Xan is missing textures

Get some cool tips about how to tweak your UT graphic, gameplay, and much more!
Post Reply
User avatar
kaneder
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:43 pm

Xan is missing textures

Post by kaneder »

Recently had to reinstall UT99, bonus packs 1-4 with Patch v469b. Edited my ini to unlock Xan, noticed his non-team (and only that one) colour is missing textures on his arms (blue in menu, turns green within the game). This bit of code caught my eye, any chance that it makes sense to anyone here? Not sure where my install went wrong but I don't know where to start to fix that.

Code: Select all

ScriptLog: Login: kaneder
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1T_0": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1T_0.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1T_0 so load BossSkins.Boss1T_0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1 so load BossSkins.Boss1
Log: Possessed PlayerPawn: TBoss DM-20AC-CrypticDungeonV2.TBoss0
ScriptLog: MekS Firewall tskmskins. tskmskins.
Init: Initialized moving brush tracker for Level DM-20AC-CrypticDungeonV2.MyLevel
DevAudio: Cluster SetViewport: WindowsViewport0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1T_0": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1T_0.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1T_0 so load BossSkins.Boss1T_0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1 so load BossSkins.Boss1
ScriptLog: Mesh client closed!
Log: appRequestExit(0)
Exit: Preparing to exit.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6412
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by sektor2111 »

I recalls these sorts of error lines and I think in that time I changed textures assigned for that XAN Bot as long as indeed they don't seems to be defined correctly.
I did a backup of User.INI and then I open editor with textures and defining classes as Editor was showing them out of that T_0 T_1 whatever "T"eam number which is added when pawn goes to certain team and texture should load team based. I don't think is the only problem as far as I recall. Then, for player I think it should be edited INT file.

Code: Select all

BotFaces[1]=BossSkins.boss5Xan
...
BotNames[1]=Xan_A
...
BotTeams[1]=2
...
BotSkins[1]=BossSkins.boss
Player is this:

Code: Select all

Class=BotPack.TBoss
team=1
skin=BossSkins.Boss
Face=BossSkins.Xan
Voice=BotPack.VoiceBoss
Having these I don't see those "fails". No extensions, no UT updates.
My INT file called BossSkins.int has this content:

Code: Select all

[public]
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1,Class=Texture,Description=Boss)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4Xan,Class=Texture,Description=Xan)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss5Xan,Class=Texture)
Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure, all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.
Last edited by sektor2111 on Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:27 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9743
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by EvilGrins »

Why did you have to re-install?
Why had you uninstalled?
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758
User avatar
kaneder
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:43 pm

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by kaneder »

sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:43 pm I recalls these sorts of error lines and I think in that time I changed textures assigned for that XAN Bot as long as indeed they don't seems to be defined correctly.
I did a backup of User.INI and then I open editor with textures and defining classes as Editor was showing them out of that T_0 T_1 whatever "T"eam number which is added when pawn goes to certain team and texture should load team based. I don't think is the only problem as far as I recall. Then, for player I think it should be edited INT file.

Code: Select all

BotFaces[1]=BossSkins.boss5Xan
...
BotNames[1]=Xan_A
...
BotTeams[1]=2
...
BotSkins[1]=BossSkins.boss
Player is this:

Code: Select all

Class=BotPack.TBoss
team=1
skin=BossSkins.Boss
Face=BossSkins.Xan
Voice=BotPack.VoiceBoss
Having these I don't see those "fails". No extensions, no UT updates.
My INT file called BossSkins.int has this content:

Code: Select all

[public]
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1,Class=Texture,Description=Boss)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4Xan,Class=Texture,Description=Xan)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss5Xan,Class=Texture)
Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.
I edited my user.ini and also added BossSkins.int with that bit of code you posted (I was missing this file completely, actually) and everything looks great. Thanks for your help!
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6412
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by sektor2111 »

My pleasure !
User avatar
OjitroC
Godlike
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by OjitroC »

sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:43 pm Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure, all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.
You don't need to ask anything - a visual comparison indicates that, in the .ini for 469b, the names of the skin and of each Commando are in inverted commas ("Commando", "Blake", etc) unlike the 436 version where they are not - hence the 33 byte difference in size.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6412
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by sektor2111 »

I'll give you my glasses if you cannot see what I marked in red - right in front of word "[public]". Some nice dude at a moment could not compile a class because of some invisible trash loaded before ScriptText "class .... expands ....". Code did not compile even if it was looking normal. Why these invisible bytes ? I must ask.
Solution was copying visible script and creating a new file without those lousy bytes. I'm wondering how do they compile C++ with extra useless junks :? . Do they compile or just return errors ? Or the result is a borked compilation with extra-instructions doing damage ?
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2808
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by Barbie »

sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:13 pmWhy these invisible bytes ?
It is the BOM 0xEF 0xBB 0xBF for UTF-8. Welcome in the 21. century.
Attachments
CommandoSkins.int.jpg
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6412
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by sektor2111 »

Then excuse me if I don't have these useless UTF-8 things in my INT files... I apology in advance because I'm not having plans to add them... neither in next century... Fascinating is that 469b works normally out of any UTF-8 format of INT files. And I will show you why I'm not curious about any of these "21" century things. Look at this "beauty":
UT_8_BOM_BOOM_UMake.PNG
UT_8_BOM_BOOM_UMake.PNG (10.27 KiB) Viewed 1146 times
And this is script image in Notepad++...
Invisible_Boombing_BOM.PNG
Nothing is more healthy than plain ANSI text in these assets... Line 1 doesn't show anything, it's just bugging this XX century game...

The topic subject: XAN was not missing textures - he was shooting every single wall painting decals on every single texture found :mrgreen: .
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2808
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by Barbie »

sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:22 pmNothing is more healthy than plain ANSI text in these assets...
What if some message strings in chinese or japan language? ANSI is American/English only... I run into this several times when I exported a map to T3D and suddenly unicode was used for it instead of ASCII.
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:22 pmLine 1 doesn't show anything, it's just bugging this XX century game...
It is a file header, a meta information and therefore not displayed within the text. In NP++ it is displayed at the status bar and in the Encoding menu (see pic).
And maybe UMAKE cannot handle unicode or BOMs
Attachments
UTF8-BOM.jpg
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6412
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by sektor2111 »

Yeah, like newer BMP files, all have now all sort of formats to mess around, it's not like a normal format cannot be used.
I have a wheel so I do not reinvent another wheel, there are things more important to do on this planet than making things more harder.
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10451
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.
Contact:

Re: Xan is missing textures

Post by papercoffee »

UTF-8-BOM the bane of every .htaccess
Post Reply