Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Post Reply
User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by PrinceOfFunky » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:55 am

Light.png
And that's what you see while mapping:
Dark.png
It probably means he didn't aplly those textures manually.
Image

nogardilaref
Masterful
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:00 pm
Personal rank: ⚋⚊⚌☰⚞⌖⚟☰⚌⚊⚋

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by nogardilaref » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:02 am

The more complex a map is, and the tighter the schedule, the easier it is to miss spots like those.
Although it doesn't seem to be even noticeable until you brighten things up that is, so that one was particularly easy to miss.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by sektor2111 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:01 pm

Nothing new.

ojrask
Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by ojrask » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:40 am

Also that plank of wood with 90deg misaligned texture next to it.

These are a real pain, you first release a map and after a week you start finding these all over the place. :D

JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by JackGriffin » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:46 am

Part of the blame needs to go on the clunkiness of the editor interface. No easy way to filter, It can be hard as hell to scope down to a particular brush and see what you need to see.
So long, and thanks for all the fish

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by sektor2111 » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:51 pm

When I do basics at some geometry from a random map, I always select some texture first for getting rid of that ugly jelly. When brush is being born I set textures before adding next brush. In this way you will never have empty borks. But default mapping style was different - let's rush this and release a crap which will stay rammed 30 years from now on and it will be an usual useless forum debate - no one from factory will fix this. And as you can see I'm not lying.

User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by PrinceOfFunky » Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:01 am

Dave left the default texture on the back of this billboard too:
Attachments
Texture.png
Image

User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by PrinceOfFunky » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:42 am

Just found out all the surfaces that Dave left without apllying a texture in AS-Overlord(they are 8. In DOM-Condemned they are 5 but some are invisible portals).
Looks like that no any other mapper left surfaces with the default texture, and I can't find maps made by Dave except for DOM-Condemned and AS-Overlord.
The surfaces Dave left without texture are the ones in the shadow or between other brushes.

How did I even miss this?
how.png
Attachments
tex4.png
tex3.png
tex2.png
tex1.png
Image

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Masterful
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:32 pm
Personal rank: Soulless Automaton
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by Hellkeeper » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:59 am

There's a lot of things like that here and there in UT. Default tex, textures with obviously wrong alignment, easter eggs which can only be seen in the editor, brushes which are not where they should...

Here's a picture of gauntlet with misplaced brushes.
gauntlet.jpg
You must construct additional pylons.

User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by PrinceOfFunky » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:31 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:There's a lot of things like that here and there in UT. Default tex, textures with obviously wrong alignment, easter eggs which can only be seen in the editor, brushes which are not where they should...

Here's a picture of gauntlet with misplaced brushes.
gauntlet.jpg
Where are these default textures that you're talking about? Also I'm not ure if you meant easter eggs or just leftovers.
Image

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Masterful
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:32 pm
Personal rank: Soulless Automaton
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by Hellkeeper » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:32 pm

PrinceOfFunky wrote:Where are these default textures that you're talking about? Also I'm not ure if you meant easter eggs or just leftovers.
See your own posts.
As for eggs, there's Cliffyb's in Codex, the hidden sniper ammo on the roof of Curse2, plenty of hidden pickups the bots don't try to grab... Stuff we all know but which were clever once.
You must construct additional pylons.

User avatar
PrinceOfFunky
Godlike
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by PrinceOfFunky » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:55 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:
PrinceOfFunky wrote:Where are these default textures that you're talking about? Also I'm not ure if you meant easter eggs or just leftovers.
See your own posts.
Mhm I don't get it, of course I'm talking about standard maps, also I never leave default textures on final map releases, at least not visible ones.
Hellkeeper wrote:As for eggs, there's Cliffyb's in Codex, the hidden sniper ammo on the roof of Curse2
Both of these things are accessible by the players, none of them can only be seen in the editor. I doubt the sniper ammo is an easter egg, they are there to be picked up.
Image

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Masterful
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:32 pm
Personal rank: Soulless Automaton
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by Hellkeeper » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:16 am

PrinceOfFunky wrote:Mhm I don't get it, of course I'm talking about standard maps, also I never leave default textures on final map releases, at least not visible ones.
The default texture is the bubbly greenish one you see in AS-Overlord.
PrinceOfFunky wrote:Both of these things are accessible by the players, none of them can only be seen in the editor. I doubt the sniper ammo is an easter egg, they are there to be picked up.
Ah, you're talking about the editor-only ones. Can't name one in UT99 off the top of my head but I remember a number of funny textures on portals in UT2004 and unreachable translator messages in U1 for instance.
You must construct additional pylons.

User avatar
'Zac
Experienced
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:35 pm
Personal rank: Who knows.
Location: NC

Re: Dave forgot to apply a texture in AS-Overlord

Post by 'Zac » Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:58 pm

Missing texture? Ut99 never completed 1999 still in making 20 years later
Prophunt for UT99!!!
Image
Github

Post Reply