Any way for find all zones?

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Post Reply
Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am

Exists any way for find all zones, even without actors?

For example few brushes make closed empty space and create zone, where no actors.
How can I find this zone?

Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.

If in zone exists any actor you can export map in t3d and look at ZoneNumber in output.
But if not...

I think about make a lot random dumb actors in space and dump all for t3d, for see ZoneNumber, but it need smart algorithm for place this actors.

Brutforce can not work.

User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora
Location: TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Chamberly » Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:34 pm

Have you searched for the zone using the search function?
Image
Image
Image

Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:44 pm

This zones do not have own ZoneInfo actor. Either any other actor in it. Usually it produced by bad intersection solid brushes or by semi-solid brush when built visibility zones.

User avatar
TexasGtar
Skilled
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:52 pm

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by TexasGtar » Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm

Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:44 pm
This zones do not have own ZoneInfo actor. Either any other actor in it. Usually it produced by bad intersection solid brushes or by semi-solid brush when built visibility zones.
This is probably not what you are asking, but...
there is button in editor that will color zones different colors. You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.
Attachments
zone.jpg
zone.jpg (3.71 KiB) Viewed 150 times

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4773
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by sektor2111 » Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:06 pm

Stats report ?
StatsReporting.PNG
StatsReporting.PNG (8.88 KiB) Viewed 148 times

Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm

TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm
You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.
As I say:
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am
Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.
-------
sektor2111 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:06 pm
Stats report ?
Only count here. But where its located?

User avatar
TexasGtar
Skilled
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:52 pm

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by TexasGtar » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:25 pm

Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:52 pm
You can see where the different zones are without zone info actors.
As I say:
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:32 am
Fly in zone view and try see on different angles is not a option.
-------

I didn't understand. Sorry, I understand now. I figured you knew that but was trying to help.
Are you trying to find the center point of a zone?
I think this topic is way above my expertise.

Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:40 pm

TexasGtar wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:25 pm
the center point of a zone
What is that? Is any zone has center which listed somewhere?

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 4773
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by sektor2111 » Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:49 pm

Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
Only count here. But where its located?
In Build Options button, nearby Play Map ! button.

User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Barbie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:55 pm

sektor2111 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:49 pm
Buggie wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:11 pm
Only count here. But where its located?
In Build Options button, nearby Play Map ! button.
He wants to know where the zones are, not the display location for the number of zones. ;o)

Some time ago I encountered a similar problem in map MH-Thra_Fortress. Some pillars created too many additional zones (see also thread MH-Thra_Fortress).
Attachments
Bild2.jpg
Wire view
Bild1.jpg
Zone view: additional zones detected
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett

Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:22 pm

Yep. Barbie right. I want know where is that additional zones on map.

Sometimes it is look like:
1. Build map without BSP checkbox (no optimization). Get 5 zones.
2. Build again with BSP checkbox. Get 8 zones. Whaaaat?
3. Export entire map to t3d, grep it - nothing. Only 5 zones used. Whaaaat?
4. Fly few hours in zone view with different angles...
5. If you lucky - notice/find additional zones. But if no...

-----

And best things is:
You have few parts of map. For example 3. not connected with each other.
You built each part separately and get zones count. With or without BSP checkbox does not matter because numbers is same.

Now You think, "I have 10 and 15 and 20 zones. So entire map will be 10 + 15 + 20 = 45 zones." Right?
You run build and get, for example, 53 zones. Whaaaat? :noidea

------

"Best" things happens when you have summ of zones is near 63 limit. For example, sum count zones is 59.
Build entire map and real count is 63, Which means overlapping. I run map and waterzone connected with usual zones.
I try grep zone numbers from t3d - all fine except some zone number not listed any actor and located in nowhere, so cause overflow of 63 zone and overlapping it.

Red_Fist
Godlike
Posts: 1798
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:31 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Red_Fist » Wed Aug 05, 2020 4:17 am

The answer is no, you have to fly through in zone view and punch holes with subtract brushes to make them one zone.

The other way is build maps that are not all overkill polys. Other zones can be one unit thick.

Also separate all brush polys and work on it like that first, then when you merge polys you will have gotten rid of more zones.

Then you can find other ones that are bigger to find than just slivers .
Binary Space Partitioning

Buggie
Adept
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Any way for find all zones?

Post by Buggie » Wed Aug 05, 2020 5:33 am

This answer not suit me.
Map not mine. So review all 7000+ brushes with 30000 Polys... :lol2: Not a option at all.

Post Reply