textureless skin question
-
- Novice
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:43 pm
- Personal rank: GODLIKE
textureless skin question
Hello, I'm conducting experiments, and I'm interested in creating a textureless glitch where a particular pack is missing. For instance, a boss's arm might be missing, resulting in green/grey arms in the game.
I'm here to ask if anyone knows how to intentionally make a specific pack textureless. For example, I want to apply this to the Male Commando and make the face textureless... I haven't quite figured it out, but I'll provide an example image. In the menu, the face looks black and blue, but in the game, it appears green/grey.
I am certain of one thing: I've observed this working online before... it worked and it's definitely somewhere in the system folder... Thank you!
Auto merged new post submitted 1 minute later
@EvilGrins
I'm here to ask if anyone knows how to intentionally make a specific pack textureless. For example, I want to apply this to the Male Commando and make the face textureless... I haven't quite figured it out, but I'll provide an example image. In the menu, the face looks black and blue, but in the game, it appears green/grey.
I am certain of one thing: I've observed this working online before... it worked and it's definitely somewhere in the system folder... Thank you!
Auto merged new post submitted 1 minute later
@EvilGrins
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 3746
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm
Re: textureless skin question
I suppose the starting point is to remove the face from the .int file for the skin. I know that if one doesn't have an int file for the skin for a model then the whole skin will show up blue/grey in the Player selection window (no idea how it looks in game though).
I presume though that you have tried various things in order to get the image you show here. So what have you tried? What is it that you want to achieve precisely? Is what you have in the image not what you are looking to achieve?
Do you want textureless parts of a skin to show up grey/green ingame rather than what you describe as green/grey (though to me parts of a model without a skin tend to show up as green/silver/grey)?
I presume though that you have tried various things in order to get the image you show here. So what have you tried? What is it that you want to achieve precisely? Is what you have in the image not what you are looking to achieve?
Do you want textureless parts of a skin to show up grey/green ingame rather than what you describe as green/grey (though to me parts of a model without a skin tend to show up as green/silver/grey)?
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 10214
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
- Personal rank: God of Fudge
- Location: Palo Alto, CA
Re: textureless skin question
The "green/grey" is a default texture for skins & models, kind of like in maps when a texture isn't available it automatically substitutes that white mushroom like pattern.
· http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
Smilies · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 3746
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm
Re: textureless skin question
The more I think about it, the more I think that this requires a mutator to do what you want to achieve. That way one could substitute a grey/green texture for the removed texture to avoid the grey/green missing texture look.
There are other questions though - do you want to achieve this for
1) only one skin?
2) just the Player?
3) for all bots as well as the Player?
4) a specific part of a skin or at random?
etc, etc.
It should be doable - JackGriffin did a Disguise Relic that changed a skin to that of an opponent so, in theory, that kind of approach could be used though it would probably need to be more extensive.
There are other questions though - do you want to achieve this for
1) only one skin?
2) just the Player?
3) for all bots as well as the Player?
4) a specific part of a skin or at random?
etc, etc.
It should be doable - JackGriffin did a Disguise Relic that changed a skin to that of an opponent so, in theory, that kind of approach could be used though it would probably need to be more extensive.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:43 pm
- Personal rank: GODLIKE
Re: textureless skin question
I aim to render a textureless face and devise methods to extend this approach to diverse skin types and anatomical regions, like feet, back, and chest!
I will delve into the .int file to discern potential triggers for this effect. Wouldn’t it be commandoskins.int, correct?
I appreciate your responses!
Auto merged new post submitted 3 minutes later
@OjitroC @EvilGrins
Auto merged new post submitted 6 minutes later
I will delve into the .int file to discern potential triggers for this effect. Wouldn’t it be commandoskins.int, correct?
I appreciate your responses!
Auto merged new post submitted 3 minutes later
@OjitroC @EvilGrins
Auto merged new post submitted 6 minutes later
This is precisely what I aim to accomplish. Could you please show me if you know how to do this?"
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 3746
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm
Re: textureless skin question
First thing is to get an idea of how the skins for various models are 'set up' (and they are not all the same!). Open up the commandoskins.int and have a look at that - open up the Editor, load the commandoskins.utx in the Texture Browser and have a look at the skin, referring back to the int so you get an idea of where the 'bits' of the skin in the int go on the model.
If you want to remove the face, in the int at the beginning of the lines
put a ; (this should prevent it from being loaded) so that they read
(I've chosen Blake at random since it the first one with a name, you can use whichever line/name you want) Save the .int - it is best to create a backup before you do any text changes though.
Try this ingame, having selected the Blake face in the Player set up (where it should be grey/blue) or by editing the User.ini so that under [DefaultPlayer] the line for the face just reads
I think this should work.
Be aware - you will get log warnings, perhaps a lot - and if you play on-line it may cause issues.
You will only be able to achieve this effect with the 3 or 4 parts of the skin, not with individual limbs nor with just the chest. Some models just have a one or two piece skin.
If you want to remove the face, in the int at the beginning of the lines
Code: Select all
Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2,Class=Texture)
Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2Blake,Class=Texture,Description=Blake)
Code: Select all
;Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2,Class=Texture)
;Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2Blake,Class=Texture,Description=Blake)
Try this ingame, having selected the Blake face in the Player set up (where it should be grey/blue) or by editing the User.ini so that under [DefaultPlayer] the line for the face just reads
Code: Select all
Face=
Be aware - you will get log warnings, perhaps a lot - and if you play on-line it may cause issues.
You will only be able to achieve this effect with the 3 or 4 parts of the skin, not with individual limbs nor with just the chest. Some models just have a one or two piece skin.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:43 pm
- Personal rank: GODLIKE
Re: textureless skin question
Unfortunately, I have tried that, and again with your method. The face ends up as Whitman, not to mention that Blake is still visible. Even in Player setup and offline match.OjitroC wrote: ↑Sun May 12, 2024 5:51 pm First thing is to get an idea of how the skins for various models are 'set up' (and they are not all the same!). Open up the commandoskins.int and have a look at that - open up the Editor, load the commandoskins.utx in the Texture Browser and have a look at the skin, referring back to the int so you get an idea of where the 'bits' of the skin in the int go on the model.
If you want to remove the face, in the int at the beginning of the linesput a ; (this should prevent it from being loaded) so that they readCode: Select all
Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2,Class=Texture) Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2Blake,Class=Texture,Description=Blake)
(I've chosen Blake at random since it the first one with a name, you can use whichever line/name you want) Save the .int - it is best to create a backup before you do any text changes though.Code: Select all
;Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2,Class=Texture) ;Object=(Name=CommandoSkins.cmdo2Blake,Class=Texture,Description=Blake)
Try this ingame, having selected the Blake face in the Player set up (where it should be grey/blue) or by editing the User.ini so that under [DefaultPlayer] the line for the face just readsI think this should work.Code: Select all
Face=
Be aware - you will get log warnings, perhaps a lot - and if you play on-line it may cause issues.
You will only be able to achieve this effect with the 3 or 4 parts of the skin, not with individual limbs nor with just the chest. Some models just have a one or two piece skin.
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 10214
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
- Personal rank: God of Fudge
- Location: Palo Alto, CA
Re: textureless skin question
Sadly, no.
I used to poke around a lot in UnrealEd but I've no longer got access to the program, although I can tell you the specific texture, which only about 64x64 is in the Botpack.utx file somewhere.
There's over a thousand textures in that, might take awhile to find.
· http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
Smilies · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins
-
- Novice
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:43 pm
- Personal rank: GODLIKE
Re: textureless skin question
EvilGrins wrote: ↑Sun May 12, 2024 7:01 pmSadly, no.
I used to poke around a lot in UnrealEd but I've no longer got access to the program, although I can tell you the specific texture, which only about 64x64 is in the Botpack.utx file somewhere.
There's over a thousand textures in that, might take awhile to find.
it said 32x32 here? is that what i need?
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 10214
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
- Personal rank: God of Fudge
- Location: Palo Alto, CA
Re: textureless skin question
No.
The texture is literally green & gray, but its small.
No little dragon head on it
The texture is literally green & gray, but its small.
No little dragon head on it
· http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
Smilies · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 3746
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:46 pm
Re: textureless skin question
I think when the skin of a Pawn can't be found or loaded, then it defaults to the texture S_Pawn (which is, I think, in Engine.u). Because that texture is 32x32 when it is applied to a larger surface it will be stretched and so give the green/grey (or what I call silver) effect.
Another thing to try is to export 3 of the four Commando textures, but not the head/face, and import them into a new .utx - naming it whatever you want. Create an int and try that in game. It may be that it will simply appear with the default Commando head/face as the TournamentPlayer class is coded in such a way as to avoid, as far as possible, loading the model without the skin (and all of its components).
Finally, export S_Pawn from Engine.u - import that as the head/face texture into your new commando texture file and try that ingame.
The broader issue is that I think you can only achieve what you want either by creating new utx files (quite a few if you want different parts of a skin to be 'textureless') or by getting someone to write a mutator to swap specific skin elements as a skin is being loaded in the game.
Another thing to try is to export 3 of the four Commando textures, but not the head/face, and import them into a new .utx - naming it whatever you want. Create an int and try that in game. It may be that it will simply appear with the default Commando head/face as the TournamentPlayer class is coded in such a way as to avoid, as far as possible, loading the model without the skin (and all of its components).
Finally, export S_Pawn from Engine.u - import that as the head/face texture into your new commando texture file and try that ingame.
The broader issue is that I think you can only achieve what you want either by creating new utx files (quite a few if you want different parts of a skin to be 'textureless') or by getting someone to write a mutator to swap specific skin elements as a skin is being loaded in the game.
-
- Adept
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:39 am
Re: textureless skin question
You are correct that it is a missing texture. I found out this the first time i imported a custom mesh in Unrealed. You need to apply texture to that mesh/actor in its properties or it will be black and blue.
By this logic it seems to me you can simply delete a texture from a texture package (preferable not a UT99 texture but 1 from a custom texture package)
But i have not tried it on purpose myself.
I did find what you are describing online some time ago and posted about it over at Eatsleeput.
https://eatsleeput.com/d/494-player-mod ... ring-match
No idea how its possible if this was caused by my client or from the other side.
By this logic it seems to me you can simply delete a texture from a texture package (preferable not a UT99 texture but 1 from a custom texture package)
But i have not tried it on purpose myself.
I did find what you are describing online some time ago and posted about it over at Eatsleeput.
https://eatsleeput.com/d/494-player-mod ... ring-match
No idea how its possible if this was caused by my client or from the other side.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Character tools and tutorials https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... fMEQ2w212Z
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 10214
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
- Personal rank: God of Fudge
- Location: Palo Alto, CA
Re: textureless skin question
This post reminded me of 1 of the first posts I made on this forum.
That'd be this · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?t=3407
That'd be this · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?t=3407
· http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
Smilies · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins
-
- Adept
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:39 am
Re: textureless skin question
Seems like someone placed the "bot actor" inside the map. I figured this out too some time ago. You can scale it up also. If you place the "player actor" inside the map and scale it up you get to play as a bigger character like in this videoEvilGrins wrote: ↑Mon May 13, 2024 7:32 pm This post reminded me of 1 of the first posts I made on this forum.
That'd be this · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?t=3407
Pretty funny.
I thought it was a bug at first hence the title. But apperently its normal.
Character tools and tutorials https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... fMEQ2w212Z
-
- Godlike
- Posts: 10214
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
- Personal rank: God of Fudge
- Location: Palo Alto, CA
Re: textureless skin question
I've done similar a few times, although it doesn't always stick after the larger thingy dies a couple times.
· http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
· https://unrealarchive.org/authors/evilgrins.html
· https://www.facebook.com/groups/UTcorps
Smilies · https://ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins