DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!

DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:47 pm

Alright! here it is! The DM map for the contest.

DM-CMC-Constantine-v6.7z
Small fixes
(2.77 MiB) Downloaded 131 times



Update:
Spoiler: show
====v6====
Fixed a missing BSP block on one of the railings in the ramp room.

Deleted a missed/unused subtract brush.

Fixed some textures on un-noticeable surfaces.
====v5=====
Fixed the Screenshot for the map.

Deleted a renegade light known as "light51"

Changed one of the ammo at the rocket to a rocketpack.

There shoulden't be any issues with placement. Just check in editor if you don't believe me.


I really hope there is no such map that exists. I did a quick search online and didn't catch any hits.


Spent a long while putting this together. Let me know how it flows for you.


Max 8 player starts but I don't recommend Playing with more than 6. The map gets eaten of it's ammo and weapons too fast that way.

Bots work 99,9%. Did a bunch of tests. Hoping the bugs are fixed.


Shots:
Spoiler: show
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Last edited by SilverSound on Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:21 am, edited 9 times in total.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby Terraniux » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:21 am

Cant start the map, see attach, check your 512x textures to be sure they have mipmaps checked...
Attachments
error.jpg
error
error.jpg (46.4 KiB) Viewed 1971 times
Terraniux
Masterful
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby papercoffee » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:34 am

No screenshots, no service.

C'mon Silver give this post some love and show some shots.
Btw. the contes rules say that you have to post your submission to the official contest thread.
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
 
Posts: 9206
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:38 am

Terraniux wrote:Cant start the map, see attach, check your 512x textures to be sure they have mipmaps checked...


What texture...? There are none that are that size that aren't default packages.

There's no way the MAP SS for the preview needs mipmaps.
It's not even placed on the map....oh wait......



EDIT: I should have fixed it. I overlooked the contest logo being large. (even though it was 256x256) Just forgot mipmaps.

Going to post the file to the thread instead.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby OjitroC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:48 am

Terraniux wrote:Cant start the map, see attach, check your 512x textures to be sure they have mipmaps checked...

I think that's due to your renderer, which is very old!. The map loads fine for me.

Cool map - you need to look at the ammo pickups though (perhaps you didn't read through the ChaosUT Issues thread?)

With ChaosUT set to replace UT weapons/ammo, the UtilityGun ammo is buried in the floor and the log indicates
Spoiler: show
Log: ExpArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: ArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: PoisonArrowPack1 fell out of the world!
Log: ExpArrowPack2 fell out of the world!
Log: ArrowPack2 fell out of the world!
Log: PoisonArrowPack2 fell out of the world!

With ChaosUT set to cycle weapons/ammo - the log records
Spoiler: show
Log: ExpArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: ShockCore2 fell out of the world!
Log: ExpArrowPack1 fell out of the world!
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby papercoffee » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:52 am

The odd thing is ...I had never experienced any problems with ChaosUT and pick ups.
Instead I had a buried Ripper in some maps. :noidea
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
 
Posts: 9206
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby OjitroC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:59 am

papercoffee wrote:The odd thing is ...I had never experienced any problems with ChaosUT and pick ups.

Did you check the log after playing each map?

What about this map?
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:04 am

OjitroC wrote:
Terraniux wrote:Cant start the map, see attach, check your 512x textures to be sure they have mipmaps checked...

I think that's due to your renderer, which is very old!. The map loads fine for me.

Cool map - you need to look at the ammo pickups though (perhaps you didn't read through the ChaosUT Issues thread?)

With ChaosUT set to replace UT weapons/ammo, the UtilityGun ammo is buried in the floor and the log indicates
Spoiler: show
Log: ExpArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: ArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: PoisonArrowPack1 fell out of the world!
Log: ExpArrowPack2 fell out of the world!
Log: ArrowPack2 fell out of the world!
Log: PoisonArrowPack2 fell out of the world!

With ChaosUT set to cycle weapons/ammo - the log records
Spoiler: show
Log: ExpArrowPack0 fell out of the world!
Log: ShockCore2 fell out of the world!
Log: ExpArrowPack1 fell out of the world!



That would explain the issues with bots. I thought Ued just double pathed the weapons. But I didn't experience any of this. The ammo shoulden't fall at all.

Regardless I'll move all the pickups up a unit to fix this.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby OjitroC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:12 am

SilverSound wrote: Regardless I'll move all the pickups up a unit to fix this.

Have a look in that thread and you'll see that the crossbow and UtilityGun ammo (and the shock core when the ammo cycles) have a negative Z LocationOffset, which acounts for the ammo falling out of the world or being buried in the floor. Don't know whether one unit is sufficient though.

You'll only experience it if you look in the UT log.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby Terraniux » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:18 am

OjitroC wrote:
Terraniux wrote:Cant start the map, see attach, check your 512x textures to be sure they have mipmaps checked...

I think that's due to your renderer, which is very old!. The map loads fine for me.



Don't get me wrong, but that's kinda insulting to me and the game itself, I'm using a fresh installed UTGOTY v436 edition, all other games on my pc are using DX11 and higher?.....

You can not expect everyone to use the latest renderer. Every map should be compatible with everything that comes stock with UT.
Terraniux
Masterful
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:19 am

I re-uploaded the file. Hope that fixes your issue. I do agree that things should run regardless of render.

It's just I won't find issues like that because I use modern render settings.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby Terraniux » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:30 am

Nope, still doesn't work, same error. I will try again tomorrow. There is no haste/
Terraniux
Masterful
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:39 am

Terraniux wrote:Nope, still doesn't work, same error. I will try again tomorrow. There is no haste/



I am sorry there is no other texture that could possibly actually cause that error. I only have one more try, but the SS should NOT be the cause.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby OjitroC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:42 am

Terraniux wrote: You can not expect everyone to use the latest renderer. Every map should be compatible with everything that comes stock with UT.

With respect (and, of course, I did not intend to insult you), renderers are updated for a reason - to improve them. If you use a later renderer you will get a better experience (and won't have the problem you just had) - I'm not using the latest D3D either, for various reasons, but I have certainly updated it from the original D3D and everything in the game looks better.

I also switch to OpenGL sometimes because some maps actually do need it (otherwise I get flickering textures, etc).

Terraniux wrote:Nope, still doesn't work, same error. I will try again tomorrow. There is no haste/

Do a search of this forum as I am sure there are threads dealing with the problem you are encountering (but, like I say, it's to do with your renderer).
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: DM-CMC-Constantine (contest '17)

Postby SilverSound » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:45 am

The ScreenShot didn't have mipmaps. I didn't see that in the error. But it's extreamly stupid that that is the case. SS's don't Need mipmaps.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Location: St. Cloud, Florida
Personal rank: Curious

Next

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests