.UNR file size upper limit?

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Dennis
Average

.UNR file size upper limit?

Post by Dennis »

Hi good people.

I am new to mapping but am on a learning curve and have started a promising project. Now that I am deep into the map and import a lot of textures and sounds into the map I see my .UNR file has reached 48 MB. Have any of you got XP in how big such file can get to not cause problems for others to use? I think no problem downloading huge files by redirect but how big a file can the engine itself handle? Anyone tested/reached a limit?
Fraggers hangout place: http://fraggers.online/
Buggie
Godlike

Re: .UNR file size upper limit?

Post by Buggie »

AFAIK no special limits exactly by map size. I see map in 50-60 MB. But such maps usually able compress or UZ tool, or latest v469c. Older version will stuck forever on compression.
And players can left if see downloading 100 MB map.
Feralidragon
Godlike
Personal rank: Work In Progress

Post by Feralidragon »

Given that UT is a 32-bit binary, the effective limit of a map total size is 2GB, maybe even up to 4GB if UE1 is large address space aware, given that maps are loaded completely into memory as far as I know.
Which is unlike more modern engines, which are able to use "streaming" techniques to only keep loaded into memory what is actually being used, plus they are often 64-bit, so they don't have any practical memory limitations.

Although, the game itself also needs memory to load its own packages and the engine itself, setting the map size to something lower than that, let's say 1.5GB (or 3.5GB at best, as mentioned above), so the engine gets some good wiggle room for anything extra to be loaded, like mods and other stuff (NW3 alone, for example, is over 200MB once installed, so large mods need to be taken into account as well).

Having that said, if you release a 1GB map, almost nobody will download it, unless it's of a quality never seen before.