3TC=False
Use16BitTextures=False
AutoGenerateMipmaps=False
AlwaysMipmap=False
ShareLists=False
UseBGRATextures=True
UseZTrick=False
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=False
GammaCorrectScreenshots=True
DescFlags=0
Description=
Find the Latest player inis https://ooper.000webhostapp.com/ut/newinis/ (2019 version)
My latest UT themed game Spawn Killer 4 Game
User avatar
UT Sniper (SJA94)
Adept
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: England
Personal rank: noob programmer

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby MEAT » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:29 pm

Will do.
Shadows are still way off but I just need to do some fine tuning.
Play around with my UTGLR Settings. (thx Chamberly)
Image
User avatar
MEAT
Skilled
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:14 am
Personal rank: better then you...

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby Chamberly » Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:14 pm

Roger that. Glad to see the brightness issue was fixed.

About the server/restart part, maybe the server was holding your .ini locked down so when you try to make changes awhile it's running, it won't keep the change. That's why a lot of instructions for servers say if you are going to make any changes, you have to shut it down to apply the changes.

What I was thinking is probably the .ini didn't have ALL of the settings and perhap the default was still sticking around until the added info for the changes came in to take effect.

So yes, GammaOffset=0.200000 will make it un-superbright lol.

& I got your message. ;) Gotcha.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: TN, USA
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby MEAT » Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:05 am

Being that this was my player setup I'm guessing there is no need to adjust my server setup.
Still need to play around with it but visuals are looking better.
I can see the light !!!
Image
User avatar
MEAT
Skilled
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:14 am
Personal rank: better then you...

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby Dr.Flay » Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:08 am

Until you use the render settings via the advanced options window (type "preferences" in the console), or open it via the menu option in UEd, you will still have any old entries or invalid new ones.
Changing any of the settings this way will update your ini with any missing switches.
Changes made this way are also "live" so if you have the game on pause, and can see the map rather than the UT desktop, you will see brightness levels and texture qualities etc. change as you watch.
A few settings will require you to swap between fullscreen an windowed mode to see a difference.
(No more guesswork).

My tip for upgrading to a new video or audio renderer.
Delete the original entry in the ini, then access the advanced options renderer settings.
You will now have a brand new set of renderer settings at the end of the UT ini.
Copy this info to your "Default.ini"
OpenGL settings may also be worth copying to "OpenGlDrv.ini" but I believe the new renderers may not use that file any more.

Once you have done this, you can use the built-in "defaults" buttons in the advanced options window any time you mess things up.

Tip No 2:
Once you are happy with the most reliable settings, it is worth overwriting the entry in the defaults file, so you can continue experimenting, but reset to something sensible for your PC.

Finally, if you have any problem with those renderers or find a bug, forget it.
Those renderers are several years old and development was officially handed to OldUnreal, where newer bug-fixes and updates have been done.
See this thread for info viewtopic.php?f=15&t=4569&start=0
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
 
Posts: 3194
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Location: Kernow, UK
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby MEAT » Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:29 am

Roger and will do... :tu:
Image
User avatar
MEAT
Skilled
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:14 am
Personal rank: better then you...

Re: Somebody lite a match [my screen is almost completely bl

Postby MEAT » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:20 pm

I have also been playing around with Direct3D9 rendering.
The results are pretty good.
Image
User avatar
MEAT
Skilled
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:14 am
Personal rank: better then you...

Previous

Return to Misc | Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests