Why are my spawns broken

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Post Reply
User avatar
rtg
Average
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:37 pm
Personal rank: the incredable kid

Why are my spawns broken

Post by rtg » Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:36 am

Hello,
Can someone tell me why my spawns are broken? I spawn in random locations, even tho I have set the correct value for the spawns to their respective teams.

Thank you.

--edit by UnrealGGecko--

Could it be aliens?
Attachments
CTF-BleakTDN-test14.unr
(1.27 MiB) Downloaded 37 times
Last edited by UnrealGGecko on Fri Jun 28, 2019 5:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please avoid double-posting within 24 hours.

Red_Fist
Godlike
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by Red_Fist » Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:01 am

I messed up something for my UT windows dll trying to eliminate a problem, but you should change the map name in the level properties to "CTF-" might be it.
Binary Space Partitioning

User avatar
UT Sniper (SJA94)
Masterful
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 10:35 pm
Personal rank: noob programmer
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by UT Sniper (SJA94) » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:15 am

If you haven't checked the log while the map is running:

Image

I just pressed the build all button and it fixes it, I suggest you do the same, if it doesn't work I'll just send you a build from my ued.

User avatar
rtg
Average
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:37 pm
Personal rank: the incredable kid

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by rtg » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:12 am

I actually sent the map to someone to rebuild it for me and he sent it over to me working fine. Weird shit, gotta love ued.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by sektor2111 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:00 pm

Actually Bots might even crash the game here because you have deleted/moved a navigationpoint without to rebuild paths = breaking navigationpoints list. When Navigation list is broken TDM game uses iterator sorting a playerstart without team consideration and then you might spawn in other base. As a note, here is a small fragment from log (these logs are broken in my environment mainly post XCGE v21....)

Code: Select all

Critical: APawn::breadthPathFrom
Critical: APawn::findPathToward
To summarize: this is mapping goofing not Editor goofing. By using my custom CTF game I was trying to find enemy flag - NO chance, which is demonstrating that navigation is broken.

Next points
- nice Level for a CTF ground. After removing useless nodes I think this is good for a server... :gj: .
- for a coding exercise for self person I think I will want to write a mutator for rewrapping navigationpoint list but I believe default Engine will still crash when network is corrupted. Probably a try won't hurt anything.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by sektor2111 » Thu May 28, 2020 6:37 am

Bump - New feature added in MapGarbage builder.
I had a recall about this topic with spawns broken. Now let's see what is broken...
brokenChain.PNG
As result you can spawn as Blue player in Red base and then game might crash when a Bot starts roaming around.

On my "to do" List:
Finding more old/new broken maps for testing intensive these features (two new features).

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by Chamberly » Fri May 29, 2020 9:22 am

Not the first time you having issue with this.... is there a virus on your friendly unrealed goblin?
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Why are my spawns broken

Post by sektor2111 » Fri May 29, 2020 7:46 pm

All issues are created based on Paths-Net modifications without rebuilding them and making some of these actors to no longer exist when C++ code calls them in run-time...
I'm aware of another sort of bug generated in this mapping chapter with the same critical "Run-Time" results, even if apparently all Navigation does looks fine in Editor. That one is also detectable but... I don't know how many other "options" are capable to badly ruin everything and harder to catch. The common fix for a such critical crash or spawn problems is "Paths Undefine" and "Paths Define" commands - in separate Editing sessions results are even more clean.

Post Reply