Is there somewhere in UnrealEd where you can see the numeric dimensions (width/height/depth) of the currently selected brush? Or a console command to access the brush dimensions?
Example:
Obviously this wouldn't be straightforward for complex brushes (polygons, terrain) but for square brushes it should be possible?
How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd?
-
- Experienced
- Posts: 110
- Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:57 pm
- Personal rank: Oaf
How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd?
Join the BunnyTrack.net Discord chat server: https://www.bunnytrack.net/discord
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 2956
- Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
- Location: moved without proper hashing
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
I'm afraid there is no such. The reason for it may be that the information that this set of vertices builds a cuboid (or whatever geometric shape) is not stored - it is just a bunch of vertices. Consider also that a brush could be rotated around several axis.
An approach could be that the size of a cuboid is calculated that contains all vertices of a brush.
An approach could be that the size of a cuboid is calculated that contains all vertices of a brush.
"If Origin not in center it be not in center." --Buggie
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 1204
- Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
PostScale axis is 1 as default, which means if the brush was built as 256 then 1=256. TempScale changes but Idk the calculations it does, you can find PostScale and TempScale by creating a t3d and reading the section about that brush or by inputting "editactor name=BrushNUMBER" in the UnrealEditor console.
Otherwise, you could manually count by looking at the grid, just set the grid to 1, also the grid has reference lines that can help you count faster, if you use the max zoom with grid set to 1, then the reference lines should be of 8uu, which means that if you count up to 32 of them then the brush is 256uu on that axis.
Otherwise, you could manually count by looking at the grid, just set the grid to 1, also the grid has reference lines that can help you count faster, if you use the max zoom with grid set to 1, then the reference lines should be of 8uu, which means that if you count up to 32 of them then the brush is 256uu on that axis.
Some of the stuff I created:
Mods: VisualStreamPlayer, TeamColorOverlay, FunkyMoves, CommandSystem, FunkyPointer, AdvancedMutator, CommandEvent, ParticleSystem, LifeSucks
Gametypes: UTRoyale, UnrealRace
Hacks : Create/Write files with UScript, Read files with UScript, Running files with UScript
Maps: CTF-(POF)-Escher_Fix, CTF-(NotYet)HyperBlast, DM-(NotYet)Condemned, CTF-StalwartXS, UR-Hyperblast, DM-3072-ItalyKinda, DOM-NRMC-Cathode, CTF-TAMC-UnderPressure
Concepts: RabbitHole, Builder gun, HeatMap, Playable arcade cabinet, Stalwartception, Non Conventional Weapons, MainFrame
Memes: Meme#1, Meme#2
Mods: VisualStreamPlayer, TeamColorOverlay, FunkyMoves, CommandSystem, FunkyPointer, AdvancedMutator, CommandEvent, ParticleSystem, LifeSucks
Gametypes: UTRoyale, UnrealRace
Hacks : Create/Write files with UScript, Read files with UScript, Running files with UScript
Maps: CTF-(POF)-Escher_Fix, CTF-(NotYet)HyperBlast, DM-(NotYet)Condemned, CTF-StalwartXS, UR-Hyperblast, DM-3072-ItalyKinda, DOM-NRMC-Cathode, CTF-TAMC-UnderPressure
Concepts: RabbitHole, Builder gun, HeatMap, Playable arcade cabinet, Stalwartception, Non Conventional Weapons, MainFrame
Memes: Meme#1, Meme#2
-
- Masterful
- Posts: 577
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:00 pm
- Personal rank: ββββ°ββββ°βββ
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
Although the bounding box could be found through the vertices, which in the case of a not rotated cuboid would match the bounding box itself, you may as well forget about that altogether without resorting to native coding in some way, given that there's no access to a brush individual vertices through UScript to begin with, afaik.
-
- Skilled
- Posts: 217
- Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:29 pm
- Personal rank: Phenix
- Location: Portugal
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
Simpler way, I would recomend using This
Align textures and the process you want becomes much faster
Align textures and the process you want becomes much faster
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
- Personal rank: -Retired-
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
You should talk to yrex, he made this for U227: http://www.oldunreal.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/ ... 262425/0#0
He's a great dude and I'm sure would consider making this for UT if it doesn't work there already.Yrex Tools
The Y_Tools package contains:
<CLIP>
Class Y_Ruler which allows to measure length between two walls from inside or outside. The length is approximate, so e.g. 1023 should be treated as 1024.
So long, and thanks for all the fish
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 2956
- Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
- Location: moved without proper hashing
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
The trick is that the user has to copy the brush to the clipboard, and then the UScript can access the brush in T3D format from the clipboard via function PlayerPawn.PasteFromClipboard().nogardilaref wrote:there's no access to a brush individual vertices through UScript
"If Origin not in center it be not in center." --Buggie
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 1204
- Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:31 pm
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
And I thought I was the first one who was executing scripts using BrushBuilders, well that's good there must be some knowledge about it already then.JackGriffin wrote:yrex, he made this for U227: http://www.oldunreal.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/ ... 262425/0#0
I was trying to create something that let you send a command through the console but looks like ConsoleCommand() crashes the editor :/
Some of the stuff I created:
Mods: VisualStreamPlayer, TeamColorOverlay, FunkyMoves, CommandSystem, FunkyPointer, AdvancedMutator, CommandEvent, ParticleSystem, LifeSucks
Gametypes: UTRoyale, UnrealRace
Hacks : Create/Write files with UScript, Read files with UScript, Running files with UScript
Maps: CTF-(POF)-Escher_Fix, CTF-(NotYet)HyperBlast, DM-(NotYet)Condemned, CTF-StalwartXS, UR-Hyperblast, DM-3072-ItalyKinda, DOM-NRMC-Cathode, CTF-TAMC-UnderPressure
Concepts: RabbitHole, Builder gun, HeatMap, Playable arcade cabinet, Stalwartception, Non Conventional Weapons, MainFrame
Memes: Meme#1, Meme#2
Mods: VisualStreamPlayer, TeamColorOverlay, FunkyMoves, CommandSystem, FunkyPointer, AdvancedMutator, CommandEvent, ParticleSystem, LifeSucks
Gametypes: UTRoyale, UnrealRace
Hacks : Create/Write files with UScript, Read files with UScript, Running files with UScript
Maps: CTF-(POF)-Escher_Fix, CTF-(NotYet)HyperBlast, DM-(NotYet)Condemned, CTF-StalwartXS, UR-Hyperblast, DM-3072-ItalyKinda, DOM-NRMC-Cathode, CTF-TAMC-UnderPressure
Concepts: RabbitHole, Builder gun, HeatMap, Playable arcade cabinet, Stalwartception, Non Conventional Weapons, MainFrame
Memes: Meme#1, Meme#2
-
- Inhuman
- Posts: 914
- Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:32 pm
- Personal rank: Soulless Automaton
- Location: France
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
There's always the option of counting grid squares and multiplying by grid size.
Or just make a brush and teak its dimensions until it fits.
If you have UEd 3.0 at hand, copy/past the brush inside it and use the integrated ruler with CTRL+Middle mouse button.
Or just make a brush and teak its dimensions until it fits.
If you have UEd 3.0 at hand, copy/past the brush inside it and use the integrated ruler with CTRL+Middle mouse button.
You must construct additional pylons.
-
- Masterful
- Posts: 577
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:00 pm
- Personal rank: ββββ°ββββ°βββ
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
Woah, that's actually a really clever way of doing it.Barbie wrote:The trick is that the user has to copy the brush to the clipboard, and then the UScript can access the brush in T3D format from the clipboard via function PlayerPawn.PasteFromClipboard().nogardilaref wrote:there's no access to a brush individual vertices through UScript
Nice.
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 2206
- Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
No, the point is to GET the dimensions from an existing brush without ! doing any of that.Hellkeeper wrote:There's always the option of counting grid squares and multiplying by grid size.
Or just make a brush and teak its dimensions until it fits.
If you have UEd 3.0 at hand, copy/past the brush inside it and use the integrated ruler with CTRL+Middle mouse button.
So you have to keep entering numbers and watch the grid, over and over.
Binary Space Partitioning
-
- Experienced
- Posts: 110
- Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:57 pm
- Personal rank: Oaf
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
This sounds pretty much exactly like what I'm looking for, thank you. I'll contact him.JackGriffin wrote:You should talk to yrex, he made this for U227: http://www.oldunreal.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/ ... 262425/0#0
He's a great dude and I'm sure would consider making this for UT if it doesn't work there already.
Do you know if there's any existing code which does this kinda thing I can take a look at? I've never gone anywhere near editor-related stuff in UScript before.Barbie wrote:The trick is that the user has to copy the brush to the clipboard, and then the UScript can access the brush in T3D format from the clipboard via function PlayerPawn.PasteFromClipboard().nogardilaref wrote:there's no access to a brush individual vertices through UScript
Join the BunnyTrack.net Discord chat server: https://www.bunnytrack.net/discord
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 2956
- Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
- Location: moved without proper hashing
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
It's in the web page Jack posted above: look for file "y_dimensionget.7z" on that page.Dizzy wrote:Do you know if there's any existing code which does this kinda thing I can take a look at?
"If Origin not in center it be not in center." --Buggie
-
- Experienced
- Posts: 110
- Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:57 pm
- Personal rank: Oaf
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
Yrex from oldunreal.com made his Unreal extension UT-compatible. So I guess this thread is solved!
https://sites.google.com/site/mojunreal ... ects=0&d=1
**Mirrors:**
https://bunnytrack.net/assets/y_dimensionget.7z
https://bunnytrack.net/assets/Y_DimensionGetUT.zip
https://sites.google.com/site/mojunreal ... ects=0&d=1
**Mirrors:**
https://bunnytrack.net/assets/y_dimensionget.7z
https://bunnytrack.net/assets/Y_DimensionGetUT.zip
Last edited by Dizzy on Sun Nov 24, 2024 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Join the BunnyTrack.net Discord chat server: https://www.bunnytrack.net/discord
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 6443
- Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
- Location: On the roof.
Re: How to get the numeric dimensions of a brush in UnrealEd
I'm not sure if everything for Unreal is compatible with UT due to new stuff added in Unreal. I was probing some toys and I have quickly figured that some of those builders doesn't load in UT's Editor because of some properties missing so this way is not available as you might think.
Okay, while I was working on some paths deploy module I have done something due to some brute-force nodes which I'm using around doors - tracing problems in game might not link them in normal situations. Given that I need them closer than 300 UU for linking them with any matter I was interested to find exactly this distance so I wrote a feature into some custom builder - for sure unwanted links through walls are bad so I need to know also how to NOT put them under 300 UU. You can add such 2 actors at brush's ledges and then you can see some distance between them as in picture - here I have two NavigationPoint actors, but these two can be any sort of actors used in mapping:
It uses a very simple Script - no Rocket Science is required here.
Aside, I have never been interested to find brushes size in my maps - as long as I know what I'm doing there...
Okay, while I was working on some paths deploy module I have done something due to some brute-force nodes which I'm using around doors - tracing problems in game might not link them in normal situations. Given that I need them closer than 300 UU for linking them with any matter I was interested to find exactly this distance so I wrote a feature into some custom builder - for sure unwanted links through walls are bad so I need to know also how to NOT put them under 300 UU. You can add such 2 actors at brush's ledges and then you can see some distance between them as in picture - here I have two NavigationPoint actors, but these two can be any sort of actors used in mapping:
[attachment=0]Sample_distance.PNG[/attachment]
It uses a very simple Script - no Rocket Science is required here.
Code: Select all
var() bool bLogNewNav, bLogTweakPoint, bGenerateDecoUC, bLogActors, bComputeDistance;
...
event bool Build()
{
...
if (bComputeDistance)
ComputeTheseTwo();
...
}
...
final function ComputeTheseTwo()
{
local Actor A, A1, A2;
foreach MyMap.AllActors(class'Actor',A)
{
if ( A.bSelected && A1 == None )
{
A1 = A;
continue;
}
if ( A.bSelected && A2 == None )
{
A2 = A;
break;
}
}
if ( A1 != None && A2 != None )
{
log ("Distance between"@A1.Name@and@A2.Name@=@VSize(A1.Location-A2.Location)@UU.);
A1 = None; A2 = None;
}
else
log("You must have 2 selected actors...");
}
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.