Bot Bug in firing

Discussions about Coding and Scripting

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Barbie » Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:45 pm

Notifying an object (line of sight) is only half the story. If you go into detail for a successful attack you have to consider weapon specifics, like position of the projectile emitter (often not the same as eye position) and trajectory of the projectile (ballistic or linear for example). Rocket science? Depends on weapon... :lol:
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
 
Posts: 1671
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby OjitroC » Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:58 pm

I'm still not convinced the problem is all to do with line of sight. I have just played a sniper arena game on Deck16][ with me standing on the sniper platform only able to see the top step and I have been fired at by a bot (default UT) as it came (from the lift) to the top step - it fired from the same position that the bot in the video made as though to fire and then 'decided' not to. The bot also fired when over the low wall to the right of the steps and this is even lower than the steps and so with a more restricted line of sight.

I have noticed that the pathing on this map is such that the bots seem to normally only use the right hand side of the map (looking from the sniper platform) and seldom if ever go to the left - they may sometimes come up one of the ramps to get the kneepads but seldom do this. As I noted before, they also get in a loop repeatedly jumping over the low wall to the right of the steps, running back up the steps and repeating the jump, doing this several times.
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Chamberly » Tue Dec 13, 2016 3:12 pm

Gadavre wrote:FerBotz by Higor can not shoot in the player on a huge distance. He also can not find the player faster than original bot , if the player hid....


I really have no problem with ferbotz. I even had them playing with my custom sniper rifle and everything works fine. In any map too, including large map where you are a mini-me they shoot you first and you would have no idea where they are shooting from. Pretty dangerous. lol.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Chamberly
Godlike
 
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: TN, USA
Personal rank: Dame. Vandora

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:37 pm

Chamberly wrote:
Gadavre wrote:FerBotz by Higor can not shoot in the player on a huge distance. He also can not find the player faster than original bot , if the player hid....


I really have no problem with ferbotz. .
. This Mutator does not work for me. And the installation is unclear. i had error after (Paths=../System/Botz/*.u) : cant find file for package 'engine'...
Last edited by Gadavre on Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby Gadavre » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:47 pm

could you help? How to change CollisionHeight for class PlayerPawn?
User avatar
Gadavre
Experienced
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:55 am

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby papercoffee » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:54 pm

@Gadavre
Can you please stop making double posts? It's against the forum rules. And it's very annoying.
You know already how to edit your former posts. Use the edit button if you are the last poster in a thread.
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 9176
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:26 pm

However, I recall FerBotz - some guy called Aegor, after loading items from map he decided to camp nearby a vial doing nothing. At this point I'm not agree with this behavior. As long as in map are 2 players 1 Bot and 1 Human, MBot_D will NOT camp sleeping minutes, only if is waiting an armor to spawn or such, if map has PATHS.

@Oijtroc >
You don't need any experience with coding for doing a pathing test. Go to sniper area where was Gadavre camping and happily input in console "RememberSpot". Now go to ripper zone (as random example), and input "ShowPath" - Local testing alone to not be bugged by turds. If nothing happens go figure console-log messages...
Now put RememberSpot near BioRifle and move back to ripper. When you are reached at ripper input ShowPath. Lamp spawned should guide you to BioRifle but I have doubts about sniper area. THIS is what I'm talking about, Bot shoots player but cannot see how to get closer because "originally" those paths are incomplete. No coding is required and neither 100 tons of maths just 2 console commands which any mapper/tester should do before releasing a crap supposed with Bot Support.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby papercoffee » Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:05 pm

sektor2111 wrote:@Oijtroc >
You don't need any experience with coding for doing a pathing test. Go to sniper area where was Gadavre camping and happily input in console "RememberSpot". Now go to ripper zone (as random example), and input "ShowPath" - Local testing alone to not be bugged by turds. If nothing happens go figure console-log messages...
Now put RememberSpot near BioRifle and move back to ripper. When you are reached at ripper input ShowPath. Lamp spawned should guide you to BioRifle but I have doubts about sniper area. THIS is what I'm talking about, Bot shoots player but cannot see how to get closer because "originally" those paths are incomplete. No coding is required and neither 100 tons of maths just 2 console commands which any mapper/tester should do before releasing a crap supposed with Bot Support.

I always forget this commands. I have to write them down.
User avatar
papercoffee
Site Staff
 
Posts: 9176
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!

Re: Bot Bug in firing

Postby sektor2111 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:35 am

Around chapter: For a Bot check where might go or not BotyMan3 does a job - by using XCGE this one suddenly has a few new features (example: JumpSpot in account) In Deck16][ you will be driven to UDamage as well... I'll bet on 100$ that nobody at 3072 or other contest did not tested maps, driving me to NOT say much greetings at this point, because I see spots where Bot boosted was doing nothing + spots missing in paths - no other comments there.
Then, given lacks of pathing in a map like DM-Violator2006 having barriers not only for Head but even Legs, and spots allowing human UNREACHABLE, Bot might be easy to kill and hunter features are not that strong as expected, however such maps being designed pretty well (respect for artistic style) make me to fix them without much posting and speaking about them - random example. So we have such "Bot Bug in firing" if Bot cannot find you, not only in stock maps. I'm not complaining, I'm fixing maps, that's the point: LET A.I. to get ALL Items which player might get else for me = CHEATER map - creating an advantage for human toward Bot or other pawn = CHEATING, unfair combat, 0 skill, trash behavior, MANNER PROBLEMS - it's all I have to say. And This is WHAT Deck16][ has: Advantage human in using Redeemer because Bot never uses it (no default path) and is not that much interested to get PulseGun, Armor, in default roaming. So what we have ? An example of cheating coming right from Factory - that's why Deck16][ no longer exist in my gaming repositories, just in test-storage where I'm not playing it.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
 
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Previous

Return to Coding, Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests