Page 1 of 1

How to use any HD texture pack with possibility turn it ON/OFF in any moment

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2023 6:33 pm
by Buggie
There simple instruction how you can use ANY HD texture pack in game, and not ruin game.
You can ON/OFF HD textures at any time, delete textures pack, use another of it, even set few HD packs and switch between them.

In UnrealTournament.ini edit section

Code: Select all

[Core.System]
Paths=../TexturesHD/*.utx
Paths=../Textures/*.utx
Add TexturesHD line, before exists line for Textures.

After that, extract HD pack into TexturesHD folder (it be Textures initially in archive, so you extract it to empty folder, rename Textures to TexturesHD and move to game folder).

Now you can rename folder `TexturesHD` to `TexturesHD_` and run game. it be without HD textures.
Or you can rename `TexturesHD_` back to `TexturesHD`, and run game, this make game with HD textures.

You can even make bat file for do this automatically and place shortcut with custom icon to this bat file.
So you click one shortcut - run HD game, another - usual.

Typical bat file look like that:
For play with HD textures:

Code: Select all

rename "X:\UT\TexturesHD_" TexturesHD
"X:\UT\System\UnrealTournament.exe" -newwindow 
rename "X:\UT\TexturesHD" TexturesHD_
For play with SD textures:

Code: Select all

rename "X:\UT\TexturesHD" TexturesHD_
"X:\UT\System\UnrealTournament.exe" -newwindow 
Last one not really need, but just in case if something goes wrong and folder not rename back. For example BSOD or power off.

You can use this with any HD packs. And even switch between few of it.
For switch between few packs, use another folder name, like TexturesHD2 with rename to TexturesHD2_.

Pay attention to game path. Better if it be without spaces and without fancy chars.
If use localized names, you need use proper codepage for your .bat files, or it will not work.
All paths with spaces must be in double quotes.

Re: How use any HD texture pack with possibility ON/OFF it in any moment

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2023 6:49 pm
by darksonny
nise solution dude! zanks!

Re: How use any HD texture pack with possibility ON/OFF it in any moment

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2023 7:44 pm
by UT Sniper (SJA94)
Thanks I've wanted to toggle HD textrues without having two different UT installs .

Also don't want to be that annoying person but the title looks like a question rather than a how to(with the missing to [if you are blind like me a missed the Tips, Tricks & Tutorials]), for search engines more than anything.