Hey all,
I am using the latest version of MVU (which I believe is 3.0) and I am having a little trouble in customizing the map lists. I am attaching the MVU Config file so you can see where I am starting from.
The Map List works the way I want it to all the way up to the last 3 boxes. What I want to do is have special DM maps in each of these options. In other words, I don't want any SCTF maps in block 10(or list10 if your prefer), but want them all to be DM maps that have "bathroom" in their titles. For block/list 11, I would like to add any new maps by name. For the last list, any DM maps from a particular clan for example, all my CMN maps.
I have tried a lot of attempts to do what I want but can't quite figure it out.
I had to rename the ini to a .txt file as UT99 won't allow you to attach an actual .ini file. Hopefully it should still be viewable. (quite don't know why but whatever...)
Thank You in advance for any help,
oTTo
A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
-
- Average
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:55 pm
- Personal rank: Private
A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Adept
- Posts: 383
- Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:56 am
- Personal rank: Average
- Location: India
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
add maps name like this
Code: Select all
List11Filter[0]=Prefix-MapName1
List11Filter[1]=Prefix-MapName2
-
- Average
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:55 pm
- Personal rank: Private
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
Yeah I tried that. It doesn't work the way you think it should. From my viewpoint, the developer has hardwired in the last 6 'blocks' for certain types of maps. And unless you can figure out the EXACT syntax to change that, you are really out of luck. Hypothetically, what you suggest should work, but the developer didn't design it to be that easy. For some reason, he, she, or they decided that would not be to practical. I got lucky with custom options 7,8, an 9, but just can't figure out how to make options 10, 11, and 12 to be DeathMatch ONLY and the maps or blocks of maps of my choice or choices.Deepu wrote: ↑Wed Jul 17, 2024 6:48 am add maps name like this
Code: Select all
List11Filter[0]=Prefix-MapName1 List11Filter[1]=Prefix-MapName2
As anyone can see, I have the syntax correct to make all my DM maps to work in sections 7, 8 with a particular mutator (Instagib with the blueballer, or sniper DM with the fleshbomb rifle) along with MonsterHunt working in block 9. I just don't know how to make all my DM maps do the same in sections 10, 11, 12 but with no weapon restrictions but a custom map list.
I am convinced that it is a easy syntax fix but I just can't figure it out.
I am also including a copy of one of the config files to show what I have tried.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Adept
- Posts: 383
- Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:56 am
- Personal rank: Average
- Location: India
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
List11Filter[0]=Prefix-MapName1
Why added star in the prefix? You need to add each map name by manually.
Why added star in the prefix? You need to add each map name by manually.
-
- Average
- Posts: 42
- Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:22 am
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
Unfortunately the filters dont work like you expect them to. You can only match on common prefixes, and not on more complex patterns.
As Deepu said, for more complex "filtering" you need to add maps individually to the lists.
As Deepu said, for more complex "filtering" you need to add maps individually to the lists.
-
- Average
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:55 pm
- Personal rank: Private
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
Based on a lot of the input from you guys, I was able to deduce the fix to my dilemma
It was a 3 step process. First thing I figured out (And I am surprised no one called me out on this) is that in the second .ini file that I was using and posted, I had forgotton to enable the game classes. As you can see they were set to false: duh
{CustomGameConfig[3]=(bEnabled=False,GameClass="BotPack.DeathMatchPlus",NewPrefix="DM",Mutators="",Settings="",Packages="")}
The second thing I did was gave my 'custom games' (for lack of a better term) a semi random Prefix. For instance, it's NDM for my "new" maps .
{CustomGameConfig[3]=(bEnabled=True,GameClass="BotPack.DeathMatchPlus",NewPrefix="NDM",Mutators="",Settings="",Packages="")}
Step three was to then assign the corresponding List filter to that prefix, i.e. For new maps its NDM-[map name]. And low and behold, you can use wildcards to get certain groups of map names as I did for the Bathroom and Clan maps.
List11Filter[1]=BDM-Bath*
List12Filter[0]=CDM-CMN*
List12Filter[1]=CDM-VSK*
I am attaching the working MVU_Config file and a screenshot of the results.
oTTo
It was a 3 step process. First thing I figured out (And I am surprised no one called me out on this) is that in the second .ini file that I was using and posted, I had forgotton to enable the game classes. As you can see they were set to false: duh
{CustomGameConfig[3]=(bEnabled=False,GameClass="BotPack.DeathMatchPlus",NewPrefix="DM",Mutators="",Settings="",Packages="")}
The second thing I did was gave my 'custom games' (for lack of a better term) a semi random Prefix. For instance, it's NDM for my "new" maps .
{CustomGameConfig[3]=(bEnabled=True,GameClass="BotPack.DeathMatchPlus",NewPrefix="NDM",Mutators="",Settings="",Packages="")}
Step three was to then assign the corresponding List filter to that prefix, i.e. For new maps its NDM-[map name]. And low and behold, you can use wildcards to get certain groups of map names as I did for the Bathroom and Clan maps.
List11Filter[1]=BDM-Bath*
List12Filter[0]=CDM-CMN*
List12Filter[1]=CDM-VSK*
I am attaching the working MVU_Config file and a screenshot of the results.
oTTo
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Average
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:55 pm
- Personal rank: Private
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
Well, I got everything working pretty much how I want.
However I still have one more issue: Even though I have set the repeat option to 10, it's not working right. It doesn't want to 'lock out' the previous 10 maps. In other words, it lets me choose the same map repeatedly. I tend to reload my maps whenever I add some, could the reloading reset the count. I don't think that's the issue as after reloading, when I play a map, it still is playable right after. In the above screenshot, you will see a map in red, yet it's still playable and not disabled untill 10 more maps have been played.
IDK - it should work but I must be missing something
oTTo
However I still have one more issue: Even though I have set the repeat option to 10, it's not working right. It doesn't want to 'lock out' the previous 10 maps. In other words, it lets me choose the same map repeatedly. I tend to reload my maps whenever I add some, could the reloading reset the count. I don't think that's the issue as after reloading, when I play a map, it still is playable right after. In the above screenshot, you will see a map in red, yet it's still playable and not disabled untill 10 more maps have been played.
IDK - it should work but I must be missing something
oTTo
-
- Average
- Posts: 42
- Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:22 am
Re: A little Help with MapVote Ultimate 3.0
Make sure youre not logged in as admin when checking functionality of RepeatLimit. Im not sure if this applies to MVU3, but my intuition would be that admins can ignore RepeatLimit.
-
- Average
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:55 pm
- Personal rank: Private