ChaosUT - MH adds - Generation 3

Need some nice Mods? Here, you are right!
User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Personal rank: Curious
Location: St. Cloud, Florida

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by SilverSound » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:40 am

I encountered a weird bug with the explosive arrows and a zone portal. Seems they don't like one another. Just load up my contest map, and try shooting some explosive arrows through. Make sure you try both sides.


I found that the arrow gets stuck during travel. It arrow just sticks there flying forever. It also never de-spawned....I don't have info on if it was visible for other players or not. I'll have to ask the bud I was playing with to see if he remembers.

This was on netplay.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:56 am

Try DispersionPistol through a warp... or even OldPistol from MH/OldSkool. Not everything from server do works in client in the same way. It's about Net deals and Engine's capabilities of "saving net resources". By changing some default properties of those projectiles I'm not convinced that player using original Chaos will have great things. I will have to see LifeSpan of arrows anyway. It's good that you have figured these.
OjitroC wrote:It's not a very big mine though :P :P
Perhaps 5 points damage is relevant ?

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:27 pm

Bump Time
Tester volunteers required.
I see that things went a bit improved, before to have a Generation 3 it might be wise to check things without a public release in the first stage. If stuff works properly - or closer to properly - arrows have a default untouched 140 LifeSpan, I'm not sure if these need some change but these are doable if are badly disturbing gaming ground, we can speak about some UPDATE shared in public stage.

I'll drop into a shared place this thing for tests coming with an extra mutator used as replacement for Chaos 1.1 mutator it is called like "...1.1 revised Gen3" - EChaos.u (original mutator is in package not that changed). Hit me with a PM and I'll setup a link for anyone interested.

User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Personal rank: Curious
Location: St. Cloud, Florida

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by SilverSound » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:37 pm

I'm up for some testing. Just give me some specifications you want. I have several installs. 1 has XC_engine. Other is GOTY base with updated chaos.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:22 pm

XC_Engine is an option here, not a must else a conformed update is not compatible. The file for update is ChaosUT.u having weaponry and some settings. Ignition is fired from another mutator not from Chaos, this is able to negotiate with Chaos but Chaos doesn't need it as a device. Replacements are done different not like Chaos does, this is one problem that I think is mainly solved - of course maps with buried items by default are trash as they are, there is nothing that much to do there...

Edit: You have a link in PM. See Botyman3 in original chaos v1.1 and this one...

User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Personal rank: Curious
Location: St. Cloud, Florida

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by SilverSound » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:24 pm

Bots seem fine so far. Only tested one map at the moment. But I came back to report an error:

Code: Select all

ScriptWarning: CUTSG DM-Deck16][.CUTSG1 (Function ChaosUT.CUTSG.RenderOverlays:024E) Accessed None


Is spammed in my logs. Not sure it matters. I was spectating a bot running around. Single bot.

Botyman worked fine also. Other oddity's are that sniper ammo is a little too high in the air. Almost head height.

Ammo no longer falls on map start. So that's good.


Not much else to say yet. Have to do some tests on this with out XC_engine also.

I'll edit post with more info later.

EDIT: Just watched a bot NOT shoot the CUTSG at all. Possible issue? Bot didn't fire a shot. (seems to have been a one time thing?)

Logs just shout that same access none.

Code: Select all

ScriptWarning: CUTSG DM-Deck16][.CUTSG1 (Function ChaosUT.CUTSG.RenderOverlays:024E) Accessed None
This is with all the variants of the gun. There is an access none for each ID.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."

User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 6456
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by EvilGrins » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:11 am

SilverSound wrote:I found that the arrow gets stuck during travel. It arrow just sticks there flying forever
Dispersion ammo does the same thing in water. It's more gradual, but it eventually slows down until it stops moving and it won't explode.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:44 am

That render I'm not sure if can be properly solved if client uses old mod, it's client side so client will execute exactly what has in System... else you have spectated Bot, which usually in servers as player you cannot do that (this means is cheating).
Somehow worth a check there...

Edit:
Update done - now is probably more clean - "PlayerPawn" specific things will happen mainly for PlayerPawn.
Ammo seems fine - I'm not sure if I need to bug them again - Bot can collect them because InventorySpot is not screwed. It was a DeckXX test even spectating some Bot...

User avatar
SilverSound
Adept
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:12 am
Personal rank: Curious
Location: St. Cloud, Florida

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by SilverSound » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:56 pm

Other than that, I ran into no issues at all. Bots acted fine. Weapons had no issues. Ammo was no longer falling. Seems fixed on an obvious side. There might be some other things to go over.



Should get more than one tester on here though.
"Woah what?! I wish I was recording that...."

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:48 pm

Oh well, let's see which any one else wants a sort of "Chaos" for testing. After releasing update all later complains are going to be useless and ignored. If in testing stage not many volunteers are engaged, after releasing update nothing will be touched anymore by me - your turn then, people.
I repeat: This update will not cause any mismatch with old known v1.1 Chaos.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:43 pm

Another problem: Differences between ChaosUTMedia4.u having 9 MB and one having 6 MB. Oh well, I'm curious how many maps are crashing at using "Chaos assets" (chaos craps maybe... :wth: )
Comparing importing results so file architecture:
6MB

Code: Select all

//Difference 1
#exec obj load file=..\System\ChaosUTMedia1.u package=ChaosUTMedia1
#exec obj load file=..\System\ChaosUTMedia3.u package=ChaosUTMedia3

#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=mice FILE=Textures\top.pcx GROUP="Skins" //MIPS=OFF - mips removed from directives
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=ammoledgreen FILE=Textures\ammoledgreen.pcx //MIPS=OFF - the same

//Now is fun - names for some textures are different...
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=CI_Capt FILE=TEXTURES\I_Capt.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=CI_Down FILE=TEXTURES\I_Down.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=CI_Home FILE=TEXTURES\I_Home.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF

//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist5 FILE=TEXTURES\display.PCX GROUP=Skins

#exec MESHMAP SETTEXTURE MESHMAP=c_iairfist3p NUM=5 TEXTURE=Botpack.Ammocount.AmmoLedBase

//These were removed
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist1 FILE=TEXTURES\gun1.PCX GROUP=Skins
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist2 FILE=TEXTURES\gun2.PCX GROUP=Skins
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist3 FILE=TEXTURES\glass.PCX GROUP=Skins
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist4 FILE=TEXTURES\liquid.PCX GROUP=Skins
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist5 FILE=TEXTURES\display.PCX GROUP=Skins
//#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist6 FILE=TEXTURES\cells.PCX GROUP=Skins

vs 9MB

Code: Select all

#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=mice FILE=Textures\top.pcx GROUP="Skins" MIPS=OFF
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=ammoledgreen FILE=Textures\ammoledgreen.pcx MIPS=OFF

//Now is fun
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=I_Capt FILE=TEXTURES\I_Capt.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=I_Down FILE=TEXTURES\I_Down.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=I_Home FILE=TEXTURES\I_Home.PCX GROUP="Icons" FLAGS=2 MIPS=OFF

//this is something removed later
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist5 FILE=TEXTURES\display.PCX GROUP=Skins

#exec MESHMAP SETTEXTURE MESHMAP=c_iairfist3p NUM=5 TEXTURE=Jairfist5

#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist1 FILE=TEXTURES\gun1.PCX GROUP=Skins
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist2 FILE=TEXTURES\gun2.PCX GROUP=Skins
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist3 FILE=TEXTURES\glass.PCX GROUP=Skins
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist4 FILE=TEXTURES\liquid.PCX GROUP=Skins
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist5 FILE=TEXTURES\display.PCX GROUP=Skins
#exec TEXTURE IMPORT NAME=Jairfist6 FILE=TEXTURES\cells.PCX GROUP=Skins
Continuing is useless, we have some textures removed and some of them added in the smaller version. By using a bad file in a server running 2 different maps game will probably crash due to texture block missing. For full compatibility I think I have to merge these together and conforming it with the known as the last one - fix me if I'm wrong. Server will not crash but here might be a sample in how to put down the client because objects are going to be mapped different and they will not have too much compatibility - I'm going to check these...

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - Why not MH ?

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:40 am

Okay, I'm not gonna wait testers which are not interested about Chaos for 3 months. It is somehow changed right now... some compatibility with MH is available.
Generation 3 update explained:
- ChaosUT.u file will go changed with another one compatible and conformed, no mismatch should be encountered;
- EChaos.u is another file doing ignition in mutator, it won't be ChaosUT.ChaosMutators it will be EChaos.EChaos.

EChaos does replacements by using new vars, idea was to not mess Net compatibility of original chaos, EChaos in servers it's usable as Server-Side - yes, this new thing doesn't need to be located in ServerPackages, it does it's job from server and making client to figure new stuff.
I did not set ServerSideOnly flag - for whoever has problems and wants it as package it's only hes/her deal but I assure you that it do works as I said right from server without packaging it.

Note: If chaos does a bit of lagging in Net play at first encounter of weaponry, use "cacher" mutator by self person to configure an initial client precache for preventing those first little frames lost resulted from setting up new data during game - for slow clients if they exist.
It was posted here.

Chaos Specific packages are default ChaosUT.u file as usual, yes, this is how I set this thing. Main changes are addressing default matches and Chaos Mutator loaded. Those custom types were not in fixing target - go fix them if you play those things.

Terraniux
Masterful
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: ChaosUT - MH adds - Generation 3

Post by Terraniux » Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:56 pm

Thank you for all your hard work Nelsona!

It is all #$$%^$%690583490-4535839578937-#$#@ to me, but as I generally read it, I will use this next time in combi - MH- Chaos.


Thanks again! :thuup: :gj:

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: ChaosUT - MH adds - Generation 3

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:10 pm

Meh, don't get this as a "MH Purposes ONLY" because my first next gaming ground will aim DM CTF TDM matches and of course matches mixing Bot with Monsters, so this is an update but Initialized from that auxiliary "v1.1 revised" not from original Chaos, otherwise items will still fall in void as usual. INI works in the same way, mutator works in the same way but... It is started from a different point - EChaos. That's all, with extra-note around INT file opening that small mod

Code: Select all

[Public]
Object=(Name=EChaos.EChaos,Class=Class,MetaClass=Engine.Mutator,Description="Chaos UT 1.1 - revised")
It is named "Chaos UT 1.1 revised" - the fact happens giving to anyone the option to rename this thing as it wants.

Coders Note:
Have you guessed ? It can be changed without to break nothing because EChaos is sitting in server and new ChaosUT won't call it. So here I went for "ZOffset" using a 25 range as a primary test, you can go for 30 if doesn't hurt, ChaosUT file is not affected.
what does that means more exactly ?
Item located on Z axis buried at more than 25 UU from marker accordingly (InventorySpot here) is pushed at this offset. The rest is managed by Gen 3 Chaos as follows:
- cycling ammo (some ammo are falling by default);
- Spawn Ammo number 1 - if spawned Physics = None and transfer marker to this item - YEAH geniuses, where was the marker all these years ? In the trash MultiItem types having no purpose for gaming;
- first cycle ends - quickly copy marker to master multiitem and remove item;
- wait 0.5 seconds and spawn second item - if spawned set physics to None, give it the marker (if exists of course) - and so on with the rest;
- multiitem type which is doing cycles is not a goal desired as it was - is the trash handling cycles so will no longer lure bot to a null thing - yeah this chaos will keep Bot a bit busy - has more items to collect.
If this thing will still mess Bot I'll setup stuff using another formula... this is a compatibility based one... we can switch things.
The Good question: This won't head to infinite recursions toward replacing items with markers ?
Answer: No, all replacements are done at Level Initialization and nothing is being touched Later. This is how I decided to manage these not how they were done before.

Off-Topic: This genuine is not a copy :???: .
Oops me: I have to pack all source-codes used and to drop them... you know where accordingly.

User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: ChaosUT - MH adds - Generation 3

Post by Dr.Flay » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:26 pm

Apologies for not keeping up with development, but I have a real life problem that is distracting me.
I will make a post about this on the official Chaos pages and see if any old players want to try the update.

Post Reply