Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Discussions about UT99
Eternity
Skilled
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:56 pm

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Eternity »

Hitman wrote: Mon Jun 12, 2023 5:48 pm This old mod needs an update, would be great if some smart guy can fix it.

There is a link with the working solution above - at least 2 web sites out there provide an updated database in the old Maxmind's format.

If no way to run an own php server, then need to wait until existing IPTC public servers admins update their databases...
User avatar
rjmno1
Masterful
Posts: 716
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:38 pm
Personal rank: masterfull
Location: https://sites.google.com/view/unrealtou ... oject/home

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by rjmno1 »

yes something went wrong also with mine country flaggs.
At the first place i was a american later i became Italian.I think it has something todo with the master server but i can be wrong. :noidea
Maby the epic games master server who is offline now has something todo with it.
unreal tournament 99
®
Image
Image
ImageImage
https://sites.google.com/view/unrealtou ... oject/home mine home ut99 website.
https://richardmoust105.blogspot.com/20 ... ef-in.html dutch blog page about ut99 settings.
User avatar
Hitman
Adept
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Hitman »

I think I fixed it and added it to my servers, test any server I have to see if its correct, I give it some days to collect some info and get back to you.   
Auto merged new post submitted 20 hours 29 minutes later
Since I run my own php I found a new Geoip.dat that was up to date that worked, I but a blank iptocountry in with my address and this was what it show for 1 day, feel free to use the address or iptocountry.ini :agree1:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Darkelarious
Skilled
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:02 pm
Personal rank: 333networks admin
Location: Phobos Moon

Re: Do our IPtoCountry MasterServer Providers need an update?

Post by Darkelarious »

For the 333networks masterserver (including Errorist,OldUnreal, GoneSpy and everyone else who hosts a 333networks masterserver instance) I encountered the same problem.

I used to resolve server IPs to countries with the build-in Perl IPToCountry lookup module, but that one was already outdated when I first started using it. In the Qt5 implementation that is currently running, I currently use a json/web API that can resolve 5 addresses per minute (throttled) and I am looking for a better/integrated solution still. I encountered difficulties with some standard libraries or (expensive/paid) geolocation services that charge for the bulk of lookups.

I would love it if there's a community-ran lookup service that can also facilitate the masterserver web interfaces, so game server locations are displayed properly too. If hosting is a bottleneck, I can ask around at any of the masterserver hosts to make this happen as well.
--Darkelarious
Image
Masterserver | Discord Channel
Oh, and we still are ready to receive donations. The url works, right? It doesn't seem to be doing anything...