Unreal Tournament 469

Discussions about UT99
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 1369
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Buggie » Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:16 pm

On some maps placed special actor Commander - a spectator who controls a team.
In this case you possessed this actor on enter to map and look as spectator even if connected as player.

User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5436
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Feralidragon » Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:30 pm

Not only that: now that you have mentioned it, servers with stuff like Nexgen and such, have the functionality of being able to set yourself as a spectator using the !s command.
If you then leave that server and join another one, or just start a normal game, you remain as a spectator, which could have been the case here too.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5854
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Nov 27, 2021 5:58 am

Bumping here because I got a confirmation about what is all about here...
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13572&start=180#p117734
By deleting a node and making null reachspecs it's not like this is an answer - probably it's a fake fix, or I might be wrong. I had on the table a map for testing - sent via PM, so it's private. It has such nullified ReachSpecs.

Code: Select all

LostData: ReachSpecs missing from Paths[0-15] 		= 25.
LostData: ReachSpecs missing from upStreamPaths[0-15] 	= 14.
SpamData: Debris ReachSpecs found 			= 19. //HAZARD ? - Confirmed Nov/27/2021
FixedWithSuccess: ReachSpecs successfully attached 	= 39.
FixFailures: ReachSpecs attaching failures - probably no place = 0.
Without to save anything fixed - I loaded map in a test session with two Bots. If this "method" will in be part of future 469 versions, entire idea should be completely discarded and forget - you are deleting ReachSpecs or just never touch them. Even if a new patch can deal in run-time with said map, original UT it's not like has a deal here as long as it NEVER DOES a null ReachSpec, we do have lost paths but NEVER NULL paths.
Let's see what happens in run-time:

Code: Select all

Critical: APawn::breadthPathFrom
Critical: APawn::findPathToward
The crash is taken from XC crash-log as long as in game-log all was suddenly broken and log file did not even close returning a nasty error concerning some run-time blah blah "contact vendor etc".
Original function "breadthPathFrom" is NOT SUPPORTING ZERO data, it will crash because Editor never does NULL data in ReachSpecs.
Amazing feature shown in video can be deleted and forget until we want to supply UT with more crushers UNR files.
You don't have to be a scientist from NASA for figuring problem here in UnRoute.cpp:

Code: Select all

int APawn::breadthPathFrom(AActor *start, AActor *&bestPath, int bSinglePath, int moveFlags)
{
	guard(APawn::breadthPathFrom);
	//FIXME - perhaps track and bound number of edges to search or max depth?
	/*
	Sektor2111: Where is the sanity check for Start End ? If they are NULL > NONE it's time for some ugly corruptions.
	And since source-code was never published in public, who the heck was supposed to operate that "//FIXME" wreck
	 often seen all over the place ?
	And error is coming from the other place calling the function with a NULL argument...
	*/
	ANavigationPoint* currentnode = (ANavigationPoint *)start; //BOOOM ! - What Start ? We do have NONE - NULL.
	ANavigationPoint* nextnode;
	ANavigationPoint* BinTree = currentnode;

	int iRadius = (int)CollisionRadius;
	int iHeight = (int)CollisionHeight;
	int p = 0;
	int n = 0;
	int realSplit = 1;
	FReachSpec *spec;
....
When mapper has "idea" to delete a Node and to crash the game without rebuilding paths, by nulling paths concerning Deleted Node we don't fix anything, the crash is only changed - because game is crashing even using XC_Engine24, and then... you need to delete and remap ReachSpecs or just don't do anything because 436-451 won't fix by themselves.
Investigation result: One of lost incomplete ReachSpec I found referenced into network - others previously checked weren't there. I think that one was the crusher which for some reason was still in UpStreamPaths list. Without rebuilding paths, I only defragmented Data and map went stable...

Edit: Preparing next stage from XC_EditorAdds pathing works under 469b...

Automatically merged

A request for relics presence DM-beta_Funnel_4 - after adding PathNodes and using a small MaxDistance for getting minimal charge...
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=14913&start=15#p132518
Preparing_XCPaths_280MaxDist.PNG
Instead of having under 1000 ReachSpecs for 280 "MaxDistance" I got these...
Result_Is_An_OVERLOAD_LOL.PNG
2273 ReachSpecs and... were not even placed normally...
Borks_280.PNG
Here... by defragmenting them, all were placed in their places but... based on my lousy math, I think I have now duplicated ReachSpecs for same routes which doesn't make any sense. I did not even marked bFastPrune... but I have PrunedPaths out of Navigation Network...

Automatically merged

Why working with a reduced ScanRange/MaxDistance ?
Because in 469b in this stage it's not like everything is cute using internal stock DevPath.
469b_DevPath.PNG
It's a joke if you ask my opinion...
Nobody_Can_Even_Fix_Them.PNG
Yes, it's Editor 2.2.

Sektor's Self dialogue:
Q: Can you do something for mapping some PrunedPaths into XC_PathsWorker ?
A: What For ? More script assumptions when Editing Paths is doable manually using EYES ? Nah...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
NemesisNeS
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2021 7:24 pm
Personal rank: GOD, not Godlike
Location: Under someones bed

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by NemesisNeS » Sun Dec 12, 2021 4:23 pm

I am wondering if I am the only one that has encountered this problem. I have direct x 9, 10 and 11 for my machine and no matter what I do, this always pops up every time I try to run Unreal Ed. Any help will suffice. Thanks in advance.

Feeling the urge to kill people who put up links with advertisements....
:instagib2:

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by OjitroC » Sun Dec 12, 2021 5:16 pm

Have a look in UnrealEditor.ini and see if you have this

Code: Select all

[D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
UEDCompatible=True
If not, put it in and see what happens. Also check and see what render devices are stated to be UEDCompatible.

User avatar
NemesisNeS
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2021 7:24 pm
Personal rank: GOD, not Godlike
Location: Under someones bed

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by NemesisNeS » Sun Dec 12, 2021 11:10 pm

OjitroC wrote:
Sun Dec 12, 2021 5:16 pm
Have a look in UnrealEditor.ini and see if you have this

Code: Select all

[D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
UEDCompatible=True
If not, put it in and see what happens. Also check and see what render devices are stated to be UEDCompatible.
Well, that seems to be something. So I took a look at the file and this is exactly what's in the UnrealEd.ini
Spoiler
Show
[U2Viewport0]
Active=1
X=0
Y=0
W=890
H=553
RendMap=13
Left=0.000000
Top=0.000000
Right=941.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.000000
PctTop=0.000000
PctRight=0.648072
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport1]
Active=1
X=890
Y=0
W=485
H=553
RendMap=14
Left=941.000000
Top=0.000000
Right=507.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.648072
PctTop=0.000000
PctRight=0.349174
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport2]
Active=1
X=0
Y=553
W=890
H=553
RendMap=5
Left=0.000000
Top=567.000000
Right=941.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.000000
PctTop=0.500000
PctRight=0.648072
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport3]
Active=1
X=890
Y=553
W=485
H=553
RendMap=15
Left=941.000000
Top=567.000000
Right=507.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.648072
PctTop=0.500000
PctRight=0.349174
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport4]
Active=0
X=663
Y=0
W=315
H=305
RendMap=13

[U2Viewport5]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[U2Viewport6]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[U2Viewport7]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[Texture Browser]
X=191
Y=118
W=598
H=583
Zoom=64
Active=0

[Sound Browser]
X=324
Y=247
W=694
H=729
Active=0

[Actor Browser]
X=261
Y=189
W=625
H=630
Active=0
ShowPackages=0

[CodeFrame]
X=157
Y=205
W=817
H=780
Active=0

[ToolbarStates]
Modes=1
Brush Operations=1
Brush Factories=1
Select=1
Tools=1
Visibility=1

[Music Browser]
Active=0
X=376
Y=314
W=754
H=756

[MRU]

[Directories]
PCX=..\textures
WAV=..\sounds
BRUSH=..\maps
2DS=..\maps

[Background Image]
Active=0
Mode=0
Filename=

[Mesh Browser]
Active=0
X=469
Y=425
W=694
H=479

[Viewports]
Style=1
Config=0

[GameLog]
X=0
Y=0
W=512
H=384
I wish that was a joke, unfortunately it is not. Thankfully I have backup of the official editor with .ini on my thumb drive. It's where I kept all the vanilla UT stuff. I'll let the guys at OldUnreal know what the issue is on Discord and on GitHub. Thanks for the aid though mate.
Feeling the urge to kill people who put up links with advertisements....
:instagib2:

User avatar
Ubir4
Skilled
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 6:15 am
Personal rank: C12H16N2
Location: Brazil

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Ubir4 » Mon Dec 13, 2021 9:42 pm

NemesisNeS wrote:
Sun Dec 12, 2021 11:10 pm
OjitroC wrote:
Sun Dec 12, 2021 5:16 pm
Have a look in UnrealEditor.ini and see if you have this

Code: Select all

[D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
UEDCompatible=True
If not, put it in and see what happens. Also check and see what render devices are stated to be UEDCompatible.
Well, that seems to be something. So I took a look at the file and this is exactly what's in the UnrealEd.ini
Spoiler
Show
[U2Viewport0]
Active=1
X=0
Y=0
W=890
H=553
RendMap=13
Left=0.000000
Top=0.000000
Right=941.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.000000
PctTop=0.000000
PctRight=0.648072
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport1]
Active=1
X=890
Y=0
W=485
H=553
RendMap=14
Left=941.000000
Top=0.000000
Right=507.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.648072
PctTop=0.000000
PctRight=0.349174
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport2]
Active=1
X=0
Y=553
W=890
H=553
RendMap=5
Left=0.000000
Top=567.000000
Right=941.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.000000
PctTop=0.500000
PctRight=0.648072
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport3]
Active=1
X=890
Y=553
W=485
H=553
RendMap=15
Left=941.000000
Top=567.000000
Right=507.000000
Bottom=567.000000
PctLeft=0.648072
PctTop=0.500000
PctRight=0.349174
PctBottom=0.500000

[U2Viewport4]
Active=0
X=663
Y=0
W=315
H=305
RendMap=13

[U2Viewport5]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[U2Viewport6]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[U2Viewport7]
Active=0
X=0
Y=3390
W=112
H=27
RendMap=8111704

[Texture Browser]
X=191
Y=118
W=598
H=583
Zoom=64
Active=0

[Sound Browser]
X=324
Y=247
W=694
H=729
Active=0

[Actor Browser]
X=261
Y=189
W=625
H=630
Active=0
ShowPackages=0

[CodeFrame]
X=157
Y=205
W=817
H=780
Active=0

[ToolbarStates]
Modes=1
Brush Operations=1
Brush Factories=1
Select=1
Tools=1
Visibility=1

[Music Browser]
Active=0
X=376
Y=314
W=754
H=756

[MRU]

[Directories]
PCX=..\textures
WAV=..\sounds
BRUSH=..\maps
2DS=..\maps

[Background Image]
Active=0
Mode=0
Filename=

[Mesh Browser]
Active=0
X=469
Y=425
W=694
H=479

[Viewports]
Style=1
Config=0

[GameLog]
X=0
Y=0
W=512
H=384
I wish that was a joke, unfortunately it is not. Thankfully I have backup of the official editor with .ini on my thumb drive. It's where I kept all the vanilla UT stuff. I'll let the guys at OldUnreal know what the issue is on Discord and on GitHub. Thanks for the aid though mate.
If you remove DirectX11 from the system folder does the error still occur?

I had something similar, when I removed the dx11 in 1st attempt unrealED started without error. Then I solved it, but I don't remember how to be able to have directx11 in the folder without the error occurring.

Try this:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/pc32njen ... 9.zip/file
Spoiler
Show
[D3D11Drv.D3D11RenderDevice]
Coronas=True
HighDetailActors=True
VolumetricLighting=True
ShinySurfaces=True
DetailTextures=True
Precache=False
Antialiasing=4
Anisotropy=8
VSync=True
ParallaxOcclusionMapping=False
LODBias=0
BumpMapping=False
ClassicLighting=True
AlphaToCoverage=False
AutoFOV=True
FPSLimit=100
simulateMultipassTexturing=True
unlimitedViewDistance=False
Description=NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER
HDR=True
HBAO=True
Tesselation=True
HBAOContrast=0.500000
HBAOScale=0.300000
HDRLuminance=0.500000
HDRAdaptationSpeed=0.200000
HDRBloom=0.200000
HBAODrawAlternateMethod=False
ASSAO=True
ASSAOContrast=0.300000
ASSAOScale=0.200000
HDRFilmicTonemapping=True
SSR=True
SSRIntensity=0.350000
ParallaxRange=1.000000
BumpMappingContrast=0.500000
SSRNonTransparentWater=True
SSRModelIntensity=0.500000
OneXBlending=False
TessDefaultFactor=0.300000
FullMeshLOD=False
SupportMETextEnabled=True
FastAltTab=False
DisableTextureFiltering=False

User avatar
NemesisNeS
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2021 7:24 pm
Personal rank: GOD, not Godlike
Location: Under someones bed

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by NemesisNeS » Mon Dec 13, 2021 10:33 pm

Ubir4 wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 9:42 pm

If you remove DirectX11 from the system folder does the error still occur?

I had something similar, when I removed the dx11 in 1st attempt unrealED started without error. Then I solved it, but I don't remember how to be able to have directx11 in the folder without the error occurring.

Try this:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/pc32njen ... 9.zip/file
Spoiler
Show
[D3D11Drv.D3D11RenderDevice]
Coronas=True
HighDetailActors=True
VolumetricLighting=True
ShinySurfaces=True
DetailTextures=True
Precache=False
Antialiasing=4
Anisotropy=8
VSync=True
ParallaxOcclusionMapping=False
LODBias=0
BumpMapping=False
ClassicLighting=True
AlphaToCoverage=False
AutoFOV=True
FPSLimit=100
simulateMultipassTexturing=True
unlimitedViewDistance=False
Description=NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER
HDR=True
HBAO=True
Tesselation=True
HBAOContrast=0.500000
HBAOScale=0.300000
HDRLuminance=0.500000
HDRAdaptationSpeed=0.200000
HDRBloom=0.200000
HBAODrawAlternateMethod=False
ASSAO=True
ASSAOContrast=0.300000
ASSAOScale=0.200000
HDRFilmicTonemapping=True
SSR=True
SSRIntensity=0.350000
ParallaxRange=1.000000
BumpMappingContrast=0.500000
SSRNonTransparentWater=True
SSRModelIntensity=0.500000
OneXBlending=False
TessDefaultFactor=0.300000
FullMeshLOD=False
SupportMETextEnabled=True
FastAltTab=False
DisableTextureFiltering=False
Nah, still same problem. Well, since I didn't use any unofficial patches on my primary install of UT, I can do editing on their. I'll see what the guys at OldUnreal can do. It's their version of Unreal Edit and they probably have a fix via GitHub... or so I hope. Been making small mutators as tests for Unreal (Not UT), and things seem to work fine. Just wanted to test somethings out with OldUnreal's version of Unreal Edit.
Last edited by NemesisNeS on Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Feeling the urge to kill people who put up links with advertisements....
:instagib2:

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by OjitroC » Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:40 pm

NemesisNeS wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 10:33 pm

Nah, still same problem. Well, since I didn't use any unofficial patches on my primary install of UT, I can do editing on their. I'll see what the guys at OldUnreal can do. It's their version of Unreal Edit and they probably have a fix via GitHub... or so I hope. Been making small mutators as tests for Unreal (Not UT), and things seem to work fine. Just wanted to test somethings out with OldUnreal's version of Unreal Edit.
Try adding

Code: Select all

Device=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
to all the Viewpoints plus the Texture and Mesh Browsers in your UnrealEd.ini. Once you get it running you can change the render device.

Is your UnrealEd.ini write-protected as there are no MRU entries?

When you first open the Editor in 469 it will check for compatible render devices and you should also have entries like this

Code: Select all

[GlideDrv.GlideRenderDevice]
UEDCompatible=False
and this

Code: Select all

[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
UEDCompatible=True
469 doesn't include an UnrealEd.ini so your existing .ini will have been used.

User avatar
NemesisNeS
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2021 7:24 pm
Personal rank: GOD, not Godlike
Location: Under someones bed

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by NemesisNeS » Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:53 pm

While I could utilize my official files from the clean install. I wanted to see if I could do some editing with the version OldUnreal released. Apparently not. I managed to talk to someone at OldUnreal and was directed to the GitHub repository and found this

Code: Select all

D3D11Drv: D3D11Drv currently works well in game, but crashes in Unreal Editor 2.2
So yeah, thankfully I have the last official version that runs Unreal Editor with no hitches and glitches. If anyone else is having a similar problem make sure that you have the original install separate from the unofficial updates. Check out the GitHub site for more details. https://github.com/OldUnreal/UnrealTournamentPatches
Feeling the urge to kill people who put up links with advertisements....
:instagib2:

User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by OjitroC » Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:05 am

NemesisNeS wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 11:53 pm
I wanted to see if I could do some editing with the version OldUnreal released. Apparently not.
That version of the Editor works fine with D3D9 and OpenGL - is there a reason you can't use those?

User avatar
NemesisNeS
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2021 7:24 pm
Personal rank: GOD, not Godlike
Location: Under someones bed

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by NemesisNeS » Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:29 am

I'll give it a shot. Gotta pack up from the office in a little while. You actually got it running with OldUnreal's version of the Editor, that is awesome. From the documentation that I read it had a few bugs that I believe was fixed. I got the latest from GitHub and will build it later on. Will keep you posted.

Update: So I did what you said and it still gives the error message, so I'll just use the vanilla one that comes with the original install, which thankfully I keep 436 and 469 installs in separate folders. The only thing they share are my maps, music, mutators, skins, sounds, and textures. The system folders are what keep them separate and don't recall how I did it, but the 469b version I managed to change the icon to distinguish from the two. Not the editors just the game icons. I reverted them to see if that was the problem, but apparently not.
Feeling the urge to kill people who put up links with advertisements....
:instagib2:

User avatar
Phorce
Experienced
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:24 pm
Personal rank: Sgt. Nutz
Location: UK

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Phorce » Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:29 pm

Been away for ages and come to find the Oldunreal now has access to the codebase. Amazing :rock: ! Have already installed it and everything is fine apart from some clipping problem when in the menu while playing a game. The menu bar intersects with the player model. Also in 4K the mouse pointer is very small. Any way to increase the size ?
"Weapons! ... for all occasions." Bill Hicks

Teflon
Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:02 am

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Teflon » Mon Apr 18, 2022 5:30 pm

Two questions about 469 before I upgrade.

1. What happens when you run a mod or mutator that uses it's own crosshairs? Does it use them, or do crosshairs break entirely?

2. How well does 469 support OldSkool and campaigns for it, like Operation: Na Pali? I read somewhere that it has issues with them.

Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 1369
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Unreal Tournament 469

Post by Buggie » Mon Apr 18, 2022 6:22 pm

Upgrade to v469 is not irreversible action. So you just make backup copy of UT folder and upgrade it for test all your doubts.
If you not fine with that, you can always copy folder back for return previous state.

In general you can even use both UT copies simultaneously - UT allow such scenario. So you can run old version and new at the same time for ensure all work or no.