Blacked Out Fonts

Discussions about UT99
Rincewind
Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:47 pm

Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Rincewind »

Hey everybody,

I finally decided to patch my UT to the latest version and I regreted it instantly.

After I patched the game all fonts on each and every menu are blacked out. It really looks like the words are censored.

What can I do to fix this?
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Buggie »

What render and hardware do you use?
Do you extract patch fully? Include all .utx files? With replace OFC.
Rincewind
Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:47 pm

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Rincewind »

Buggie wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 12:05 am What render and hardware do you use?
Do you extract patch fully? Include all .utx files? With replace OFC.
Right now I'm using OpenGL with the DirectInput enabled for my Razor Diamondback.

Oh yeah, the patch was installed completely. It was the latest version that is avaiable and it installed itself after clicking the exe file.There was nothing else delivered with that patch except that exe file.
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Buggie »

Did you try other renders? Beside OpenGL. I suspect you use AMD video.
Also you can go to video settings, press advanced driver settings (next one after change video driver) and try select there different context.

Also you can do it via open console (press Tilde on keyborad), type "preferences" and press enter.
There open "Rendering" - "OpenGL" and change "ContextType". You can try all values. Need restart game after change it.

In general possible you want try awesome d3d11 renders:
DirectX11 renders which faster from D3D9 and not lag on CTF-XV-Blice map:

DX11: https://github.com/dpjudas/UT99VulkanDrv - it is new. Not one what be bad from ModDb and make all oiled.
Despite name, there not only Vulkan renderer, but also for DX11.
Download link: https://github.com/dpjudas/UT99VulkanDr ... ses/latest
(Need enable Texture Atlas in settings, for make it CTF-XV-Blice not lag)

ICBIND: https://github.com/metallicafan212/ICBINDx11Drv
Download link: https://github.com/metallicafan212/ICBI ... ses/latest

latest patch (v469d for now) required for use this awesome renders.
Rincewind
Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:47 pm

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Rincewind »

Buggie wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 6:00 pm Did you try other renders? Beside OpenGL. I suspect you use AMD video.
Also you can go to video settings, press advanced driver settings (next one after change video driver) and try select there different context.

Also you can do it via open console (press Tilde on keyborad), type "preferences" and press enter.
There open "Rendering" - "OpenGL" and change "ContextType". You can try all values. Need restart game after change it.

In general possible you want try awesome d3d11 renders:
DirectX11 renders which faster from D3D9 and not lag on CTF-XV-Blice map:

DX11: https://github.com/dpjudas/UT99VulkanDrv - it is new. Not one what be bad from ModDb and make all oiled.
Despite name, there not only Vulkan renderer, but also for DX11.
Download link: https://github.com/dpjudas/UT99VulkanDr ... ses/latest
(Need enable Texture Atlas in settings, for make it CTF-XV-Blice not lag)

ICBIND: https://github.com/metallicafan212/ICBINDx11Drv
Download link: https://github.com/metallicafan212/ICBI ... ses/latest

latest patch (v469d for now) required for use this awesome renders.
The problem is I can't acces anything when I'm ingame because I can literally not see any of the options; they are all black.

So I would have to do this before I start the game. How can I open up that window where I can choose those different things? The patch showed it to me one time after the installation. I tried to re-install it but it doesn't show me that menu screen anymore. How can I open it?
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2902
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Buggie »

I describe above how open console and type preferences.
Other you can simple do blindly.
Or start game with " -changevideo" switch.

that how it look normally. Use same position. Like 3 menu, first item.
scr_1718311997.png
scr_1718312010.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Rincewind
Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:47 pm

Re: Blacked Out Fonts

Post by Rincewind »

Buggie wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 9:54 pm I describe above how open console and type preferences.
Other you can simple do blindly.
Or start game with " -changevideo" switch.

that how it look normally. Use same position. Like 3 menu, first item.
scr_1718311997.pngscr_1718312010.png
ok thanks, it works now.