Page 1 of 1

Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:37 pm
by kaneder
Recently had to reinstall UT99, bonus packs 1-4 with Patch v469b. Edited my ini to unlock Xan, noticed his non-team (and only that one) colour is missing textures on his arms (blue in menu, turns green within the game). This bit of code caught my eye, any chance that it makes sense to anyone here? Not sure where my install went wrong but I don't know where to start to fix that.

Code: Select all

ScriptLog: Login: kaneder
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1T_0": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1T_0.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1T_0 so load BossSkins.Boss1T_0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1 so load BossSkins.Boss1
Log: Possessed PlayerPawn: TBoss DM-20AC-CrypticDungeonV2.TBoss0
ScriptLog: MekS Firewall tskmskins. tskmskins.
Init: Initialized moving brush tracker for Level DM-20AC-CrypticDungeonV2.MyLevel
DevAudio: Cluster SetViewport: WindowsViewport0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1T_0": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1T_0.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1T_0 so load BossSkins.Boss1T_0
Warning: Failed to load "Texture BossSkins.1": Object not found: Texture BossSkins.1.
ScriptLog: Failed to load BossSkins.1 so load BossSkins.Boss1
ScriptLog: Mesh client closed!
Log: appRequestExit(0)
Exit: Preparing to exit.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:43 pm
by sektor2111
I recalls these sorts of error lines and I think in that time I changed textures assigned for that XAN Bot as long as indeed they don't seems to be defined correctly.
I did a backup of User.INI and then I open editor with textures and defining classes as Editor was showing them out of that T_0 T_1 whatever "T"eam number which is added when pawn goes to certain team and texture should load team based. I don't think is the only problem as far as I recall. Then, for player I think it should be edited INT file.

Code: Select all

BotFaces[1]=BossSkins.boss5Xan
...
BotNames[1]=Xan_A
...
BotTeams[1]=2
...
BotSkins[1]=BossSkins.boss
Player is this:

Code: Select all

Class=BotPack.TBoss
team=1
skin=BossSkins.Boss
Face=BossSkins.Xan
Voice=BotPack.VoiceBoss
Having these I don't see those "fails". No extensions, no UT updates.
My INT file called BossSkins.int has this content:

Code: Select all

[public]
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1,Class=Texture,Description=Boss)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4Xan,Class=Texture,Description=Xan)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss5Xan,Class=Texture)
Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure, all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:57 pm
by EvilGrins
Why did you have to re-install?
Why had you uninstalled?

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:27 pm
by kaneder
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:43 pm I recalls these sorts of error lines and I think in that time I changed textures assigned for that XAN Bot as long as indeed they don't seems to be defined correctly.
I did a backup of User.INI and then I open editor with textures and defining classes as Editor was showing them out of that T_0 T_1 whatever "T"eam number which is added when pawn goes to certain team and texture should load team based. I don't think is the only problem as far as I recall. Then, for player I think it should be edited INT file.

Code: Select all

BotFaces[1]=BossSkins.boss5Xan
...
BotNames[1]=Xan_A
...
BotTeams[1]=2
...
BotSkins[1]=BossSkins.boss
Player is this:

Code: Select all

Class=BotPack.TBoss
team=1
skin=BossSkins.Boss
Face=BossSkins.Xan
Voice=BotPack.VoiceBoss
Having these I don't see those "fails". No extensions, no UT updates.
My INT file called BossSkins.int has this content:

Code: Select all

[public]
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1,Class=Texture,Description=Boss)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss1t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss2t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss3t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_0,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_1,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4t_3,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss4Xan,Class=Texture,Description=Xan)
Object=(Name=BossSkins.Boss5Xan,Class=Texture)
Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.
I edited my user.ini and also added BossSkins.int with that bit of code you posted (I was missing this file completely, actually) and everything looks great. Thanks for your help!

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:45 pm
by sektor2111
My pleasure !

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:49 pm
by OjitroC
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:43 pm Perhaps right now I will want to know what any trash bytes has added 469b. I compared INT files CommandoSkins.int from 436/440 with that one from 469b. Can you see difference from top ? Wtf is that anyway ?
LousyBytes.PNG
Yeah, sure, all 469 issues should go to GitHub or BugHit or whatever. The question is if I do really need these.... I should ask: What any other bytes are added in those Natives and messing up around ? - But I won't ask anything.
You don't need to ask anything - a visual comparison indicates that, in the .ini for 469b, the names of the skin and of each Commando are in inverted commas ("Commando", "Blake", etc) unlike the 436 version where they are not - hence the 33 byte difference in size.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:13 pm
by sektor2111
I'll give you my glasses if you cannot see what I marked in red - right in front of word "[public]". Some nice dude at a moment could not compile a class because of some invisible trash loaded before ScriptText "class .... expands ....". Code did not compile even if it was looking normal. Why these invisible bytes ? I must ask.
Solution was copying visible script and creating a new file without those lousy bytes. I'm wondering how do they compile C++ with extra useless junks :? . Do they compile or just return errors ? Or the result is a borked compilation with extra-instructions doing damage ?

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:57 pm
by Barbie
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:13 pmWhy these invisible bytes ?
It is the BOM 0xEF 0xBB 0xBF for UTF-8. Welcome in the 21. century.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:22 pm
by sektor2111
Then excuse me if I don't have these useless UTF-8 things in my INT files... I apology in advance because I'm not having plans to add them... neither in next century... Fascinating is that 469b works normally out of any UTF-8 format of INT files. And I will show you why I'm not curious about any of these "21" century things. Look at this "beauty":
UT_8_BOM_BOOM_UMake.PNG
UT_8_BOM_BOOM_UMake.PNG (10.27 KiB) Viewed 1305 times
And this is script image in Notepad++...
Invisible_Boombing_BOM.PNG
Nothing is more healthy than plain ANSI text in these assets... Line 1 doesn't show anything, it's just bugging this XX century game...

The topic subject: XAN was not missing textures - he was shooting every single wall painting decals on every single texture found :mrgreen: .

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:48 pm
by Barbie
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:22 pmNothing is more healthy than plain ANSI text in these assets...
What if some message strings in chinese or japan language? ANSI is American/English only... I run into this several times when I exported a map to T3D and suddenly unicode was used for it instead of ASCII.
sektor2111 wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:22 pmLine 1 doesn't show anything, it's just bugging this XX century game...
It is a file header, a meta information and therefore not displayed within the text. In NP++ it is displayed at the status bar and in the Encoding menu (see pic).
And maybe UMAKE cannot handle unicode or BOMs

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:02 am
by sektor2111
Yeah, like newer BMP files, all have now all sort of formats to mess around, it's not like a normal format cannot be used.
I have a wheel so I do not reinvent another wheel, there are things more important to do on this planet than making things more harder.

Re: Xan is missing textures

Posted: Sat May 01, 2021 5:03 pm
by papercoffee
UTF-8-BOM the bane of every .htaccess